4 hours ago, Jontee said:

Ah not quite.  Cerra didnt beleive the club could organise the swap so picked Carlton, even though the Dees said Just leave that to us.  (Must have wanted out real bad)

Probably didn't want the drama and choose the easiest route 

Also Blues may have guaranteed him more midfield time. 

Carlton had been courting Cerra long before we made our late bid. He gave us the courtesy of a meeting, but ultimately was never coming to the Demons. People saying that he wanted to play for us, but we couldn't get a deal done is nonsense. 

12 hours ago, mo64 said:

Carlton had been courting Cerra long before we made our late bid. He gave us the courtesy of a meeting, but ultimately was never coming to the Demons. People saying that he wanted to play for us, but we couldn't get a deal done is nonsense. 

It didn't look nonsensical on the "Show me the money" doco on Stan mo.

10 minutes ago, In Harmes Way said:

It didn't look nonsensical on the "Show me the money" doco on Stan mo.

As Clarko said this week, most deals are organized well before the season ends. All the talk prior to trade week was that he was going to Carlton. I think we were late to the party.

If you look at the trade rumours this year, most players are already linked to a club. There are some exceptions, but most pan out as predicted.

17 hours ago, Little Goffy said:

I think Carlton would be more than happy with what Cerra has given them and what he will be giving them in future. Their midfield finally began to look like a coherent unit, with a number of previously questionable players now giving a much more complete contribution. Cerra's all-round good midfield game has helped that happen.

On the other hand, I feel like if we had got him, the price might have been more than the value. Not because of anything wrong with him so much as because there is a lot 'right' with us already!

Speaking of midfielders and their usefulness in different circumstances: you have to feel a bit for Luke Dunstan. He's played half as many games this season as he had Brownlow votes last season!

I can't help wondering if he might 'do a Preuss' and rotate onwards to another club for better opportunities. 

He is on record as saying he hated playing at St Kilda and would have left to play somewhere for fun.

The fact he is at the Dees (as insurance largely)  - and opportunities haven't been plentiful for him - is possibly annoying for him but I reckon he is at peace with his decision..

And he still has some flaws in his game despite getting Brownlow votes...

13 hours ago, mo64 said:

In the end we don't know for sure why he knocked us back ... he may have been polite or just want the blues to lift their offer when he met us ... doesn't matter in the end ... what is fact however is that he will be envious of the teams playing finals especially ones that go deep into September ... that's us

• 6 months later...

Bump

Had we the draft capital and the ability to trade for and to secure Adam Cerra at the end of 2021, would you consider the value he’s currently giving Carlton would be sufficient if he came to with us?

28 minutes ago, McQueen said:

Bump

Had we the draft capital and the ability to trade for and to secure Adam Cerra at the end of 2021, would you consider the value he’s currently giving Carlton would be sufficient if he came to with us?

Feel we dodged a bullet.

Haven’t seen his stats tonight but felt he didn’t get heaps of it and had little influence on the game. Even last year when he was racking up possessions it didn’t feel like he was hurting sides.

Would rather Lachie Hunters delivery into our forward line.

Noticed Saad a lot tonight too, though not for many good reasons (he made a nice spoil, but my gosh he can stuff up the play in peculiar ways).

Lots of basic errors in tonight’s game (which I suppose can be expected), but neither gave the impression of being a top 4 team on tonight’s performance. 

Still, glad that footy is back. If only the Dees and Dogs could attract a crowd of 88k.

12 minutes ago, adonski said:

A James Jordon type with slightly better athletic traits 

Tend to agree, pretty accurate.
So based on this, you would have to agree that Carlton paid over 

4 minutes ago, McQueen said:

Certainly looking that way 

Hes ultimately a very expensive role player

Edited by adonski

6 minutes ago, McQueen said:

Yes, but he would've benefited under our development system. He won't under Carlton's, too cruisy. He's a very good player wasting his career

Edited by Stiff Arm

3 minutes ago, adonski said:

Isn’t everyone a ‘role player’ nowadays?

Sliding doors, revisionist look of course but some players role much larger. 

It doesn’t seem that Carlton are using him like they sold it to him. 

I was at tonight's game at it was frankly a bit bizarre.

Not many players can come out of that very happy with their game. Maybe Weitering and Cripps for Carlton and Rioli for Richmond. Several players who did a lot of good things also really [...] the bed at critical moments.

That said, Cerra was barely visible to me, and Carlton really needed some spread of clearance work.

I liken it to us when we traded for Lever. 
Seemed overs at the time with Lever but Cerra seemed more reasonable. 
Just another example of how we don’t really know what might happen 

9 hours ago, adonski said:

A James Jordon type with slightly better athletic traits 

Pretty much. Very good athletic traits mind you but give me Hunter's skills. 

He’s definitely an interesting one (along with Jack Martin)

A lot of Individual flair is taken away in the modern game as everything is system based. They don’t possess any standout traits to allow them to express themselves properly on top of the ‘system’

Don’t think he is suited to the role Carlton are playing him in, he’s not an inside player

Edited by BW511

9 hours ago, adonski said:

Carltons million dollar dud squad includes Cerra, Martin, and Saad! 

1 minute ago, picket fence said:

Carltons million dollar dud squad includes Cerra, Martin, and Saad! 

I thought Saad probably cost them the game last night, he panicked on a few occasions in the last 5 mins

Edited by BW511

1 minute ago, BW511 said:

I thought Saad probably cost them the game last night, he panicked on a few occasions in the last 5 mins

Yep wonderful to see wasn't it?🤣

10 hours ago, McQueen said:

Bump

No, but I can see why we wanted him, penetrating kick.

9 hours ago, Little Goffy said:

Not many players can come out of that very happy with their game. Maybe Weitering and Cripps for Carlton and Rioli for Richmond. Several players who did a lot of good things also really [...] the bed at critical moments.

That said, Cerra was barely visible to me, and Carlton really needed some spread of clearance work.

Thought Lynch got the better of Waitering in the second half and obviously had a major impact on the result.

With regards to Cerra, Kane Cornes went on a rant about him last week and clearly believes that he's an overrated disappointment.