Deeman 1,551 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 23 minutes ago, chook fowler said: This trade period is as exciting as watching Geoff Boycott bat. On that note, is it time to start The Will Pucovski Thread? 2 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,778 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 4 minutes ago, Deeman said: On that note, is it time to start The Will Pucovski Thread? Just sat down to watch the replay of today's Vic match to see the new wunderkind and he's out for his lowest score!! Timing is everything 1 Quote
Redleg 42,181 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 Was having a chuckle to myself, as guys on Fox Footy were gushing over Saad and his trade for pick 8 today, as I remembered pushing him hard on DL, when he was rumoured to be unhappy at Suns and plenty on here knocked him completely. Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,389 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 32 minutes ago, Redleg said: Was having a chuckle to myself, as guys on Fox Footy were gushing over Saad and his trade for pick 8 today, as I remembered pushing him hard on DL, when he was rumoured to be unhappy at Suns and plenty on here knocked him completely. What were you thinking his trade value was back then Red? He’s a decent player but IMO pick eight is crazy. 3 Quote
adonski 13,280 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 2 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said: What were you thinking his trade value was back then Red? He’s a decent player but IMO pick eight is crazy. Wouldn't touch the Bearded Jayden Hunt for a first rounder 1 Quote
BAMF 4,487 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 (edited) Changed my mind Edited November 11, 2020 by BAMF 1 Quote
Ron Burgundy 8,588 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 3 hours ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said: Must be awesome to be 200cm tall. I was playing a game of AFL 9’s in Sydney a few years ago (with my mates - pretty low level stuff). The ball came into the forward line pretty neatly. Arms up. Thought to myself - I’ve got this every day of the week. I’m 188cm. Thinking about the set shot to come. Then, the ball just completely disappears. Without warning. As though a UFO just vaporised it. I look around to see Jason Ball smiling with ball in hand. He’s 201cm. It’s a very unfair advantage. 4 1 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,538 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 34 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said: Thought to myself - I’ve got this every day of the week. I’m 188cm. It’s a very unfair advantage. My 5’8 heart weeps for you Ron 7 Quote
Pickett2Jackson 3,904 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 (edited) Pick 8 for Adam [censored] Saad.... you can not be serious. The AFL are clearly helping the Bombers behind the scenes. I guess Christian Salem would get us a top 3 pick then if Saad can get pick 8. Edited November 11, 2020 by Pickett2Jackson Quote
Redleg 42,181 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 9 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said: What were you thinking his trade value was back then Red? He’s a decent player but IMO pick eight is crazy. Back then without NGA’s, about 25-30. Didn’t Bombers pay about that? 1 Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 15 hours ago, Whispering_Jack said: Apparently, the AFL’s idea of adding to the drama of the final day of trading is that while clubs can still agree on deals, they can only lodge them between 3.00pm and 7.30pm. How exciting? Interesting strategy. I would have thought instead of increasing the drama, the AFL's timing plans will do the reverse. Is trading of such interest that people picking up children from school, trying to finish a day's work and preparing for dinner are really going to be following the "excitement" of the final trades? In short, if anything happens after about 5.30 pm, I won't know about it until tomorrow. 1 Quote
old dee 24,084 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 (edited) 2 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said: Interesting strategy. I would have thought instead of increasing the drama, the AFL's timing plans will do the reverse. Is trading of such interest that people picking up children from school, trying to finish a day's work and preparing for dinner are really going to be following the "excitement" of the final trades? In short, if anything happens after about 5.30 pm, I won't know about it until tomorrow. Surely you are not surprised LDC! The AFL will do anything that helps their media buddies. As usual the fans are running a bad last. Edited November 12, 2020 by old dee Quote
Superunknown 4,246 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 10 hours ago, Demon Disciple said: My 5’8 heart weeps for you Ron That's ok, this 5'7" climbs Ventoux faster and shreds powder better with lower centre of gravity 1 Quote
Redleg 42,181 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 2 hours ago, Redleg said: Back then without NGA’s, about 25-30. Didn’t Bombers pay about that? Saad was traded for Bombers 2018 2nd round pick in Oct 2017. That pick would have been about 26 and then pushed back so probably ending up about 30-32. Quote
McQueen 17,867 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 Essendon will be a rabble for years to come and the Blues had to cough up pick 8 which is probably overs but they have an immediate need for a seasoned player in that position. I don’t see this as unreasonable no matter where Saads pick value has previously been. Quote
Pulp Fritschon 775 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 8 hours ago, Pickett2Jackson said: Pick 8 for Adam [censored] Saad.... you can not be serious. The AFL are clearly helping the Bombers behind the scenes. I guess Christian Salem would get us a top 3 pick then if Saad can get pick 8. Yes Carlton stuffed up there. They should of split pick 8 early in the trade period for a couple of later picks. Then the Bombers would have had no choice but to accept one of them as the week went on. Holding onto 8 was a mistake. Essendon were the big winners on that one. Hopefully the Bombers end up forking out massive overs for Dunkley. 1 Quote
Redleg 42,181 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 4 minutes ago, Pulp Fritschon said: Yes Carlton stuffed up there. They should of split pick 8 early in the trade period for a couple of later picks. Then the Bombers would have had no choice but to accept one of them as the week went on. Holding onto 8 was a mistake. Essendon were the big winners on that one. Hopefully the Bombers end up forking out massive overs for Dunkley. They were spooked by the Papley result in moving picks and couldn't afford to not get Saad for their fans. Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 So what's the deal with trades today are they holding all back announcements so they can announce them at that stupid special they have on Fox footy at 7:30 1 Quote
Redleg 42,181 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 6 minutes ago, Bates Mate said: So what's the deal with trades today are they holding all back announcements so they can announce them at that stupid special they have on Fox footy at 7:30 6.00 pm and probably yes. Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 so is it a waste of time checking in here to see progress? or will social media drop any useful trade info before official release time? 1 Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted November 11, 2020 Posted November 11, 2020 3 minutes ago, daisycutter said: so is it a waste of time checking in here to see progress? or will social media drop any useful trade info before official release time? Hard to imagine that "unofficial" reports won't leak out before the paperwork is allowed to be officially lodged. 1 1 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,474 Posted November 12, 2020 Posted November 12, 2020 Will the Filth pay $300,000 a year for 5 years to get rid of Treloar? What a total [censored] up. Edward must be going bezerk right now Which heads will roll? 1 Quote
old55 23,864 Posted November 12, 2020 Posted November 12, 2020 1 minute ago, Sir Why You Little said: Will the Filth pay $300,000 a year for 5 years to get rid of Treloar? What a total [censored] up. Edward must be going bezerk right now Which heads will roll? Start with his own - apparently he was a key driver of the Beams return which caused most of this 2 Quote
Redleg 42,181 Posted November 12, 2020 Posted November 12, 2020 9 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said: Will the Filth pay $300,000 a year for 5 years to get rid of Treloar? What a total [censored] up. Edward must be going bezerk right now Yes! Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,474 Posted November 12, 2020 Posted November 12, 2020 2 minutes ago, Pollyanna said: Start with his own - apparently he was a key driver of the Beams return which caused most of this Beams didn’t write the ridiculous contract. Treloar signed what was put in front of him Quote