6 minutes ago, BDA said:

Plenty of room on the bandwagon Faulty. There's a seat right beside @old dee

Are there any behind @old dee?   (just kidding)

Last time we played the Crows we were flying at 9-0.
Hunt, T Mac, Weed and Jetta were the players that are not playing today replaced by Bowey, Brown, Salem + sub

we've had a blip and are going well again. Surely we got this??

What a glorious day to be at the footy...

10 minutes ago, BDA said:

Plenty of room on the bandwagon Faulty. There's a seat right beside @old dee

I'm being worn down by the unrelenting positivity on this site.

I feel dirty......

Currently watching the 2002 replay match Semi Final against the Crows.

Its half way through the first quarter and some Crow player called Simon Goodwin has kicked 2 goals and has about 7 touches.

This was the game I thought Travis Johnstone would become a genuine star of the competition. 

BBB and Fritta to kick 4, Melky 3. Gawn to smash it in the middle without ROB. Crows to kick 6 goals all up.

Forgot Clarry to sew up the AFLCA award with a BOG performance after the Bont was fairly well held yesterday 

Edited by Mickey

4 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Currently watching the 2002 replay match Semi Final against the Crows.

Its half way through the first quarter and some Crow player called Simon Goodwin has kicked 2 goals and has about 7 touches.

This was the game I thought Travis Johnstone would become a genuine star of the competition. 

Despite the result that is one of the all time great finals. Geez that one hurt though.

1 minute ago, Hell Bent said:

Despite the result that is one of the all time great finals. Geez that one hurt though.

2002 was such a strange season for us.

45 minutes ago, praha said:

What a glorious day to be at the footy...

Tis a glorious day.

I was on a bikeride this morning and rode to and from (and around) the 'G.

I was telling my bike buddy (an American) that even after all these years (I'm freakin old) I still feel the buzz of the 'G on match day ... sigh ....

7 hours ago, Min Xie said:

I felt both B Brown and Viney are slowly but getting better and better.

Viney isn’t back until next week against Geelong.

7 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

2002 was such a strange season for us.

That was the year we should have won the flag.

And I always thought if jarman had not refused to come to us in 1988, and instead sit out the season so he could get to the hawks in 89, we might have had a shot such was ability.

2 hours ago, dl4e said:

A real danger game. A position like 17th on the ladder proposes a huge problem for the MFC. If thy were 4th or 5th I would say we would win no worries.

Yep, we slacked off and had trouble against GC. 😒

3 hours ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

It's a still, partly cloudy morning here on the west side of town. It might only be 8am but there's a hint of warmth in the air and the cherry blossoms are blooming on the tree out front of HQ so September must be within touching distance. In these lockdown times it'll be a stripped back game day affair with a walk round to our local caff Sadie Black for some take away lunch that'll be washed down by some bottles of Sunset from the Two Birds brewery down in Spotswood. Enjoy the game everyone, wherever and how ever you'll be watching it. 

Sunset is a great beer by the girls

22 minutes ago, Mickey said:

BBB and Fritta to kick 4, Melky 3. Gawn to smash it in the middle without ROB. Crows to kick 6 goals all up.

Forgot Clarry to sew up the AFLCA award with a BOG performance after the Bont was fairly well held yesterday 

Respect. Seven different predictions (including the win which is unstated but implied by the Crows only kicking 6 goals while Brown, Fritsch and Melksham kick 11 between them). It's not guaranteed, but I suspect if any one of these six other predictions proves to be correct, we win. 

10 minutes ago, binman said:

That was the year we should have won the flag.

And I always thought if jarman had not refused to come to us in 1988, and instead sit out the season so he could get to the hawks in 89, we might have had a shot such was ability.

You reckon? Looking at our list back then I honestly think we probably over achieved. David Neitz was really our only tall forward with Robbo playing an undersized CHF role. 

We also lost Alistair Nicholson, Craig Ellis and Troy Broadbridge who were all part of our defensive structure. We had rely on Chris Lamb as our full back.

No way we were winning a flag with the list we had that year.

Great day for it.

Hope the boys are hungry, we could really do some damage today with a few players filling their boots and running into some form.

Or it could easily be a tight struggle and turn into a stressful game for us all. Looking at Adelaide’s team I will be surprised if that happens as they have got holes all over the park, so we’d really need to be flat for that to happen.

3 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

You reckon? Looking at our list back then I honestly think we probably over achieved. David Neitz was really our only tall forward with Robbo playing an undersized CHF role. 

We also lost Alistair Nicholson, Craig Ellis and Troy Broadbridge who were all part of our defensive structure. We had rely on Chris Lamb as our full back.

No way we were winning a flag with the list we had that year.

Fair points.

It was more about tbe form we were in come finals.

We were red hot.

And  there was no standout team that year.

We smashed Sydney and the roos in the finals

And weren't we 40 odd points up at half time in the crows game? 

And they went in to win the flag.

Have I got the year right?

Surely after the earlier loss we'll be sharp for this game. I for one am feeling outright vengeful.

The loss to Adelaide was built entirely on creeping complacency and an exposure of the chink in our defensive armour when the opposition just hurtle it through the corridor at maximum risk-reward.

Solidly defeating the Crows today requires only that we attend to those two factors.

But once that much is sorted I am focused on the 'aspirational goal' of really, really punishing that noxious club.

4 minutes ago, binman said:

Fair points.

It was more about tbe form we were in come finals.

We were red hot.

And  there was no standout team that year.

We smashed Sydney and the roos in the finals

And weren't we 40 odd points up at half time in the crows game? 

And they went in to win the flag.

Have I got the year right?

You might have the year mixed up. We didn't play Sydney in the finals. Played the Roos and Crows.

Always reckon 1998 and even 2006 were missed opportunity.  Had we won either Carlton games  in 2006 who were wooden spooners we'd had finished top 4.

18 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Respect. Seven different predictions (including the win which is unstated but implied by the Crows only kicking 6 goals while Brown, Fritsch and Melksham kick 11 between them). It's not guaranteed, but I suspect if any one of these six other predictions proves to be correct, we win. 

Paying about $326 as a same game multi if I was a betting man

Just now, Grapeviney said:

May out, Smith in ?

That's what I'm hearing, and no, I don't know any more re: May

MFC instagram story has May walking fine with no limp?

5 minutes ago, Grapeviney said:

Being managed apparently, rather than injury. 

Which might mean that the AFL has hinted to the clubs that they've scrapped the pre finals bye.