Posted

Irrespective of how bad some of those results were never like to see our "supporters" verbally abuse players leaving the ground 

Dismal days on so many levels hopefully we don't see them again

This current team has so much more ability and are supported by a very capable coaching group all of whom seem to me at least to know what they want and how to get there

Yes we can dare to dream I will be overwhelmingly happy for the players if they can win the flag but also a little sad that me and so many more long suffering supporters will not be there to share it with them 

Posted
9 minutes ago, Flower Magic said:

My day had started well until you reminded me of that horrible afternoon 🤮.

Always remember where you came from and then you can truly appreciate your achievements. One month and change to go.

Posted

It all started with PJ, Glenn Bartlett then Roosy and our cultural shock learning to play hard tough footy and how to pick winners at the draft via JT and team. It has been a seven year journey and are we ready, 2018 was a taste of things to come but we learnt tough love, resilience and team first principles that will buoy us through the good and better times ahead.

Posted

It's a cruel joke, regardless of flag or no flag this year, that we cannot experience this together nor roar them home.

A cruel joke as it's taken dark decades to get here & a seemingly lifetime of dreary Sunday's shuffling home from a loss all hang-dog.

Tracc's words & emotions nailed it for me.

Bring on the new season & give 'em hell.

• Love 4
Posted
1 hour ago, Sydee said:

Irrespective of how bad some of those results were never like to see our "supporters" verbally abuse players leaving the ground

That was my main take away from the video too tbh. Mostly middle aged angry men yelling abuse at a bunch of 20-something young blokes. Pretty pathetic.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

That was my main take away from the video too tbh. Mostly middle aged angry men yelling abuse at a bunch of 20-something young blokes. Pretty pathetic.

Match day threads: Hold my beer. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Not there yet but we can reflect on where we’ve come from …

https://vimeo.com/590942504?ref=em-share/

I hate to brag. But I made a better version. I just haven't updated it since 2019..

https://t.co/VXbAxVuh0z?amp=1

Posted

There is an old saying "you need fire and heat to make the best steel".

The win on the weekend there was fire and heat, the players dug deep and eventually won.

No matter what the victory was impressive and maybe this was the catalyst they need to believe they can go all the way.

The Demons of the late 1930's, 1948, 1950's and 1964 all had the belief that anything is possible if you play as a team and are disiplined enough as a group the premierships will come.

Hopefully this group have that belief and I think the weekend showed they are a group that can go all the way but last week is over and they must not dwell in the past and grab the opportunity that has presented it self to this group.

They need 3 more wins to make this group a MFC immortal and the start of a dynasty where premierships are the norm not the exception.

The age of this team is very young but very talented.

Posted

Didn't know where else to post this, so here it is, from yesterday's Hun (apologies if someone else found somewhere else for it).

Apart from Suns and North (LOL...) what's wrong with this picture?

Someone's missed the Zeitgeist!

20210824_115359.jpg

• Vomit 2
Posted
13 minutes ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

what's wrong with this picture 

Everything! That’s what’s wrong!

Some proofreader better’ve got the sack for this!!! 😁

Posted
2 hours ago, Sydee said:

This current team has so much more ability and are supported by a very capable coaching group all of whom seem to me at least to know what they want and how to get there

Yes we can dare to dream I will be overwhelmingly happy for the players if they can win the flag but also a little sad that me and so many more long suffering supporters will not be there to share it with 

I reckon a lot of those idiots were Essendon supporters tbh. Can see a lot of people with Essendon colours and no colours.

Posted
36 minutes ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

what's wrong with this picture?

Hard to believe anybody would be dumb enough to pay $300 for a piece of crap like that.

Posted
1 hour ago, Doug Reemer said:

I hate to brag. But I made a better version. I just haven't updated it since 2019..

https://t.co/VXbAxVuh0z?amp=1

OMG. Did you make this? It’s so good. Insanely good. Great choice and placement of music, too. Rage Against The Machine and at the end, Johnny Cash’s Nine Inch Nails cover. Perfect. 
Please, please post it again if/when you update it. And thank you. Coz since Saturday night  it’s been like a good 3-4 hours since I last cried for this club and I felt something was amiss. 😊

Posted
34 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

OMG. Did you make this? It’s so good. Insanely good. Great choice and placement of music, too. Rage Against The Machine and at the end, Johnny Cash’s Nine Inch Nails cover. Perfect. 
Please, please post it again if/when you update it. And thank you. Coz since Saturday night  it’s been like a good 3-4 hours since I last cried for this club and I felt something was amiss. 😊

Haha!! I was in a pretty dark place when I made this!

Posted
1 hour ago, Doug Reemer said:

I was kinda expecting some Marilyn Manson or Slipknot in there. 😄

Posted
6 hours ago, Sydee said:

Yes we can dare to dream I will be overwhelmingly happy for the players if they can win the flag but also a little sad that me and so many more long suffering supporters will not be there to share it with them 

It may have been Melbourne 'supporters' abusing (i.e. I heartily agree with you, Syd!) but I can assure you at least one person in those scenes was very generously not doing so.

Such surprises are possible: I was at that game with a great, diehard Essendon-supporter mate, sitting not far from the race. Of his own volition - possibly in solidarity with me, but he also has a soft spot for Melbourne - he went over to the fence and let forth with loud and expressive 'C'mon Dees' supportive urgings. He was most embarrassed to be splashed across the following day's papers seemingly as one of the abusers!

Posted
6 hours ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Not there yet but we can reflect on where we’ve come from …

28 secs in unbvelievable throw from Cunnington - right in front of the ump

Posted
6 hours ago, Sydee said:

The Club will have to organise a Function/Family/Sunday after the Day style function for 20/25,000 fans when Covid allows to celebrate with the players.

Maybe  a Premiership Dinner as well for the upper market experience etc. to keep the pot boiling!!!

Posted
1 hour ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

I was kinda expecting some Marilyn Manson or Slipknot in there. 😄

I actually nearly went with a bit of "Beautiful People" by Marilyn

Posted

A lot of the footage in that video belongs in The Rinsing of the Demons thread. It's hard to believe it's the same club to be honest. We were a complete and utter rabble from top to bottom. 

Posted
4 hours ago, Doug Reemer said:

Now you're in such a happy place (assuming all Dees fans are), I'm sure a little update is on the horizon good sir... 😉