Posted
On 6/10/2022 at 4:36 PM, Diamond_Jim said:

No roof

Without one the product could be terrible. Remember Tassie have never had a night game

With a State funded clean stadium seating say 35k the Tassie team could stack up. It would mean big $$ every year from the State. This is effectively what NFL teams do.

Build me a stadium/new stadium or we move !!

They've had several night games. North v Richmond on a Friday a few years back, hawks have definitely had a few

Posted

To me it does make the most sense that a smaller Victorian team re-locate to Tasmania, ultimately it's a national competition and we have 3-4 excess Victorian teams that are in debt, heavily reliant on the AFL just to run and fairly irrelevant in terms of on field success. 

Going to Tasmania for one of these clubs has the clear potential to greatly improve one of these clubs in terms of financial standing and relevance, and i understand the history behind clubs and why they don't love the idea, but surely from a practical standpoint it's a pretty straight forward one.

Posted

The AFL can not afford to massively bank roll another club.  They have gws, gcs and aflw draining the bank account.  Attendance is down the game is Boring and over umpired.

This stadium thing is basically saying go get stuffed for 5 to 10 years and you can be some else's problem 

Posted
10 minutes ago, drdrake said:

The AFL can not afford to massively bank roll another club.  They have gws, gcs and aflw draining the bank account.  Attendance is down the game is Boring and over umpired.

This stadium thing is basically saying go get stuffed for 5 to 10 years and you can be some else's problem 

AFLW is going to end up exactly like the WNBA. But no one dare admit it. It's fantastic to inspire young women but it's grossly over-invested. The expansion was far too quick. A smaller league with 3-4 marquee teams would have set it up for success. Instead they went the American expansion route and basically have to bankroll it for at least the next two decades. At least. No one is engaging with and paying for AFLW to the level needed to make it viable. The same can be said for GC and GWS. Tasmania would undoubtedly be self-sustaining. The problem is more to do with the cost benefit analysis on the media market and purchase intent of the demographic. But I don't see how this any different to, say, Geelong. 

Posted (edited)
40 minutes ago, praha said:

AFLW is going to end up exactly like the WNBA. But no one dare admit it. It's fantastic to inspire young women but it's grossly over-invested. The expansion was far too quick. A smaller league with 3-4 marquee teams would have set it up for success. Instead they went the American expansion route and basically have to bankroll it for at least the next two decades. At least. No one is engaging with and paying for AFLW to the level needed to make it viable. The same can be said for GC and GWS. Tasmania would undoubtedly be self-sustaining. The problem is more to do with the cost benefit analysis on the media market and purchase intent of the demographic. But I don't see how this any different to, say, Geelong. 

150 years of history in the competition to start with.  Tassie hasn't been able to maintain a side in the vfl or u18s.

AFLW, yep and moving it to late in the year no one is going to give a stuff.

AFLW should have been capped at 8 sides

Edited by drdrake
Posted (edited)

What is a good investment if not Northern markets? What is a good way to keep eyeballs on footy if not for the womens product? 

Like I say, if you’re going to out your [censored], why not pull some alternatives from there too…

Posted

I really struggle to see this. Makes sense in theory but it seems a bridge too far. The Green Bay Packers concept of being a small but football mad area is great but they neglect to mention that GB were a cornerstone team in the National Football League and played a massive part in its formation over 100 years. 

The whole thing reportedly banking on getting a massive stadium with a roof seems far fetched. For the AFL to put up 750 mil or whatever it is all seems very pipe dreamy especially when they are propping up another club up north. I fail to see the return on investment.

A relocation is the only way I see it happening personally and it sounds like they've ruled that out so really I don't see it happening. 

Posted
15 hours ago, Demonland said:

So North effectively get a home game every week. That's totally a great idea. Imagine when the tide turns and they become a decent side utterly rediculous

Posted
50 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

So North effectively get a home game every week. That's totally a great idea. Imagine when the tide turns and they become a decent side utterly rediculous

well it was only an utterly rediculous(sic)  person who suggested it

Posted

Can the AFL really afford to alienate the whole state of Tasmania?

Posted
On 6/11/2022 at 9:30 AM, Jjrogan said:

And that often ends in a painful  financial burden for the city.  But pardon my ignorance but er, what? No roof? Really?

