RalphiusMaximus 6,112 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 Just now, rjay said: Dumb and all as it was... It was better than the first game against Port where we stood by and watched Max cop it from them without a whimper. At least we had some passion in the game and Jones was supporting a teammate. If I had my choice I would take this. Especially since we won ? 2 Quote
JTR 2,910 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 (edited) Sorry if a re-post. Just saw it on Reddit. Playing with fire! Edited June 22, 2019 by JTR 13 2 27 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,458 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 1 minute ago, rjay said: Dumb and all as it was... It was better than the first game against Port where we stood by and watched Max cop it from them without a whimper. At least we had some passion in the game and Jones was supporting a teammate. If I had my choice I would take this. Not when a Goal is about to be kicked, you don’t. 3 Quote
Jara 1,153 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 Enjoying lovely warm train home. We can still make the finals! Quote
Devil In Disguise 2,284 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 Here's a first. Clayton Oliver had more kicks than handpasses.? 11 5 Quote
praha 11,267 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 1 minute ago, Jara said: Enjoying lovely warm train home. We can still make the finals! Mathematically. Quote
Dr.D 1,771 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 good to get a win despite the season being finished weeks ago. overall skill level is very poor and needs to improve. Quote
RalphiusMaximus 6,112 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 Just now, praha said: Mathematically. A mathematical chance is still a chance. ? 1 Quote
Big Carl 333 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 47 minutes ago, chook fowler said: Apart from the obvious good players I loved Frosts game, especially in the second half. Will be a weapon in combo with May and Lever. Agree. Frost is under rated. 3 Quote
ding 5,126 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 (edited) https://www.melbournefc.com.au/video/2019-06-22/team-song-melbourne And didnt they mean it !!! Edited June 22, 2019 by ding 2 Quote
Beetle 4,739 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 And just as the sky is blue....we win a game when I can’t attend. Christ almighty. Replay going on now with alcohol. Kids muzzled. 3 1 Quote
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 Told ya so!!!! Hope the maid hasn’t heard the score- she’ll be well hidden by the time I get back to The Manor BTW. Who was that new player wearing number 25 1 2 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,681 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 5 minutes ago, rjay said: Dumb and all as it was... It was better than the first game against Port where we stood by and watched Max cop it from them without a whimper. At least we had some passion in the game and Jones was supporting a teammate. If I had my choice I would take this. Against 21 other players it's a couple of men clashing shoulders, standing their grounds. Despicable from Walters. Start a melee, head but someone, dive. Awful sequence of events. Jones should be smarter but it wasn't as bad as it looked. 6 Quote
Billy 2,576 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 53 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: Sydney were 3 men down against West Coast and won. Enjoy the win mate. Some supporters don’t know how to enjoy it Quote
Adam The God 30,742 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 We really ground that one out well. We were utterly hopeless at times in the first half and a bit, but finally got our act together lead by Oliver and Gawn. Lockhart is a gem too. The cleanest first year player in a Melbourne jumper since Oliver started. Makes the right decisions and FCS, kicks to the advantage of his other forwards. Steven May's game, in particular, his last ten minutes, was instrumental. He's going to be a beauty for us. Can't wait to get Lever back in there next to him. Our midfield's defensive transition still needs so much work. We get cut up far too easily. If there's one player that was emblematic of today's game it was Tom McDonald. Untidy, a game littered with often terrible decision making and skill execution, but finally managed to get things working in the last quarter and a bit. Some will point to the fact that he was one of our leading disposal getters all day, which is true, but he was laughable in the first half. It was great to see him turn it around in the last though. Hopefully this is a sign of things to come. Finally, it was interesting to note how many uncontested possessions we had today. I wonder if it's a hint at a new direction? I'd like to see us switch it a whole lot more. May's penetrating kicking will be helpful in this respect. 3 3 Quote
btdemon 482 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 10 minutes ago, david_neitz_is_my_dad said: Tom McDonald found form, if he got no goals we lose. He won us the game. He also nearly lost us the game with his horrible field kicking and resultant turnovers. Quote
Graeme Yeats' Mullet 6,794 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 9 minutes ago, Return to Glory said: Just of late, Petracca seems to have developed a footy IQ. I've been negative about him for a little while now but there are small signs in regards to getting into the right spot, making smart decisions and not trying to do too much in possession. He's always had it, along with core strength and physical presence. He's a real bullock around contests He was just struggling to find his confidence and rhythm but has put several games together now which is great 3 Quote
John Crow Batty 8,893 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 (edited) Despite the rashness of the timing of Jones bump on Walters it was good to see some angry stuff from him. Sorely lacking all season. We never looked back from it afterwards. Wanting to see some of that stuff from our leaders every game. Good game from Viney too. Some of the sting from the recent criticism has caused an itch that needed a vigorous scratching. Edited June 22, 2019 by america de cali 1 Quote
Watts the matter 1,235 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 Free kick against Jones for knocking over a flopper, why was there a 50 meter pentalty? 3 1 Quote
Sorry kids 635 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 Great for all the players, coaches and supporters to get a win. My wishes now are to win as many as we can, pretty obvious, but to also find four players for the year. It looks like we found May, Hore and Lockhart so far. Like to see at least one more put themselves forward for .next year. 1 Quote
Billy 2,576 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 Forget Jeffry & Lockhart’s the one, really clean with ball in hand and great pressure 3 Quote
don cordner4 55 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 refer to umpires hate melbourne thread 2 Quote
Graeme Yeats' Mullet 6,794 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 4 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said: Told ya so!!!! Hope the maid hasn’t heard the score- she’ll be well hidden by the time I get back to The Manor BTW. Who was that new player wearing number 25 Picked him up in the 3QT Draft 5 1 5 Quote
Monocology 1,109 Posted June 22, 2019 Posted June 22, 2019 23 minutes ago, binman said: Petty was excellent This pleases me greatly. Missed game due to a wave & sunshine feast on Sunshine Coast, replay, hamburger & beer will wrap day up. 1 1 Quote