FireInTheBennelly 4,104 Posted April 20, 2021 Posted April 20, 2021 16 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said: Good Lord JCB , surely you know that beer is ok at the footy and on a hot summers day ....... but ..... for a serious [censored] up ... Shiraz is the only drink for gentlemen That's all well and good uncle, but what are you drinking? 1 Quote
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted April 20, 2021 Author Posted April 20, 2021 29 minutes ago, FireInTheBennelly said: That's all well and good uncle, but what are you drinking? An unkind cut Fire ! 1 Quote
Bang Bang Bang 5,875 Posted April 20, 2021 Posted April 20, 2021 First time watching AFL 360 in 2021, because I'd read on here that Goody was appearing, and probably the last. There were lots of interesting questions that could have been asked, that is after they finally acknowledged Goody's existence. How important is sentiment and culture and how important is form when thinking about Nathan Jones' 300th? How do you plan to squeeze Weideman and Ben Brown into the team? Will McDonald maybe go to a wing? What of Jackson? Will Fristch and May push for selection this week or are they more likely the week after? All these questions could have generated an interesting response but instead we got "Oh that Gawn's a good player isn't he?" "Oh that Petracca is pretty good too isn't he?" "Oh Dusty is a good player for Richmond too, imagine those two playing on each other..." Rubbish questions. At least "On the Couch" got some good responses from Jonesy and a classy AF tribute from Garry at the end. 360 was a complete waste of time. 3 Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,013 Posted April 20, 2021 Posted April 20, 2021 GW at the Fox interview. Fox: you’ve got the job, congratulations. Does 235k per year sound about right? GW: yeah. Beauty. BTW, who’s my cohost? Fox: Slobbo GW: 750k per annum, 22.5 percent super and a new seven series every other year. Fox: cheaper than Lane, done. 1 1 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,450 Posted April 20, 2021 Posted April 20, 2021 38 minutes ago, No Plan B said: First time watching AFL 360 in 2021, because I'd read on here that Goody was appearing, and probably the last. There were lots of interesting questions that could have been asked, that is after they finally acknowledged Goody's existence. How important is sentiment and culture and how important is form when thinking about Nathan Jones' 300th? How do you plan to squeeze Weideman and Ben Brown into the team? Will McDonald maybe go to a wing? What of Jackson? Will Fristch and May push for selection this week or are they more likely the week after? All these questions could have generated an interesting response but instead we got "Oh that Gawn's a good player isn't he?" "Oh that Petracca is pretty good too isn't he?" "Oh Dusty is a good player for Richmond too, imagine those two playing on each other..." Rubbish questions. At least "On the Couch" got some good responses from Jonesy and a classy AF tribute from Garry at the end. 360 was a complete waste of time. Agreed. A complete shambles in all ways Whately should just get a new show Slobbo is getting worse 1 Quote
Grr-owl 1,258 Posted April 20, 2021 Posted April 20, 2021 18 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said: I’m currently watching AFL 360 for the first time in years Im a self admitted [censored] pot. So my judgement is impaired However, I have two questions Is Robbo a jibbering [censored] or am I a mindless drunk ? I think both. 1 Quote
Nasher 33,654 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 3 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: Courtesy of Twitter.... Wow. Never thought I’d hear (or see) these words come from myself, but thank heavens for Jack Riewoldt. Trac’s not the most polished media performer, and you could see him giving Jack that HEEELLLLLPPPPPPP glance. 5 2 1 Quote
Dr.D 1,771 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 the guy says 'anythink' and 'everythinK'. he is a disgrace. To be on tv and to butcher the English language the way he does is cringe worthy and embarrassing. Gerard Whately must go home after each show and blow off some serious steam. I'd say Robbo's IQ can't be more than 60. 1 Quote
In Harmes Way 7,869 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 51 minutes ago, Dr.D said: the guy says 'anythink' and 'everythinK'. he is a disgrace. To be on tv and to butcher the English language the way he does is cringe worthy and embarrassing. Gerard Whately must go home after each show and blow off some serious steam. I'd say Robbo's IQ can't be more than 60. Whately is 300, Robbo is 60 show = 360 2 10 Quote