Roof for the players or roof for the fans? 

The requirement a new team needs a fricken stadium shows how delusional the AFL is. The new team needs heart, passion, players and coaches committed, it needs branding, marketing, innovation, the franchise needs wins, culture, long term thinking.    The last thing it freaking needs is a roof on its stadium.  If thats really what the AFL thinks will make it a success, just stop wasting time and end the effort now.  For the record, I dont think numbers make much sense to have a team in Tassie but they didnt for GCS and they gave that a try so who knows 

Jj.  Gill will no doubt tout the “wonderful game day experience” with over amplified din under a tin roof. I am sure that it will attract multitudes from both families in Tasmania. 

Posted
On 6/16/2022 at 1:07 PM, Bates Mate said:

In reality the only advantage they get is not playing 3-4 games interstate.

Perhaps you make it 2 games outside Victoria and Tasmania and then it becomes very close to a "normal" Victorian team.

Playing at Docklands is not a great advantage. 

Posted

While a Tasmanian team might feel the "right thing to do", it would be a mistake.

19 teams is too many for a person to interested in.  18 is a bit as well.  Back in the day when the was an odd number of teams, I found the byes and more complicated ladder tedious.

As our apparent figurehead might say about Tassie, we already own their soul.  

NT has NRL challenging AFL but the number of people is very small. 

Newcastle would be a gain; about twice as many people as Tas.  A few AFL-sponsored matches there, would be a worthwhile experiment.

Posted
3 hours ago, redandbluemakepurple said:

While a Tasmanian team might feel the "right thing to do", it would be a mistake.

19 teams is too many for a person to interested in.  18 is a bit as well.  Back in the day when the was an odd number of teams, I found the byes and more complicated ladder tedious.

As our apparent figurehead might say about Tassie, we already own their soul.  

NT has NRL challenging AFL but the number of people is very small. 

Newcastle would be a gain; about twice as many people as Tas.  A few AFL-sponsored matches there, would be a worthwhile experiment.

"...Newcastle would be a gain; about twice as many people as Tas.  A few AFL-sponsored matches there, would be a worthwhile experiment."

Maybe GW$ could play a few there as well as or instead of Canberra?

Posted
12 minutes ago, monoccular said:

"...Newcastle would be a gain; about twice as many people as Tas.  A few AFL-sponsored matches there, would be a worthwhile experiment."

Maybe GW$ could play a few there as well as or instead of Canberra?

GWS have made inroads up here - lots of orange about. When we played them early last year, the crowd was obnoxious. Always a good sign.

Posted

This plan may just work!

2026-vision-afl-s-plan-to-make-a-tasmanian-team-instantly-competitive

Thankfully, we are in our premiership window now.  Five more years to add to our silverware before the Tassie concessions and dilution of the draft pool kicks in!

Posted
38 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

This plan may just work!

Thankfully, we are in our premiership window now.  Five more years to add to our silverware before the Tassie concessions and dilution of the draft pool kicks in!

My concern would be they overpay for average players, because real star power may not want to play in Tassie so they have tk take what they can get. This could just make them mediocre for longer

Posted (edited)
38 minutes ago, Demonstone said:

Gosh, it's been almost an hour since Luci posted that link and nobody has attacked the journalist yet.  :blink:

Probably because said journalist has excellent contacts and has done her homework! 

Oh, and her English grammar and vocabulary are pretty good.

So nothing to fault except what can't be seen and is petty.

Edited by Lucifers Hero
Posted
1 hour ago, Lucifers Hero said:

This plan may just work!

The Bears had a much lesser version of this plan and it failed miserably.

It's a recipe for every other club looking at Tasmania as a predator or as a dumping ground.

Still no answer to the perpetual bye. Mathematically there has to be one every week and the ladder will be compromised until the last round of the season

Posted

19 teams is a terrible idea. I hope it gets voted down if that’s the proposal.

The only way it can work from a competition perspective is if North or St Kilda shift. 

Posted
1 hour ago, whatwhat say what said:

still reckon the taswegian govt will not end up approving a new stadium and the afl will use that as the 'get out' to not bring in a stand-alone team

When are GWS building their new stadium?