Posted

IDIOT !!!  :huh:

Posted
5 minutes ago, McQueen said:

I heard he was actually parked and just waiting for a mate.

Jack Daniels?

Posted

Don't know how serious the incident is, as some have pointed out he could've blown .001 and he's over because he has to be 0 as a P plater. 

The concerning thing for me here is there have been multiple reports from people who have seen him out at pubs/clubs/bars extremely drunk. The club needs to take it seriously or we could have another Sylvia on our hands. Hopefully not though as he's probably my favorite player and he could become elite if he applies himself!

Posted
28 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Don't think that is needed. There are other punishments.

Yes. I have suggested to the club that it take the disqualification as a club and forfeit its first and second round draft selections at next week's AFL National Draft.

Posted

Not good signs when you link this with his poor running at training. A bit reminiscent of a young Lance Whitnall. Needs a major kick in the arse. Not the brightest bulb in the chandelier I fear.

Posted
4 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Agree. The club need to make a statement both to him and the rest of the playing group that such actions will not be tolerated. I'd be looking at handing him a 4 week suspension from round 1 (with the rest of his pre-season to determine is he is able to reduce it to only 2 weeks).

Posted
20 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Sanctimonious comment. Probably too old to remember what it was like as a teenager Beelze...

Posted

It's disappointing. I  fervently hope he now feels the MOST disappointed and realises who else ( all parties ) he has disappointed.

It's not the world , granted. Coincidentlally just happened to watch RBT last night and a lad on P's blew a reading. His argument also was ..Well a normal driver would be fine.  The Coppers response ( and he was in no mood to be dallied  with ).. "YOU'RE NOT A  NORMAL DRIVER"  you're on P's and so among the most inexperienced of drivers !!  And he's right ( the copper ) 

Happy for Ollie to think he's bullet proof out on the ground but in real life people get hurt, people get killed and often the drunk driver  isn't the one .

let this be a BIG lesson young Clarrie !!

Posted
Just now, jnrmac said:

Sanctimonious comment. Probably too old to remember what it was like as a teenager Beelze...

If he is driving over the limit, which is .00 for a P plate driver, then he's an idiot.  He doesn't deserve to be dragged over the coals for it or have it held against him in the future, but with everything we know he's still an idiot for doing it.

Posted
16 minutes ago, Lord Travis said:

Don't know how serious the incident is, as some have pointed out he could've blown .001 and he's over because he has to be 0 as a P plater. 

The concerning thing for me here is there have been multiple reports from people who have seen him out at pubs/clubs/bars extremely drunk. The club needs to take it seriously or we could have another Sylvia on our hands. Hopefully not though as he's probably my favorite player and he could become elite if he applies himself!

Echoes my thoughts in Monday's training thread when i questioned whether he had the will and drive to have put in any extra over the break. I didnt mean put in extra pints and have the will to drive!

I've also been told from someone at the club that he copped some fair sprays at times last year about his behaviour in general being immature.

Here's hoping he can either get through it like most young lads or if he keeps it, still turns it on at game day like Swanny.

Posted
35 minutes ago, McQueen said:

I heard he was actually parked and just waiting for a mate.

So he thought he"d neck a couple of coopers while he waited....

Posted

Club took a huge gamble taking Oliver over Parish, considering Parish was basically the sure thing. I think we knew it was high risk but high reward but my blood will boil if we got this one wrong because Oliver can't be disciplined.

Get Lewis on his back for the rest of the preseason and have him leech off his experience. That should straighten him out if he's serious about putting his immense talent to good use. I agree with the sentiment of others that this sort of thing needs to be nipped in the bud now, not in a few years.

Posted

Ahhh, the age old conundrum of wanting a personality of high risk takers when you draft someone - have a Stevie J vibe about this one...

Posted
37 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Not good signs when you link this with his poor running at training. A bit reminiscent of a young Lance Whitnall. Needs a major kick in the arse. Not the brightest bulb in the chandelier I fear.

Lance was by all (read every) commentators accounts, the smartest player playing the game at the time..

Posted
3 minutes ago, SaberFang said:

Club took a huge gamble taking Oliver over Parish, considering Parish was basically the sure thing. I think we knew it was high risk but high reward but my blood will boil if we got this one wrong because Oliver can't be disciplined.

Get Lewis on his back for the rest of the preseason and have him leech off his experience. That should straighten him out if he's serious about putting his immense talent to good use. I agree with the sentiment of others that this sort of thing needs to be nipped in the bud now, not in a few years.

I think , as someone else highlighted, ( though the tenet was probably askew  :rolleyes: )  he IS young and seems the lad that will wander across these 'lines' . 

There are life lessons to be learnt. He's just been handed one, with a fallout that is his only ( thankfully )

The powers greater than mine have Branded such as IDIOTS..   they must be sanctimonious also.  What would the Police and Hospitals know as well as the grieving left behind !!

Posted
56 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Incidentally, the reading could be low, like .01, one beer, no real impediment to driving, but still illegal for a P Plater. 

The matter won't get to court if he blew anything below 0.02 on the evidentiary breath test.

Not that, that matters....it's still an unfortunate stupid error on Clayton's part.

Posted

Exactly this situation is where I expect Simon Goodwin to excel. I have read Goodwin's biography and it's clear he had a setback or two as a young man. He has empathy and will offer Oliver guidance going forward. How Oliver responds is the key. I reckon this will work out ok. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Danelska said:

Ahhh, the age old conundrum of wanting a personality of high risk takers when you draft someone - have a Stevie J vibe about this one...

I was thinking the same thing.  Stevie J was a big drinker and got into a fair bit of trouble in his early years.  

Posted
1 minute ago, pineapple dee said:

Exactly this situation is where I expect Simon Goodwin to excel. I have read Goodwin's biography and it's clear he had a setback or two as a young man. He has empathy and will offer Oliver guidance going forward. How Oliver responds is the key. I reckon this will work out ok. 

yep...you make mistakes ...and learn.

Posted

This is where strong culture is so important.  We simply cannot tolerate another extremely talented but wayward player to not reach their potential.

Was shocked when I saw him inhaling hot chips at a match last year, am disappointed that this is his start to pre-season this year. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

This is where strong culture is so important.  We simply cannot tolerate another extremely talented but wayward player to not reach their potential.

Was shocked when I saw him inhaling hot chips at a match last year, am disappointed that this is his start to pre-season this year. 

As long as he didn't put mayonnaise on them I'm okay with that.