Pickett2Jackson 3,904 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said: Courtesy of Twitter.... "Now we know you're not as good as Dustin martin..." That started off well. My god the man is a mess. 5 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 Trac may not be the most polished media performer, but at least he’s great at his day job. What the [censored] is Robbo’s excuse? 7 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,450 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said: Courtesy of Twitter.... He is just pathetic, honestly. It is embarassing what blurts out of his head Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,164 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 26 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said: He is just pathetic, honestly. It is embarassing what blurts out of his head Still amazes me that him and Whately are on the same show. How Robbo even manages to continually get a gig, especially as a co-host, is one of football's great mysteries/anomalies. 3 Quote
Adam The God 30,715 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 3 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said: Courtesy of Twitter.... Haha, I was laughing my head off at this. WTF sort of question is that? Seriously, he is a blithering [censored]. 1 Quote
Deestroy All 14,266 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 Now we all know you’re not as good as Craig Hutchison (the bar is that low), but when you’re in the same room as him do you look for where is? Do you get nervous, do you wonder how he forms coherent sentences? 5 1 2 7 Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,013 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 I watched the whole thing and thought Trac was marvellous in the face of mammoth idiotism. The gold was what happened next . . . Jack R explained to Slobbo how the game is played like he was talking to an eight year old with a learning impairment. The tragic irony was that Slobbo wasn't even ashamed. He had no idea Jack was laughing at his mindless vandalism of renaissance thought straight in his face. (Maybe I'll run into Slobbo at an AA meeting one day.) 1 Quote
Hatchman 539 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 He gets the job because he has been a loyal News Ltd man for a long time and is well protected by the power brokers upstairs. I know people that have been in and out of News Ltd and he’s largely considered to be an 80's misogynist relic that trades on his “blokey, bloke” image, and [censored] kissing to make up for his lazy journalism and poor presentation skills. Basically he is widely despised by those below him while those upstairs keep him around because he is still seen as having broad appeal to the Herald-Sun/Fox Footy demographics - most of which are white males Journalism is not an equitable or equal trade and never has been. 6 Quote
Salems Lot 2,692 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 (edited) My sport hating wife reckons all footballers are thick; I reckon all footballers are like society, some are smart and some are thick but they can all do the football thing really well. Trac can do it really, really well! Edited April 27, 2021 by Salems Lot 2 Quote
DeeZee 7,496 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 I only watch that segment when Trac is on, but I just can’t do it anymore, because I just can’t bear Slobbos idiocy. 1 1 Quote
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted April 27, 2021 Author Posted April 27, 2021 11 hours ago, Dr.D said: the guy says 'anythink' and 'everythinK'. he is a disgrace. To be on tv and to butcher the English language the way he does is cringe worthy and embarrassing. Gerard Whately must go home after each show and blow off some serious steam. I'd say Robbo's IQ can't be more than 60. A reasonable diagnosis Dr. I'd rate him as approximately equivalent to a pot plant. 2 Quote
Gorgoroth 13,216 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 You really notice the difference when Mike Sheehan or a few others who have sat in for Robbo are there and the show is quite enjoyable and less rambling. Robbo sometimes make Dermie seem to the point. 2 Quote
chook fowler 19,770 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 10 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said: A reasonable diagnosis Dr. I'd rate him as approximately equivalent to a pot plant. more like a pet rock 1 Quote
daisycutter 30,004 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 6 minutes ago, chook fowler said: more like a pet rock i was thinking a goldfish 1 Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,468 Posted April 27, 2021 Posted April 27, 2021 5 hours ago, Hatchman said: He gets the job because he has been a loyal News Ltd man for a long time and is well protected by the power brokers upstairs. I know people that have been in and out of News Ltd and he’s largely considered to be an 80's misogynist relic that trades on his “blokey, bloke” image, and [censored] kissing to make up for his lazy journalism and poor presentation skills. Basically he is widely despised by those below him while those upstairs keep him around because he is still seen as having broad appeal to the Herald-Sun/Fox Footy demographics - most of which are white males Journalism is not an equitable or equal trade and never has been. I've seen articles he's written begin with phrases such as, "Watched the Bombers game last night." Not, "I watched the Bombers game" just "Watched the Bombers game". And he is the chief football writer at the city's most widely read paper, his articles are written as though he is half [censored] having a chat at the pub. 1 Quote