Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 Lockhart and C. Wagner showed a bit. Sadly this is 2007 all over again, finals are pretty much out of the question now. It’s not the losses or even how we are losing it’s how we are playing that means season over. 3 1 Quote
Skuit 10,031 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 We looked the goods when Tomald was off the field. 5 Quote
david_neitz_is_my_dad 4,084 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 Sky has well and truely fallen 1 Quote
Wrecker45 3,381 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 I’m not saying we were great but it makes it tough when you get slaughtered by the umpiring 11 1 1 Quote
PJ_12345 1,098 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 Im so disappointed. It seems to me that the game has passed us by. - too many players going for 1 ball (an issue last year) - not enough spreading (an issue last year) - mass inside 50s which clearly is a quality vs. quantity issue - poor forward pressure - zone defence when the game's 6v6v6 format advantages 1on1 - poor kicks from defence to 40m when clubs are taking advantage of new rules to 60m The stock is there, but the strategy isnt. Really poor coaching. We've lost a prelim, 2 JLTs and 3 2019 games... thats 6 in a row. What have we done to change? Never thought we'd be 3 rounds in and #18. 9 Quote
YesitwasaWin4theAges 6,830 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 (edited) [censored] Deesgrace [censored] off Misson Edited April 5, 2019 by Win4theAges 1 Quote
Ungarie boy 233 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 We were bad Bombers actually worse Umpires absolutely atrocious 7 1 1 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,863 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 (edited) forget finals, the real battle is going to be not 'winning' the wooden spoon Edited April 5, 2019 by whatwhatsaywhat Quote
Chook 15,069 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 Glad I swapped my tip to the dons last minute. I will be tipping against the Demons ardently forever until convinced otherwise. My lord, it's like the Melbourne Footy Club died that day last year at Optus Stadium. RIP my team. Quote
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 Been a while since I felt this flat. I'm not panicking yet, but I couldn't feel any flatter. Just an awful feeling. The bottom line for me is the gameplan, which is what many of us discussed last week. Yes, ANB should be dropped, Frost and O Mac were putrid pretty much most of the night and we have others like Hibberd and Tom Mac who are horribly out of form. They are are small pieces of the puzzle right now. But the ease with which opposition teams are scoring against us right now is alarming. In that third term the Bombers kicked 7 straight from roughly 12 inside 50s at one stage. This is horribly similar to what the Cats did in the third term last week. Every time they ran forward they looked like scoring and we did absolutely nothing about it. When you have McKernan and Tippa kicking 4, you know you're in deep trouble. We simply made the same mistakes last week and we paid dearly for it. How often did we turn it over at half forward and they hit a couple of over the top handballs and ran off with the ball? How can we let that happen? Are the instructions wrong, or do we have players at the moment who simply aren't putting them into practice? The pressure is on, now. Goody had a week to rectify things and he didn't. Thankfully the Bombers are rubbish as a half decent side would have probably beaten us by more. If there are any positives, it's that we seemed to lower our eyes a little better this week, but we still allowed the ball to get out too easily. Gawny wasn't bad, Gus tried hard and I thought some of the lesser lights like Lockhart and Corey Wagner did some good things. But we have nowhere to hide now. The season is slipping out of our grasp and we have very little time to get back into it. It seems hollow for me to say, but don't lose the faith. 11 1 1 Quote
Fork 'em 7,052 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 (edited) We fair dinkum need Benny Hill music when we play. Especially Frost and Omac. Edited April 5, 2019 by Fork 'em 3 3 Quote
YesitwasaWin4theAges 6,830 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 (edited) Absolute lowest point losing to these drug mules. Welcome to Hell ladies and gentlemen. Edited April 5, 2019 by Win4theAges 1 Quote
What 18,810 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 How will our team of snowflakes handle all the mean tweets this week? Weak as [censored]. 3 2 Quote
DSP 1,488 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 Blame the umps all you want. We were in a winable position YET AGAIN and rolled over. Zero leadership. Zero accountability. Reality is we are 0-3, bottom of the ladder. 1 1 Quote
