Posted
4 minutes ago, kev martin said:

Well done Dees, turned it around again. Good pressure, kept running, and out-muscled them.

Jackson best game to date. Stood up when Maxy struggled.

To be fair, I rode my bike home from the local watering hole along the beach at half time, so my optics may not be bang on.

But how things have changed that it's not the old stagers dragging us over the line. Jackson, Pickett, Rivers, ---> bloody fantastic to get things going for the team.

Posted

I wonder how much Tomlinson's injury had on the mental state of the rest of the team.  Would be pretty depressing all round.  Of course nothing compared to himself.

Posted

And my son didn't give me nearly enough praise for this pearler from me when the commentator said "Kossie is playing his own brand of football out there today" 

I turned to him and said "he's playing Kossie Rules Football"

I'm still pretty proud of myself for that one....

• Haha 10
Posted

I know we did well at gws but do we need to do things differently about interstate games?

Last year we lost two crucial away games and played poorly today.

Do we need to get there earlier?

I guess we should underestmate that historically this game is like playing in Adelaide or Perth.

Posted

It seemed like the umpires were instructed to call no 15 and play on at every opportunity to keep the game moving.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Better days ahead said:

Why does anyone care whether the commentators want us to win or not. To hell with them

Most supporters are looking for adulation. When they don't get it they are disappointed.

Posted
1 minute ago, leave it to deever said:

I know we did well at gws but do we need to do things differently about interstate games?

Last year we lost two crucial away games and played poorly today.

Do we need to get there earlier?

I guess we should underestmate that historically this game is like playing in Adelaide or Perth.

suspect it was an AFL directive but ideally day before and light training on the playing oval.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Better days ahead said:

Why does anyone care whether the commentators want us to win or not. To hell with them

Couldn't agree more.  I keep the sound on for the names of the Oppo players.

Posted

Watched some replay.

The frees against Max in the ruck were a total joke. Some umpires are just not up to it and should be weeded out.

Posted
26 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Yeah, so like I was saying, I’ve been backing AGAINST us for the last few years and I’m thrilled to announce to all and sundry, this year...

I STILL HAVEN’T WON A SINGLE CENT!!!!

Poor, yes. But OH SO HAPPY!

❤️?❤️?❤️?

Can you still make 50c bets? ?

Posted
16 minutes ago, Better days ahead said:

I think our devious plan all along was to play North into form so they can beat the pies next week. I hope we succeeded.

Now why did I not consider that? Of course, a good plan that I failed to realise ....

Posted
19 minutes ago, Tarax Club said:

After such an ordinary start and sub-par first half deliberately steered clear of the DL game day thread.

As part of our post-game cool off curiosity won regrettably.

Going backwards into the thread  was not unlike being aboard with Captain Willard going up river seeking Colonel Kurtz.

“The Horror”

Posted
5 minutes ago, In Harmes Way said:

And my son didn't give me nearly enough praise for this pearler from me when the commentator said "Kossie is playing his own brand of football out there today" 

I turned to him and said "he's playing Kossie Rules Football"

I'm still pretty proud of myself for that one....

We have many reasons to thank you, IHW

Posted
1 minute ago, leave it to deever said:

Watched some replay.

The frees against Max in the ruck were a total joke. Some umpires are just not up to it and should be weeded out.

Abso-bldy-lutely!!!

Posted
1 minute ago, Deevout said:

Can you still make 50c bets? ?

Should have been backing us and letting the winnings ride for 7 weeks in a row!

Posted

Long time no post.

Great win - kept running when they ran out of gas. Quality sides do this and we're now a quality side!

Posted
5 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Watched some replay.

And Huddo is the same.

Posted

Not sure how the coach’s go about reviewing that game. Hopefully that first half was just an aberration and it will be normal service resumed next week against the Swans.

Jackson immense in the second half. Fritsch’s kicking is all sorted, Kozzie excellent. Petracca didn’t play badly imv and was the only one showing any urgency in the first half. Set shot kicking let him down and some rash decisions at times in the second half. Jordon slotted his goal at a crucial time. He showed real composure. Langdon was steady. Lever and May ok down back. TMac did a good job filling in for Thommo but he needs to play forward next week. Oliver worked his way into the game.

Shockers for Gawn, Gus, Nibbler. Hopefully they can just forget about today, put it out of their mind and come back stronger next week.

Horrible luck for Thommo. He’s been brilliant for us. Petty to come in and hopefully fill the gap.

Posted

We're top of the ladder undefeated, won (finally) at a graveyard location against a team that has had our measure for years.

Why do I feel so flat?

Lots of uncertainty about our backline all of a sudden, and Brown didn't fit all that well into our forward line if I'm honest.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Chook said:

Lots of uncertainty about our backline all of a sudden, and Brown didn't fit all that well into our forward line if I'm honest.

Remember that North had lots of incentive to poop his party. They double-and-a-half teamed him all day.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Chook said:

We're top of the ladder undefeated, won (finally) at a graveyard location against a team that has had our measure for years.

Why do I feel so flat?

I reckon a lot of us are almost willing that first loss for the season to happen. To get it outta the way. It’s a human thing. 

Posted
1 hour ago, loges said:

Only bad injury appears to be Tomlinson

And Viney unfortunately. 

Posted

Norf can play against Brown better than anyone. He would have trained on their defenders for 10 pre seasons. 
It’s little wonder May smashed Lynch last week. 

But Brown was always going to take time to get into the swing of things and for us to work out a structure around him. It’s exactly why we didn’t bring him in last week against Richmond. 
Our delivery inside 50 in the first half was not helping him, and he looked shaky on the lead. He hasn’t played senior footy in almost a year. This was always going to be a slow start. 
I don’t think we should judge him on today. 

• Like 14