FAREWELL LYNDEN DUNN

Good luck Dunny if you do indeed move on as expected, a great servant of the club, loyal to a fault. Enjoyed the chats down at Casey over the years.

All the best

16 minutes ago, Mickey said:

Fox footy reporting we may pay part of his salary. On $300k+, and collingwood can't fit it in

I hope not.

I guess it comes down to whether we shopped him to Collingwood or they sought us out - surely if thats the case and we are paying part of his salary, a higher pick comes back?

Dunn is the current player who has had the longest career without playing any finals.

Best of luck to him whether he is with us or, even, if he is with 'them'.

5 hours ago, DemonLad5 said:

If we can get 47, trade 29, 57, 68 and 47 to GWS for pick 15 (more points)

Agree 100%

I was thinking how the Hawks picks could be used.

GWS needs points to get Perryman and Setterfield.  They will command attention from clubs with selections 6-10. 

I think Dunn was/is probably best 22 but the club is obviously keen to give O'mac game time, it's great we've been able to find him a new home where he can hopefully play regular senior footy 

win-win for both sides, apart from Dunn who has to join Collingwood and will most likely experience yet another of his senior coaches get sacked this season.

8 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Agree 100%

GWS needs points to get Perryman and Setterfield.  They will command attention from clubs with selections 6-10. 

Considering the rules have changed there is not the slightest chance they are going to trade 1 pick for 4 picks. Means they would then need to use all of these draft picks or later picks.

Good luck to him. Even if you don't like the way he plays, you can't question his commitment to the team. He's had to reinvent himself to fill holes in the side repeatedly and always took it on the (impressive) chin and gave it 100%. I'll be sad to see him go even though he seems to have been overtaken in the pecking order. 

11 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Agree 100%

They can't stockpile picks this year. They have to have a list space for every pick they use and they have a pick (or picks) to come from Carlton as well as already owning 2, 15, 31 and 37. We also need to add depth of young talent. Better having 3 goes at Jayden Hunt types than taking 1 top 15 pick.

GWS might actually trade more late picks for an earlier pick not the other way around. We could move back from 29 to 31 for and bump up our 5th round pick to the 4th round or something like that.

Goodbye Lynden Dunn
Though I hardly knew you at all
You had the grace to play with Neeld
While those around you bawled

You tried to play up forward
But you couldn't hold down a place
They sent you down to full back
And you grew fuzz on your face

And it seems to me
you lived your life

Like a Bailey/Neeld thing
Never knowing who to kick to
While oppos closed in
And I would have liked to see you
Play in a bunch of wins
Those coaches killed you long before
PJ and Roos came in

Just now, Ted Fidge said:

Goodbye Lynden Dunn

And it seems to me
you lived your life

While oppos closed in
Play in a bunch of wins
PJ and Roos came in

You forgot his stint as a tagger. 

4 minutes ago, Ted Fidge said:

Goodbye Lynden Dunn

And it seems to me
you lived your life

While oppos closed in
Play in a bunch of wins
PJ and Roos came in

Outstanding, he needs to see this.

1 minute ago, RalphiusMaximus said:

You forgot his stint as a tagger. 

I invite you to write a second verse covering this glorious phase of his career.

51 minutes ago, Danelska said:

Mickey - that's quite incredible if its true...

47 minutes ago, Night Crawler said:

I was just thinking how good it would be to get him off our books and renegotiate some other players contracts to front load them a bit more.

We would want their third round pick if we are paying part of his salary.

37 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

I hope not.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/lynden-dunn-to-collingwood-trade-magpies-flag-interest-in-veteran-melbourne-defender/news-story/62b58bca015cff6ecc533b2e2f28649f

35 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

I hope not.

Who cares if we do? It's for one year and I doubt we're tight for space. He's contracted, surplus to requirements, and has earned the right to the club doing the right thing by him.

If it gets the trade done, pay our slice and get him to Collingwood.

He has been a good club man I wish him great success at the filth, i would personnally like it if he ended up beating howe for a position in the woods backline as they sink further towards the bottom of the ladder.

Couldn't forget this man booting it 75 metres to the centre square on a sunny day at the G'

Goodbye, Lynden.

I am/was a Dunny fan and am sad to see him go. I still reckon Daniher ruined him a bit by playing him everywhere but forward in his first couple of seasons. His natural talent got smothered and he never recovered until he had a stint as a backman. I am glad he may get another chance but the fact it is at the Pies makes me puke. 

18 minutes ago, Stretch Johnson said:

Outstanding, he needs to see this.

needs to be posted on his face book page

23 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Who cares if we do? It's for one year and I doubt we're tight for space. He's contracted, surplus to requirements, and has earned the right to the club doing the right thing by him.

If it gets the trade done, pay our slice and get him to Collingwood.

I care, we've still got Garland on the books for 2 more years. This club has a habit of paying dead money. 

As for surplus to requirements, who comes in when one of Frost or the McDonald brother go down with injury (touch wood)? And the answers not Garland.

No-one can begrudge him for taking up an opportunity to play AFL again but he's hardly on a kings ransom.

As for the cap, I'd love to know who's getting what. Obviously supporters don't pick the team but a lot of today's best 22's don't have H or Melksham.

1 hour ago, ChaserJ said:

Collingwood are shedding the contracts of Swan,  Cloke, Brown, Frost and Marsh, yet can't afford to pay Dunn under their cap? Makes the Wells and Mayne deals look more absurd by the day.

Titanic-deck-chair committee

pick a deck chair-titanic 

E'd, & Bucks Fizz.

Will be interesting to see how Collingwood get this done.  This article shows the will have a deficit of points for their two father/sons, even after they get a late pick for Cloke.  http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-10-18/fatherson-picks-could-put-pies-into-draft-points-deficit

I do recall they are trading Witts out so they might get a pick with some draft points there.

I bet Collingwood will try and do a player swap.  I would prefer a pick but if we can move Dunn on this year that will be a good thing all round.  So we may have to settle for a player who will spend the year at Casey which is where Dunn would be anyway.  We just get some salary cap relief.

I guess we could always take Witts for Dunn...a good back up for Max!