Posted

7pm on Fox Footy. Think Jako kicks 11?

• Author

Have never seen this before. Might have to record Wrestlemania 28 on ESPN at the same time.

Edited by Clintosaurus

Wow--eee can't wait..........Jackalenko you beauty !

Ahh yes I remember this day well. Watching the Ch7 Feed live, back at The ABC with Alex First

We had to cut the Highlights Package for the 7pm News. I think i just put in Jacko’s 11 goals and him getting reported!!

Extraodinary day. And then later that night Daicos kicked 12 up in Brisvegas 

I was filthy. We had been overshadowed again!!

Amazing how our club couldn’t win a flag with so many multiple goal kickers during that era of the early 90s with Jackovich,Schwarz,Lyon  who were on fire in 94

How good was that .  Found myself wiping away a tear after Jacka goaled with a banana after the 3/4 time siren .  It was bizarre that one of my least fav players , Simon Eishold , played considerably better than champs such as Carey and Lyon .

11 goals , nine behinds. 20 shots at goal is mind blowing really. And a lot of them on one of the best lockdown defenders of the time in Martyn. Hard to fully enjoy it without feeling how tragic it was that his career was cut so short. 

Andrew Obst. What a terrific player. Nice going down memory lane.

Pity his career ended so short. Add in Scwarta's knee problems and can just imagine if they both stayed fit and healthy.

Two things from this game other than his goals were did he got off the report and how good was Stynes.

3 hours ago, Docs Demons said:

Pity his career ended so short. Add in Scwarta's knee problems and can just imagine if they both stayed fit and healthy.

Two things from this game other than his goals were did he got off the report and how good was Stynes.

He got a week i think ? 

I was at this game and every Demon supporter was in exhilaration.  

Jakovich is the most exciting player that I have seen in the red and blue.  He brought fans to the game. He excited young and old.  My late father thought he was incredible.  He’d jump up every time Jakovich got the ball.  It was such a shame that his body (and perhaps his attitude) didn’t allow him to play more.  He was a sensation.  

Yes, he was a gun, pity only for a few years. He was just electric in that game, and so often would just go get the ball, rarely put on a plate for him.

It would be brilliant to find another player like him!!

14 hours ago, Wells 11 said:

11 goals , nine behinds. 20 shots at goal is mind blowing really. And a lot of them on one of the best lockdown defenders of the time in Martyn. Hard to fully enjoy it without feeling how tragic it was that his career was cut so short. 

Truly amazing wasn't it? 

It was always a possibility when going to watch him play...you didn't know if he would kick 10 goals 1 or 1 goal 10.  Either way it was his ability to make something out of nothing.  As Drew Morphett said at one point 20 possessions as a full forward doesn't happen. 

Jakovich was awesome  even before coming to Melbourne. I was living in SA the year before he was drafted to the Dees.

There were 2 gun full forwards in the SANfl. Scott Hodges was playing for Port Adelaide, who were premiers that year, kicked 100+ goals. He had the benefit of a dominant midfield.

Jako played for Woodville who finished bottom. He also kicked 100+ goals in what was basically a team making up the numbers. It was an amazing effort. I was elated when he was drafted to the Demons.

I travelled over to Melbourne for this game against North, and saw one of the most incredible displays of forward play. 20 scoring shots - what a star!

22 hours ago, Demonland said:

If you want to skip to all of Jakovich’s scoring shots then watch here. 

Thanks for posting!  A great watch on a cold winter’s saturday.  The game is so different now, probably better viewing back then.  Tough as blazes, too.  What a great Demons team - I wonder how they would fare in the modern world?  

• Author

The Wiz kicking 9 in a half is on Fox at 7.30

On 5/9/2020 at 12:48 PM, george_on_the_outer said:

Truly amazing wasn't it? 

It was always a possibility when going to watch him play...you didn't know if he would kick 10 goals 1 or 1 goal 10.  Either way it was his ability to make something out of nothing.  As Drew Morphett said at one point 20 possessions as a full forward doesn't happen. 

"Possessions" was not really Jako's kind of stat. That day his 11.8 came from 22 kicks and 0 handballs. I reckon those 3 non-scoring kicks would have been well represented by oob's on the full. His approach to his teammates seemed to be: why give off when you can have a ping yourself? 

I looked at the AFL stats site for that year and  in 14 games he kicked 71.57 for the year, with 10 handballs for the season. And 3 tackles! The handballs were probably mistakes or handballs to himself.

