buck_nekkid 6,103 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 22 minutes ago, Maldonboy38 said: Personally, I think bringing in Vanders is a mistake. I have watched a bit of Casey games and would have thought a fair few were in front of him. I love his tackling and toughness, but he is a momentum killer. His mistakes are often brutally simple but result in opposition goals. Hope I am wrong today. I think he plays the defensive midfield role and jv becomes more attacking. Sparrow would have been a possible choice with Jones out. Lets see what he brings.
daisycutter 30,021 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 3 minutes ago, Superunknown said: Who is Vanders in for? harmes.....who has an ear infection 1 1
Billy 2,576 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 9 hours ago, kev martin said: Oliver and Tracc to play with endeavour from the start and not just after half-time. Very harsh 1
Nascent 9,345 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 1 hour ago, Kiss of Death said: When do we start booing Frosty again? Poor bloke has to play for Hawthorn, surely that's punishment enough. Also we turfed him and brought in Langdon as a result, I want to know where to send the gift basket. 2 2
leave it to deever 17,621 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 1 hour ago, forever demons said: I have too but i hoope he he has a shocker tonight He wasnt great in oir last encounter against them. He was always heart in your mouth stuff but on balance I thought he served us very well. Break a leg Frosty.
Spargonicus 539 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 Another funny comment on the Hawthorn forum this morning: ”I’ve already taken my pants off so they can’t be pulled down later.” let’s hope we find a way to do that. 1
dees189227 12,527 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 I'm looking forward to seeing what vanders can do. I'm sure he'd want to take his chance. Gawn should dominate the centre bounces & if our midfield can't capitalise on that then they are clueless. Shame we can't be there but at least we still get to play on our ground. It's time we reclaimed our top spot back 1
Dr.D 1,771 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 3 hours ago, D4Life said: Obviously due to our ladder position and how we generally play week to week Demons have significantly improved, over 16 rounds our worst is losses of 1, 9, and 16? Against Crows and Giants kicking straight we win both. What we haven’t seen is an absolute flogging of an opposition team, and while as a long long suffering Demons fan of over 50 years, any win is a good win, it would be terrific to see the Demons put the foot down today and kick straight to deliver a massive victory over the Hawks. If we kicked straight against point, we would have won by over 50 points, so hoping for straight kicking tonight in the pissing rain, which is logical as we can’t kick straight in the dry! Finally a post that recognises the importance of goal kicking accuracy 1
Demonstone 23,600 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 15 minutes ago, Spargonicus said: Another funny comment on the Hawthorn forum this morning: ”I’ve already taken my pants off so they can’t be pulled down later.” Possibly a relative of Allan Jeans? 1
leave it to deever 17,621 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 Without footy this lockdown would make my head explode. And what a year for us to star. Lets smash a team for once. 11
Guest Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 (edited) Frosty embodied the axiom ‘if you are going to make a mistake, it may as well be a big one’. Sometimes, Frost ball paid off like when he launched that barrel from the centre against Hawthorn in the Prelim in ‘18 and it basically set us up for a goal. Then again, there were plenty of other occasions which would best be watched with the Benny Hill theme playing in the background. He definitely was a product of the ‘chaos ball’ era where we were all go, all the time. If he were playing with us today, either Mayzy and Rick would have to go off with an injury sub thanks to blowing their voice boxes from the sprays they’d be giving him. Sadly, he never really has been able to clean that part of his game up. Tomald also used to do similarly baffling things on the back line. I always cringed when he tried to take on the man standing the mark, get in trouble, then try to kick to the opposite wing upon which it would be easily picked off. He’s now one of our best field kicks and decision makers on our team. Sadly, Frosty never fixed his decision making or field kicking. That being said, he had a pair of wheels, potential to be strong in one on ones, and a relatively good mark on the back line. He would just stick out like dog’s gonads if he were to play with us today. Edited July 17, 2021 by Colin B. Flaubert
jnrmac 20,385 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 We're a 3 goal per qtr better side Should win by 50+ if we bring the heat VDB to be a wrecking ball We owe them 1
picket fence 18,190 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 1 hour ago, Maldonboy38 said: Personally, I think bringing in Vanders is a mistake. I have watched a bit of Casey games and would have thought a fair few were in front of him. I love his tackling and toughness, but he is a momentum killer. His mistakes are often brutally simple but result in opposition goals. Hope I am wrong today. Who would you have brought in Maldonboy??
jnrmac 20,385 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 17 minutes ago, Colin B. Flaubert said: Frosty embodied the axiom ‘if you are going to make a mistake, it may as well be a big one’. Sometimes, Frost ball paid off like when he launched that barrel from the centre against Hawthorn and it basically set us up for a goal. Then again, there were plenty of other occasions which would best be watched with the Benny Hill theme playing in the background. He definitely was a product of the ‘chaos ball’ era where we were all go, all the time. If he were playing with us today, either Mayzy and Rick would have to go off with an injury sub thanks to blowing their voice boxes from the sprays they’d be giving him. Sadly, he never really has been able to clean that part of his game up. Tomald also used to do similarly baffling things on the back line. I always cringed when he tried to take on the man standing the mark, get in trouble, then try to kick to the opposite wing upon which it would be easily picked off. He’s now one of our best field kicks and decision makers on our team. Sadly, Frosty never fixed his decision making or field kicking. That being said, he had a pair of wheels, potential to be strong in one on ones, and a relatively good mark on the back line. He would just stick out like dog’s gonads if he were to play with us today. Frost is uncoachable. He knows best apparently
DeezNuts 624 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 5 hours ago, Better days ahead said: Hawks were atrocious last week. Absolutely pantsed by Freo. Have a real end of season look about them, coaching hand-over a big distraction, injuries, etc. Noise around that they have turned their minds to draft picks. They are there for the taking. 4 points most important thing but for once this year I’d like to see us put a team to the sword. Percentage could be a factor in the final reckoning and we have not converted our dominance in games into bigger scores. Would love us to register a 50+ point win today. Let’s swarm these bastards from the get-go and pummel them into the ground Good luck Vanders. I love your heart and attack on the footy. Go Dees Is Vanders in? If so I’m sooo happy with that call!!! 3
Tricky 341 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 13 minutes ago, dl4e said: Which Melbourne will show up tonite ? Excellent question. I don't think I'll ever be confident 1
pineapple dee 2,892 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 5 hours ago, Smokey said: Surely us supporters can relax about this one ... ... right? The supporters are relaxed, the faux supporters, not so much. Lose this one and I officially become an alcoholic. 1
Tricky 341 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 3 minutes ago, pineapple dee said: The supporters are relaxed, the faux supporters, not so much. Unsure about that logic pd
DeezNuts 624 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 Just hope our big fellas can get one or two goals early to keep their confidence up and sustain some straight kicking for the remainder of the game 1
P-man 13,367 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 Given we’ve lost to Adelaide and Collingwood this year, you can’t begrudge anyone feeling a tad nervous. That said, this should really be a ten goal win. Some Hawks fans are saying it’s the worst team they’ve put on the field in many a year. 1 1
McQueen 17,867 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 I’m hoping big Benny Brown gets ample and accurate supply and snags 10 goals! 3 1
Maldonboy38 6,436 Posted July 17, 2021 Posted July 17, 2021 57 minutes ago, picket fence said: Who would you have brought in Maldonboy?? Good question. If form in the Casey games is any indicator, and trying to replace something close to like for like, Jones would be first up, and Melksham next. Neither can offer exactly what Harmes has but they are the closest. Bowey or Sparrow from the young guys. Declase coud be a ripper but it is too soon for him. 1