Meanwhile . . . down at Glenferrie Road . . . .

Posted

The Hawthorn behaviour starts at the very top. I watched Clarkson’s post game presser. A poor loser indeed. Gave Melbourne credit but you could tell he didn’t mean it. 

Posted
7 hours ago, Win4theAges said:

and to think we got a compo pick at number 3 (Petracca) Hahahahahaahahaga.????????????????????????????????????

When Packer sold channel 9 to Bondy he called it the deal of the century. The Frawley deal was Melbourne Packer moment.

Posted
9 hours ago, Colin B. Flaubert said:

No different to how the resident nuffies would have carried on if we had lost.

Yeah, but we would do it with absolute aplomb and a tad more class than those over entitled flggggs at Glenferrie.

Posted
46 minutes ago, Deevout said:

The Hawthorn behaviour starts at the very top. I watched Clarkson’s post game presser. A poor loser indeed. Gave Melbourne credit but you could tell he didn’t mean it. 

Yeah, I did notice his presser seemed a tad salty. I get it would be hard for him after a loss, but they all have extensive media training and Clarko could have been better in that moment

Deep down I think Clarko thought they would win it, I think he is grappling with the fact that the next generation of good teams don't include Hawthorn! 

Posted (edited)

An added bonus from last night was the look on Kennets face towards the end. He looked like the school yard bully that had met his match. Priceless

Edited by chook fowler
Posted
8 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

An added bonus from last night was the look on Kennets face towards the end. He looked like the school yard bully that had met his match. Priceless

Hopefully thoughts of the 1999 'unloseable' election came flooding back...

Very unpleasant individual.

Posted
8 hours ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Appalling behaviour by their fans in M6 tonight. I’m still to calm down from the abuse hurled at us, kids included. The Dees fans in M5 stood up for us, bloody unreal support!!! 

As a Father to 2 very young kids it makes my blood that people stoop this low.

I`ve got to say though, I went out and partied hard in Richmond last night, Dees fans everywhere. I would have spoken to at least a dozen different Hawks fans and every single one of them took it well, was complimentary about The Dees and all hoped we go on to win the flag.

I`ve always considered them as arrogant, bandwagon student w@nker type supporters, but I was totally surprised by how well they took it!

Posted
1 hour ago, Deesprate said:

When Packer sold channel 9 to Bondy he called it the deal of the century. The Frawley deal was Melbourne Packer moment.

Deal of the Century, love it!!!?????????????????????

Posted

I expected a larger contingent of Smugthorn supporters there last night and thought the support would be closer to 50/50 but we, overwhelmingly, had the crowd. Unbelievable support for the Dees, I was fortunate enough to get a pass in to the rooms after the game and they were all up and about.

Jonsey's brothers were both there and absolutely stoked for Nat.

Posted
Just now, Dante said:

I expected a larger contingent of Smugthorn supporters there last night and thought the support would be closer to 50/50 but we, overwhelmingly, had the crowd. Unbelievable support for the Dees, I was fortunate enough to get a pass in to the rooms after the game and they were all up and about.

Jonsey's brothers were both there and absolutely stoked for Nat.

U lucki bastard. 

Posted
5 hours ago, Sydney Pennski said:

I think whoever wrote that might be on to something. Their game style would probably work against most teams but not in the pressure cooker of the finals. 

When they were desperate to catch up they held onto the ball for too long and allowed our defence to set up and counter them. It reminded me of past days when Demon fans would complain that we had no Plan B.

I think there plan b needs o'mera, he was a huge out for them, the outside game was what they had left with the cattle they had. We beat a very good team tonight

Posted

David king was talking up the hawks having  58 marks in the first half, saying the hawks should have had a good first half lead. Calls him self a footy  analyst, what he failed to analyse was most of those marks were dinky-di 15 meter kicks mostly in the back half  causing no damage, most of our marks where from long kicks in the front half causing maximum damage. Easy to rack up the marks with kicks back and across, 15 meter away. Really  Clarkson said the media where a bunch of sheep, so are lots of posters, thinking that the coach can come up with some magical tactic to win, he came up with nothing new just the same old safe gameplan he has always had.