A truly exciting footballer. The thought of seeing him strut his stuff gave Dees fans an extra buzz approaching the ground. A flawed but hugely talented player.

Edited by Tim

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

Featured Content

• CASEY: Sydney

The Casey Demons were always expected to emerge victorious in their matchup against the lowly-ranked Sydney Swans at picturesque Tramway Oval, situated in the shadows of the SCG in Moore Park. They dominated the proceedings in the opening two and a half quarters of the game but had little to show for it. This was primarily due to their own sloppy errors in a low-standard game that produced a number of crowded mauls reminiscent of the rugby game popular in old Sydney Town. However, when the Swans tired, as teams often do when they turn games into ugly defensive contests, Casey lifted the standard of its own play and … it was off to the races. Not to nearby Randwick but to a different race with an objective of piling on goal after goal on the way to a mammoth victory. At the 25-minute mark of the third quarter, the Demons held a slender 14-point lead over the Swans, who are ahead on the ladder of only the previous week's opposition, the ailing Bullants. Forty minutes later, they had more than fully compensated for the sloppiness of their earlier play with a decisive 94-point victory, that culminated in a rousing finish which yielded thirteen unanswered goals. Kicks hit their targets, the ball found itself going through the middle and every player made a contribution.

• 1 reply
  • REPORT: St. Kilda

Hands up if you thought, like me, at half-time in yesterday’s game at TIO Traeger Park, Alice Springs that Melbourne’s disposal around the ground and, in particular, its kicking inaccuracy in front of the goals couldn’t get any worse. Well, it did. And what’s even more damning for the Melbourne Football Club is that the game against St Kilda and its resurgence from the bottomless pit of its miserable start to the season wasn’t just lost through poor conversion for goal but rather in the 15 minutes when the entire team went into a slumber and was mugged by the out-of-form Saints. Their six goals two behinds (one goal less than the Demons managed for the whole game) weaved a path of destruction from which they were unable to recover. Ross Lyon’s astute use of pressure to contain the situation once they had asserted their grip on the game, and Melbourne’s self-destructive wastefulness, assured that outcome. The old adage about the insanity of repeatedly doing something and expecting a different result, was out there. Two years ago, the score line in Melbourne’s loss to the Giants at this same ground was 5 goals 15 behinds - a ratio of one goal per four scoring shots - was perfectly replicated with yesterday’s 7 goals 21 behinds. 
    This has been going on for a while and opens up a number of questions. I’ll put forward a few that come to mind from this performance. The obvious first question is whether the club can find a suitable coach to instruct players on proper kicking techniques or is this a skill that can no longer be developed at this stage of the development of our playing group? Another concern is the team's ability to counter an opponent's dominance during a run on as exemplified by the Saints in the first quarter. Did the Demons underestimate their opponents, considering St Kilda's goals during this period were scored by relatively unknown forwards? Furthermore, given the modest attendance of 6,721 at TIO Traeger Park and the team's poor past performances at this venue, is it prudent to prioritize financial gain over potentially sacrificing valuable premiership points by relinquishing home ground advantage, notwithstanding the cultural significance of the team's connection to the Red Centre? 

• 4 replies
  • PREGAME: Collingwood

After a disappointing loss in Alice Springs the Demons return to the MCG to take on the Magpies in the annual King's Birthday Big Freeze for MND game. Who comes in and who goes out?

• 171 replies
  • PODCAST: St. Kilda

The Demonland Podcast will air LIVE on Monday, 2nd June @ 8:00pm. Join Binman, George & I as we have a chat with former Demon ruckman Jeff White about his YouTube channel First Use where he dissects ruck setups and contests. We'll then discuss the Dees disappointing loss to the Saints in Alice Springs.
    Your questions and comments are a huge part of our podcast so please post anything you want to ask or say below and we'll give you a shout out on the show.
    Listen LIVE: https://demonland.com/

• Thanks
    • 46 replies
  • POSTGAME: St. Kilda

After kicking the first goal of the match the Demons were always playing catch up against the Saints in Alice Spring and could never make the most of their inside 50 entries to wrestle back the lead.

• 328 replies
  • VOTES: St. Kilda

Max Gawn still has a massive lead in the Demonland Player of the Year award as Christian Petracca, Jake Bowey, Clayton Oliver & Kozzy Pickett round out the Top 5. Your votes please. 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 & 1

• Sad
    • 31 replies