View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Bye Round 11 - Non MFC Games

Posted

Just entering my tips for this round and thought there's actually a few that could go either way (as per normal).

Will the GCS bounce back and cause an upset against the Eagles?

Can North beat Richmond or does anyone really GAF?

Also think the Freo vs Pies game is a tough one to call but I've gone with the Dockers.

My tips in bold:

Thursday, June 1
Port Adelaide vs. Hawthorn (AO) (N)
Friday, June 2
Geelong Cats vs. Adelaide Crows (SS) (N)
Saturday, June 3
Gold Coast SUNS vs. West Coast Eagles (MS)
GWS GIANTS vs.
Essendon (SP) (T)
North Melbourne vs. Richmond (ES) (N)
Sunday, June 4
Fremantle vs. Collingwood (DS) (T)

Regardless of any outcomes, we have a long weekend in WA and I'll be wetting a few lines with my young bloke and enjoying the time not spent thinking about the Demons.

This bye round is therapeutic.

Some really interesting games.  

Port losing would be good as we'd be a game behind them.. but the Hawks would then be on equal points with us.

Same goes for the Kangas Richmond games, and Freo Collingwood games. 

Reckon the Suns can beat the Eagles.   Gold Coast home game and Josh Kennedy is out.  That would really open up the 8 even further.

GWS please belt Essendon into submission.

Quite a few of what we traditionally call 8 point games there including a few, (Port v Hawthorn) that could for example be almost season ending for one or more of the teams.

I like the Thursday night games. Would love it if our "for sale" home games could be Thursday FTA games.

Edited by Diamond_Jim

Am putting aside all my biases and just hoping all the sides currently in the 8 get beaten (with Geelong beating Adelaide so as to lessen the probability of Crows home finals).  I still haven't given up a top four finish for the Dees but we'd want to get a ruckman back (as well as Hogan) pretty promptly and get on our bike!

58 minutes ago, Copuchas said:

Am putting aside all my biases and just hoping all the sides currently in the 8 get beaten (with Geelong beating Adelaide so as to lessen the probability of Crows home finals).  I still haven't given up a top four finish for the Dees but we'd want to get a ruckman back (as well as Hogan) pretty promptly and get on our bike!

Pulling in all of my biases, I like your thinking. We sneak into the top 4 vs a top seeded Simmonds Stadium side that has been undefeated in 2nd half of year and proceed to maul them at the G and win by 50. (Shades of 00 v Kangas)

GWS destroys the Crows, and the Crows limp off to a home loss against the Dogs. We play the Dogs in an epic prelim tussle that sees Hogan kick a goal after the siren to win it for us.

GWS easily dispense with the Cats at home.

Melb v GWS - Heavy weight battle Number 1. It's like the Cavs v GSW every year. We have Lebron Oliver and they have a manufactured super-team

Reaches for the tissue

Edited by DominatrixTyson

5 hours ago, McQueen said:

Regardless of any outcomes, we have a long weekend in WA and I'll be wetting a few lines with my young bloke and enjoying the time not spent thinking about the Demons.

This bye round is therapeutic.

I'm taking the mrs out for a few drinks this weekend! Booked the babysitter in

She asked where did this come from??

hasnt figured out its the bye round yet :-)

1 hour ago, DominatrixTyson said:

Pulling in all of my biases, I like your thinking. We sneak into the top 4 vs a top seeded Simmonds Stadium side that has been undefeated in 2nd half of year and proceed to maul them at the G and win by 50. (Shades of 00 v Kangas)

GWS destroys the Crows, and the Crows limp off to a home loss against the Dogs. We play the Dogs in an epic prelim tussle that sees Hogan kick a goal after the siren to win it for us.

GWS easily dispense with the Cats at home.

Melb v GWS - Heavy weight battle Number 1. It's like the Cavs v GSW every year. We have Lebron Oliver and they have a manufactured super-team

Reaches for the tissue

yeah... but how does it end ?

Trying to remember the year but it was in the early days of the odd number of teams thus giving each team a bye at different times of the year. We were red hot up to the bye and then barely won a match after the bye. Somehow because other teams below us also lost we managed to stay in the final five or six. Hope this bye sees the start of red hot stretch but somehow MFCSS prevents me from being too confident until I see those five W's in a row.

Edited by Diamond_Jim

1 minute ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Should be good for some LOL's and headless chook moments.

Or watch him get a few early touches so the usual crowd can lament the trade and condemn the FD for ever getting rid of him.

Toumpas isn't going to make it as an afl player. He has no contested game still. 

Toumpas is awful. Threw the ball onto the foot and went straight to Hawthorn. His positioning is awful and his teammates blatantly ignore him.

It's gunna be a long night especially when the commentators continually bark on about the "time remaining" when Dixon is shooting for goal. 

We know what happened last week get over it and move on please. 

8 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Hey Demons. Look at Port. 

This is how you play the 1st Quarter...

Do we actually play first quarters?

Brooce doesn't need Cyrrrrilll - he has Poppppy!

This is just delightful.

How did we lose to this rabble? 

Ah well. They're going nowhere for a little while, which is great.

10 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

If I could choose the way I want the Dees to play, it is how Port are playing in the first quarter. Aggressive, lots of run from half back, a power forward in control of the 50m arc, some seriously great decision making, and A+ skills. I love watching footy played this well, especially against the Hawks.

31 minutes ago, ProDee said:

Anyone think Clarkson will walk back to his hotel room tonight :)

He might do so at half time now.

Gee wiz how good does Ryder look at the minute, he is a big key for Port. 

5 minutes ago, monoccular said:

Do we actually play first quarters?

Brooce doesn't need Cyrrrrilll - he has Poppppy!

Bruce is cringeworthy

Dennis please come back

16 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Personally, I like the thrill of the comeback.

Edited by Ethan Tremblay