Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

POSTGAME: Rd 04 vs Geelong

Positives:

Brayshaw was back playing well

May was better

Trac continues his excellent form

Kosi wow will be great to watch for a long time

Tmac contested all day 

Hibbo good by foot and showed dash. 

Negative:

Selection still a worry for mine, Nev & Jones experience was needed against a seasoned Geel side  

Vanders looked a way off, thought he was injured because I hadn’t seen him for so long  

stupid simple decisions cost us the game

too much handball in tight  

overall: Geelong are a better team  

2 minutes ago, waynewussell said:

Hard to read the garbage! We were in the game throughout. We gave ourselves a chance to win. We were the equal of the Cats, wherever they are ranked. It was a line ball in the final minute. Posters who are keyboard assassins need to take a breath before they post the bile. WE have a very competitive group right here, and the more games they play together the better they will be. Think about how long Ablett, Selwood, Hawkins and Danger have been playing. We are tracking in the right direction. I hate the venom, the knee-jerking and the abuse that the 'supporters' show here. Grow some, and watch the game for what it is worth... a dour struggle that was oh so close!

PS: The absolute morons that keep calling for the coach to be sacked... and have been doing so since Norm Smith... YOU ARE WEAK AS...!!! 

Get real .. our defending was pathetic allowing 3-4 easy goals , were was the defending on the goal line twice??? We have invested heavily on May & lever who should be enduring this [censored] doesn’t happen .. Goodwin taking the team backwards!

Some individual commendable efforts but that's about where it begins and ends for this poorly coached rabble of potential amd known/proven talent.

The confidence and spirit of this team is very sad to watch.  Zero method.  Just too much chaos for far too long in matches.

No one playing to their strengths other than a few and a few too many to make the difference.

Coach simply has to go.   He just can't  get them firing from the get go often enough.  Almost always chasing tail during his tenure.  Last week an anomaly?

All that space coming out of our forward line in the first half was unforgiveable.  No pressure anywhere up to the middle of the ground.  They were able to work it there at will and launch inside 50 with ease.

Some hard decisions need to be made to ensure careers aren't wasted and we make finals in 2021 or even this year if the axe is brought down early enough to give the players a chance to learn a new system / style, adjust and come home with a wet sail.

The word for that is "incompetent." And the club has the gumption to ask to donate. I mean, FFS, shouldn't that mean the players put in desperate, gut-busting efforts all over the ground from siren to siren?

6 minutes ago, dee-tox said:

We are a talented team but a dumb team. Perhaps that's a reflection of our coaching?

It's not all bad though. Brayshaw, Lever, Viney and Hibberd were pretty decent. 

Kozzie will be better for the experience. Hannan better for the run. Lockhart started well but made bad errors as he got tired.

Smith played OK

The concerns are the form of Fritsch, Salem and vanders. Rivers had one he'd rather forget.

Fritsch is not strong enough to play deep. 
great summary dee tox. 

4 minutes ago, Tom Dyson said:

Love reading these post-game forums after a close loss, the demonlanders never fail to disappoint. :)

yeah it stings but there was a lot to like. 

Tmac showed glimpses, kossi looks really dangerous, backline largely performed well, Maxy went off yet again, joel smith wasn't completely putrid, tomlinson was good, harmes and viney battled away all day. clarry and gus were magnets. 

put it in perspective, we're watching our favourite team play live at the G. its not like the boys or goody want to lose, we'll be back. 

gotta keep the glass half full, onto next week. up the demons! 

Sorry your delusional. Maybe this site wouldn’t go into meltdown if we had a club to admire. It not just Goodwin it culture. It stuffed

15 minutes ago, Maldonboy38 said:

Confused inside 50

"Deer-in-the-headlights" decision making

If they have a system, it is impossible to recognise.

And the MFC standard - handballing to a stationary team mate. 

God that was frustrating. 

2 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

As a football club we should learn from this - and sack Goodwin.

I wonder if we're sunk Chook.

How do we afford a new coach and pay out Goody?

I think the murderer will be more than happy to see our club fold or be relegated.

How can a brand of football like this bring in crowds or ratings.

Clearly need to play  two tall key forwards and make them stretch just like they did to us today.

We are missing another key back. That will leave Lever to intercept the position that suits him best. Oscar and Weid or Brown would have been handy. If THEY ARE NOT INJURED WHY NOT PLAY THEM. It is simple it is called team balance. 

Please Goody if you need to,   just call me on 555 55555 . 

Just now, Grr-owl said:

The word for that is "incompetent." And the club has the gumption to ask to donate. I mean, FFS, shouldn't that mean the players put in desperate, gut-busting efforts all over the ground from siren to siren?

Yet again, effort wasn’t in question for me. It comes down to system or lack thereof, particularly going forward.

Tomlinson was .. not good. Could've sworn he was going to redeem himself on that last kick, but alas.

Such a frustrating game, we looked the better side but couldn't get the cohesion upfront. It's going to be a painful year of building consistency again.

Goodwin please don't make 5 changes again. The players looked [censored] off so hopefully that channels to a more competitive game against the Swans next week.

[censored]

That was worse than pathetic.. horrible performance, simply arrogant coaching, and a lack of thought from players. SO angry.

Smith is not up to it, Salem has regressed, and what is a Harmes? thats just 3 players.. but my god that was slop. 

2 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said:

We will win the next 2. Think Weid comes in next week

We play like that and get coached like that today we wont win a game.

The sad thing is with the talent we have & the average age of the group we should have players not only in their prime but a team fighting for a top 4 spot. At least with Adelaide you know their starting their rebuilding phase.

This club has no direction & no identity. Maybe it’s time to give Roosy a call & asks if he wants his old job back.