Deesprate 1,324 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 1 minute ago, Wiseblood said: Been a while since I felt this flat. I'm not panicking yet, but I couldn't feel any flatter. Just an awful feeling. The bottom line for me is the gameplan, which is what many of us discussed last week. Yes, ANB should be dropped, Frost and O Mac were putrid pretty much most of the night and we have others like Hibberd and Tom Mac who are horribly out of form. They are are small pieces of the puzzle right now. But the ease with which opposition teams are scoring against us right now is alarming. In that third term the Bombers kicked 7 straight from roughly 12 inside 50s at one stage. This is horribly similar to what the Cats did in the third term last week. Every time they ran forward they looked like scoring and we did absolutely nothing about it. When you have McKernan and Tippa kicking 4, you know you're in deep trouble. We simply made the same mistakes last week and we paid dearly for it. How often did we turn it over at half forward and they hit a couple of over the top handballs and ran off with the ball? How can we let that happen? Are the instructions wrong, or do we have players at the moment who simply aren't putting them into practice? The pressure is on, now. Goody had a week to rectify things and he didn't. Thankfully the Bombers are rubbish as a half decent side would have probably beaten us by more. If there are any positives, it's that we seemed to lower our eyes a little better this week, but we still allowed the ball to get out too easily. Gawny wasn't bad, Gus tried hard and I thought some of the lesser lights like Lockhart and Corey Wagner did some good things. But we have nowhere to hide now. The season is slipping out of our grasp and we have very little time to get back into it. It seems hollow for me to say, but don't lose the faith. I lost the faith in 1965 2 Quote
bing181 9,473 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 Improvements in areas that needed improvement - back to scoring decent amounts again, 18 goals. But ... back line. Just not happening at the moment. Petty for Frost? Only getting one game out of the first five for Steven May isn't ideal either. 2 Quote
Red But Mostly Blue 4,632 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 It's possible that we're not bad... ... maybe we're just TANKING?!!? 1 2 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,342 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 Season done. Need a huge overhaulrichmind 2016. Some heads need roll. Misson has started that off and Troy Chaplin is next! 3 Quote
Ante_Up 69 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 1 minute ago, Fork 'em said: We fair dinkum need Benny Hill music. Especially Frost and Omac. I do have yakety sax at hand shall I post 1 Quote
—coach— 3,496 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 1 minute ago, Wiseblood said: Been a while since I felt this flat. I'm not panicking yet, but I couldn't feel any flatter. Just an awful feeling. The bottom line for me is the gameplan, which is what many of us discussed last week. Yes, ANB should be dropped, Frost and O Mac were putrid pretty much most of the night and we have others like Hibberd and Tom Mac who are horribly out of form. They are are small pieces of the puzzle right now. But the ease with which opposition teams are scoring against us right now is alarming. In that third term the Bombers kicked 7 straight from roughly 12 inside 50s at one stage. This is horribly similar to what the Cats did in the third term last week. Every time they ran forward they looked like scoring and we did absolutely nothing about it. When you have McKernan and Tippa kicking 4, you know you're in deep trouble. We simply made the same mistakes last week and we paid dearly for it. How often did we turn it over at half forward and they hit a couple of over the top handballs and ran off with the ball? How can we let that happen? Are the instructions wrong, or do we have players at the moment who simply aren't putting them into practice? The pressure is on, now. Goody had a week to rectify things and he didn't. Thankfully the Bombers are rubbish as a half decent side would have probably beaten us by more. If there are any positives, it's that we seemed to lower our eyes a little better this week, but we still allowed the ball to get out too easily. Gawny wasn't bad, Gus tried hard and I thought some of the lesser lights like Lockhart and Corey Wagner did some good things. But we have nowhere to hide now. The season is slipping out of our grasp and we have very little time to get back into it. It seems hollow for me to say, but don't lose the faith. I always admire your positivity Wise but... BURMA, BURMA, BURMA, BURMA, BURMA, BURMA, [censored] BURMA!!! 1 1 Quote
olisik 4,060 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 Jones needs to relinquish captaincy. We aren’t going anywhere with him at the helm. 4 Quote
Deestroy All 14,266 Posted April 5, 2019 Posted April 5, 2019 Has ANB done anything beneficial for the team in 240 minutes of football? Him and Frost, [censored] me I’ve rarely seen 2 more useless players. Then there’s the defensive setup. Whoever is in charge of that... did they have a ceremony where they took out all of Paul Roos’ notebooks and shat all over them just to really ram home the point? Just embarrassing, you feel the easy score coming no matter where on the field the opposition gets the ball. We let one of the worst teams in the comp score 130 [censored] points. And Essendon should be embarrassed that they let the worst team score 112. 10 Quote