Posted
34 minutes ago, W I S E said:

Record against teams above us: 1 win, 5 losses

Record against teams below us: 5 wins, 0 losses

Games remaining against teams above us: 1 

Games remaining against teams below us: 5

We’ll win 10+ and finish 5th.

Probably agree, although might be 4th with our improving percentage. I have a hottible feeling it might depend on the last game against the Dons - our record in that direction has not been good. Still records are there to be broken !!

Posted
1 hour ago, W I S E said:

Record against teams above us: 1 win, 5 losses

Record against teams below us: 5 wins, 0 losses

Games remaining against teams above us: 1 

Games remaining against teams below us: 5

We’ll win 10+ and finish 5th.

IMO we're not finishing any higher than 6th.

The 5 sides we lost to will finish 1-5. Don't see us passing any of them.

Posted

Carlton's win moves them up to 11th, just one win behind us (but 23%).

Their run home is GC, Collingwood, GWS, Sydney, Adelaide, Brisbane.

Makes this Friday night's GC v Carlton game huge, although GC will be going in off a 4-day break compared to Carlton's 6.

If Carlton win that, they'll be 6-6 with a flagging Collingwood, possibly done GWS, then two bottom four sides.

Don't panic...but Carlton's season is far from done. 

Posted
33 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

Carlton's win moves them up to 11th, just one win behind us (but 23%).

Their run home is GC, Collingwood, GWS, Sydney, Adelaide, Brisbane.

Makes this Friday night's GC v Carlton game huge, although GC will be going in off a 4-day break compared to Carlton's 6.

If Carlton win that, they'll be 6-6 with a flagging Collingwood, possibly done GWS, then two bottom four sides.

Don't panic...but Carlton's season is far from done. 

I’m revisiting this thread after every game nearly now which is pretty sad....

The comforting fact against Carlton and the Doggies is our excellent percentage as you stated. Basically gives us an extra win over those two. Not concerned with either.

Posted

A few days ago I said the last two spots in the 8 would most likely be claimed by the Dees, Giants or Pies.

I'm ready to put a line thru the Pies.  Reason being they can't score.  In the last 2 months Collingwood scores (in points) have been:  44, 62, 50, 49, 45, 57, 59, 48.  The compressed fixture, travel and injuries have hurt them over the last 3-4 weeks but there is no reason for the poor form in the early days of hubs. 

They had an excellent game plan/system but it has broken down and seemingly not easily fixed.  Now they don't have the players to compensate for the broken system.

On my earlier logic (post #62 in this thread) it leaves Giants and Demons as front runners for 7th and 8th.  Too much can go wrong (and my mfcss) prevents me from saying we will be in the finals.  But we are the form side of the other contenders (Bulldogs, Ess,) with a superior %'age.  Suns and Blues out of the running imv.

Finals, here we come...

Posted
7 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

On my earlier logic (post #62 in this thread) it leaves Giants and Demons as front runners for 7th and 8th.  Too much can go wrong (and my mfcss) prevents me from saying we will be in the finals.  But we are the form side of the other contenders (Bulldogs, Ess,) with a superior %'age.  Suns and Blues out of the running imv.

Finals, here we come...

Back yourself LH.

The team is confident in their footy and fitness.

Im confident we will make the finals and Jones will make it to 300 games.

(well, maybe not 100% confident about Jonesy)

Posted

Dogs Ess Freo Giants Sydney and Saints

We can win every one of those games. Not saying we will but its not that daunting. And we only play 1 team that will have had more break than us.

Momentum is huge in footy as are injuries.

We now have some belief and we have few of the other (not to curse it!) Ground advantage is minimal. So long as we keep believing in each other and keep cracking in we are a chance.

I am trying to think of the year when Port was almost unbeatable in the final quarters. We're a bit like that. We have a lot of belief thanks to Burgo.

Someone has to win this year. Why not us? And whoever wins will well and truly deserve it - as weird a season as it has been.

Posted (edited)

So we got through our horror start to the year (fixture wise) and we’re now in the patch of games where we should be considered either favourites or 50/50. I meant to write this before the pies but in a lot of ways our finals almost begin now. We can’t really afford to lose 2 more games for the year, so almost every game is considered an 8 pointer. 

Massive game for both clubs next week. 

Edited by Pates
Posted (edited)

Ess won't make finals.:cool:  They need to win at least 4.5 to 5 of their last 6 games.  Just can't see them getting enough wins with Rich, Port, Eagles, Cats in that last 6.

We need to beat them to ensure we get enough wins for the 8 but they are no longer a threat, imv.

Posted
On 8/14/2020 at 4:43 PM, Rab D Nesbitt said:

if we finish either 5th or 6th can we nominate Alice Springs as our 'home' ground ? 

I'd definitely be nominating Adelaide Oval if it were possible. Long way to go of course, but we play AO very well. 

Posted
14 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Ess won't make finals.:cool:  They need to win at least 4.5 to 5 of their last 6 games.  Just can't see them getting enough wins with Rich, Port, Eagles, Cats in that last 6.

We need to beat them to ensure we get enough wins for the 8 but they are no longer a threat, imv.

I wouldn't be writing off Collingwood just yet though, mate. Agree, it's going to be very tough for Essendon now.

Posted
46 minutes ago, A F said:

I'd definitely be nominating Adelaide Oval if it were possible. Long way to go of course, but we play AO very well. 

I’d prefer Perth Stadium. 

The Granny has to be played in Perf.

Will my GF guarantee be honoured over here? 

Posted
47 minutes ago, A F said:

Agreed AF. Even an away final against Port wouldn't bother me that much. More temperate weather down there in October too. I'd prefer to avoid a trip to WA if possible, assuming there are games there. The games up in Cairns concern me a little as the wings at Cazaly Stadium are huge. 

Posted
12 minutes ago, McQueen said:

I’d prefer Perth Stadium. 

The Granny has to be played in Perf.

Will my GF guarantee be honoured over here? 

Haha, Perth is too wide for our system. It's too MCGish. Sorry mate. SA for me.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Agreed AF. Even an away final against Port wouldn't bother me that much. More temperate weather down there in October too. I'd prefer to avoid a trip to WA if possible, assuming there are games there. The games up in Cairns concern me a little as the wings at Cazaly Stadium are huge. 

I reckon we'll drop the Freo game off that shorter break and the hotter conditions.

Posted
7 minutes ago, A F said:

I reckon we'll drop the Freo game off that shorter break and the hotter conditions.

With only 3 days recovery time between those 2 games you could be right. 

Posted
14 minutes ago, A F said:

Haha, Perth is too wide for our system. It's too MCGish. Sorry mate. SA for me.

If it’s us vs the Eagles then I’d accept that. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

With only 3 days recovery time between those 2 games you could be right. 

Hopefully there were learnings from the Port game that can get us over the line, even if we have to scrap it. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Pates said:

Hopefully there were learnings from the Port game that can get us over the line, even if we have to scrap it. 

At the very least I hope they've learnt that learnings isn't a word. It should definitely be scrapped. 

Posted

Win this week, dons lose to tigers and giants lose to eagle we essentially have a 2 game break from 9th with our good %. All very likely outcomes. 

Posted
6 hours ago, Neitas bump said:

Ladder predictor

Screenshot_20200816-104840_Chrome.jpg

Carlton is actually one team I do not want to meet in finals. They posses a clutch grit that could see them pinch a finals win against any opponent imo.