Demonland 74,443 Posted September 30, 2020 Posted September 30, 2020 Non-MFC obviously ... Who are you tipping? Quote
whatwhat say what 23,864 Posted September 30, 2020 Posted September 30, 2020 pear tiggas footscray meth coke Quote
dl4e 5,851 Posted September 30, 2020 Posted September 30, 2020 Geelong, Richmond, Dogs and West Coke. Quote
gs77 4,616 Posted September 30, 2020 Posted September 30, 2020 Port, lions, bulldogs, meth coke. Quote
Demonland 74,443 Posted September 30, 2020 Author Posted September 30, 2020 This after dropping a 30 year old. Quote
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted September 30, 2020 Posted September 30, 2020 I hate most of those sides. However, I would like to see Brissy smash the Tiges and make their bogan supporters weep. I despise Meth Coast but not as much as I hate The Filth. A jolly good flogging to out the pies would be a satisfactory result. 3 1 Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,734 Posted September 30, 2020 Posted September 30, 2020 Don't care really. This season died a long time ago for me. I would like the finals to be over so that we can get down to the important stuff like player trades, staffing changes etc. It is going to be a long October... 5 Quote
dees189227 12,515 Posted September 30, 2020 Posted September 30, 2020 So long as west coast put the pies out. That's all that matters. Honestly I'd love to see a port/brisbane gf. I don't hate either team and I think it would be good to see different teams in it. Love to see brisbane knock off the tigs and port win tonight. Dogs/saints not fussed who wins. 2 Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted September 30, 2020 Posted September 30, 2020 Rather than start a new thread, I'm interested in whether people like the idea of a bye between the final home and away round and the first week of finals. My view is that it kills momentum. I have found that since this particular bye was introduced a few years ago that I have fundamentally lost interest in the whole competition every year due to the bye when we're not in the finals. I know it was introduced to overcome the problems associated with some teams resting players in the final round. I think there needs to be a more creative solution to that problem, such as suspending the senior coach of teams that do that for four rounds. I'm pretty sure that would work. Having said that, I think the AFL had no choice this year to have the bye. Because of the way the season panned out, they couldn't go into the finals without giving Essendon and Melbourne a break at this time of year. When setting the schedule they couldn't ignore the possibility that either or both these teams could be finalists. In summary, I'm all in favour of getting rid of the pre-finals bye. Any thoughts? Quote
Demonland 74,443 Posted September 30, 2020 Author Posted September 30, 2020 Normally I'm not a fan of the weeks break. Can be a real momentum killer. Having said that if you have a few injury concerns it can be a life saver. I guess it depends on what your needs and situation are going into finals. This year due to the condensed fixturing I think it was needed. We certainly would have benefited if we had won enough games to actually make the finals. Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,458 Posted September 30, 2020 Posted September 30, 2020 The Bye is a Godsend for any side in the Finals. The Games should be better for it. i am still angry we didn’t make it Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted October 1, 2020 Posted October 1, 2020 16 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said: The Bye is a Godsend for any side in the Finals. The Games should be better for it. i am still angry we didn’t make it Imagine the impact on the team of Bennell's crisis had we made finals 1 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,458 Posted October 1, 2020 Posted October 1, 2020 19 minutes ago, Moonshadow said: Imagine the impact on the team of Bennell's crisis had we made finals Would he have done the same thing? but yes, Point taken. If he had come back to his room... 1 Quote
BW511 2,730 Posted October 1, 2020 Posted October 1, 2020 56 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said: Rather than start a new thread, I'm interested in whether people like the idea of a bye between the final home and away round and the first week of finals. My view is that it kills momentum. I have found that since this particular bye was introduced a few years ago that I have fundamentally lost interest in the whole competition every year due to the bye when we're not in the finals. I know it was introduced to overcome the problems associated with some teams resting players in the final round. I think there needs to be a more creative solution to that problem, such as suspending the senior coach of teams that do that for four rounds. I'm pretty sure that would work. Having said that, I think the AFL had no choice this year to have the bye. Because of the way the season panned out, they couldn't go into the finals without giving Essendon and Melbourne a break at this time of year. When setting the schedule they couldn't ignore the possibility that either or both these teams could be finalists. In summary, I'm all in favour of getting rid of the pre-finals bye. Any thoughts? As a very flimsy neutral supporter, I think it kills my interest in football. I am barely hanging in there even when Melbourne are playing. In terms of for the playing group, I think it probably helps the better sides more. The lower teams are often running on momentum into the last few weeks to scramble for positions. Quote
McQueen 17,867 Posted October 1, 2020 Posted October 1, 2020 The only thing I’m wishing to see in this series is for Geelong to go out in straight sets once again. Then to read the subsequent uproar from their gormless supporters (apologies to my Mum and sisters). 7 1 1 Quote
dl4e 5,851 Posted October 1, 2020 Posted October 1, 2020 I think one of Port or Brissy will go out in straight sets. Most likely port. Quote
Chook 15,070 Posted October 1, 2020 Posted October 1, 2020 My care for this footy season perished one windy evening in Cairns. 1 Quote
58er 6,872 Posted October 1, 2020 Posted October 1, 2020 18 hours ago, Demonland said: This after dropping a 30 year old. And they will be older if they recruit Higgins next year and delist Narkle!! Gary " The Litylemaster" at 35 will retire of course and prob Harry Taylor at 33/34? 1 Quote
Dame Gaga 2,453 Posted October 1, 2020 Posted October 1, 2020 Can't bring myself to pick any team. Hate them all. 1 Quote
DubDee 26,679 Posted October 1, 2020 Posted October 1, 2020 Definitely cheering on Port over the greased up arrogant Cats. They had their successful era 2007-2012. If they win more flags it’ll mean teams can trade their way to a flag which hasn’t been done before really. The hawks drafted their base of guns first remember I don’t want the AFL to get like soccer Quote
monoccular 17,760 Posted October 1, 2020 Posted October 1, 2020 Selwood remains a protected species. Umpiring surprisingly hugely favouring the visiting team. 2 Quote
McQueen 17,867 Posted October 1, 2020 Posted October 1, 2020 Not a bad game this one so far. Dangerfield with a split forehead a bonus. 2 Quote