Posted
4 hours ago, Win4theAges said:

Deal of the Century, love it!!!?????????????????????

“You only meet one Alan Bond in a lifetime”

Posted
4 minutes ago, radar said:

“You only meet one Alan Bond in a lifetime”

I was working at GTV 9 when that deal was done. Long time employees were laughing, as Kerry always planned to buy it back...!

Posted
1 hour ago, don't make me angry said:

David king was talking up the hawks having  58 marks in the first half, saying the hawks should have had a good first half lead. Calls him self a footy  analyst, what he failed to analyse was most of those marks were dinky-di 15 meter kicks mostly in the back half  causing no damage, most of our marks where from long kicks in the front half causing maximum damage. Easy to rack up the marks with kicks back and across, 15 meter away. Really  Clarkson said the media where a bunch of sheep, so are lots of posters, thinking that the coach can come up with some magical tactic to win, he came up with nothing new just the same old safe gameplan he has always had.

You gotta have the cattle to implement a finals winning structure, Hawthorn are on the way down at an Alarming rate.

Burgoyne finished, Rough finished, Frawley the spud finished, Puopolo finished, Birchall finished, Henderson finished.

The amount of spuds they have managed to amass is laughable eg. Worpedo, Impey, Duryea, Mirra, Whitecross, Nash, Hardwick.

If they are smart they trade out Bruest, Smith, Shields, Gunston or McEvoy only players with currency.

They'll be down their for a very very long time and i hope we rip them to shreds in the years to come and they remember the night where the tables were turned.

Posted
1 hour ago, don't make me angry said:

David King lives and dies by the stats. It's why he couldn't really coach. All he can do is Nostradamus-ize based on the stats. When it doesn't work he forgets about it. When it works, he brings it up at every chance.

He's been on the Dees all year based on our stats though, so you've gotta give him that.

Posted

And last year Chook.

He just said that if we allow Eagles the same sort of easy marking possessions as we let Hawthron they will beat us, but if we play the game on our terms then different story. 

Its not like he is backing the Eagles, just said they will punish us more than the Hawks did if we allow them that space and time to hit up targets.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Chook said:

David King lives and dies by the stats. It's why he couldn't really coach. All he can do is Nostradamus-ize based on the stats. When it doesn't work he forgets about it. When it works, he brings it up at every chance.

He's been on the Dees all year based on our stats though, so you've gotta give him that.

Stats give you access to numerous sides of the story but they don't tell you the full story on some occasions. 

Last night was one of those occasions, We were poo in the 2nd Quarter and got away with it.

In all the key stat areas throughout the year, the Dees were either #1 or #2 ranked, either way you look at it we deserve to be in a Prelim.

Posted
34 minutes ago, Win4theAges said:

Stats give you access to numerous sides of the story but they don't tell you the full story on some occasions. 

Last night was one of those occasions, We were poo in the 2nd Quarter and got away with it.

In all the key stat areas throughout the year, the Dees were either #1 or #2 ranked, either way you look at it we deserve to be in a Prelim.

At the game it felt like the Hawks deserved to be 2-4 from their opportunities in the 2nd; our defense was rock-solid. 

Yes they blew some big chances, but kicking behinds is not always bad luck. It's often a fault in entry or a deliberate strategy from the opposition. Hawthorn's entries weren't clean and our defense was as good as it has been all year IMO.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Chook said:

At the game it felt like the Hawks deserved to be 2-4 from their opportunities in the 2nd; our defense was rock-solid. 

Yes they blew some big chances, but kicking behinds is not always bad luck. It's often a fault in entry or a deliberate strategy from the opposition. Hawthorn's entries weren't clean and our defense was as good as it has been all year IMO.

Correct our Defence was immense, we absorbed alot of pressure in the 2nd.

Posted

Game style of two Clubs, possibly three, far superior to the rest. Ask 15 Coaches

Posted

I reckon the game as gone past the hawks game style. If you try and do that against good teams you risk turn overs, so you basically need a team of elite kicks which they don’t have