Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

GAMEDAY - Round 5

1 hour ago, Skuit said:

Things that should be taken into account

We're in better form than them.

We have a better spread of talent then them.

We've bettered them in recent years.

Things that shouldn't be taken into account

We haven't won two in a row for a while.

That Richmond are 1-3 and want to win.

The betting odds.

Yea lets not get too carried away. I think we will win and break the two in a row drought tonight. The betting odds all still all over the shop this early in the season. Hogan needs to be on his game and lets hope garlett kicks 3 or 4 with him.

I must admit - I'm REALLY nervous for this one.  I think it's more in anticipation of the game than a fear of us losing.  This is such a winnable game for us, and with a 50/50 game against a decent Saints side next week, we have such an excellent opportunity to really put our best foot forward and show the competition that we are back.

If Gawn gives us first use all night then we win this game of footy.

On 4/24/2016 at 11:43 AM, Wiseblood said:

I must admit - I'm REALLY nervous for this one.  I think it's more in anticipation of the game than a fear of us losing.  This is such a winnable game for us, and with a 50/50 game against a decent Saints side next week, we have such an excellent opportunity to really put our best foot forward and show the competition that we are back.

If Gawn gives us first use all night then we win this game of footy.

I think that's the clear advantage we have, in form Gawn vs underdone Maric. 

I also don't think the Tigers have a great match up for Watts or any of the small fleet which helps as well! Watts has generally played well against the tigers and when Watts plays well we normally win or go very close.

2 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

I must admit - I'm REALLY nervous for this one.  I think it's more in anticipation of the game than a fear of us losing. 

It doesn't help that we've been slowly sliding to a later time-slot for each game this season. At this rate our round 8 match will be on a Wednesday morning.

Dustin Martin does not cut us up. His second worst record is against Melbourne. He had one good game in 2014.

Dustin Martin against opposition teams.

MT Versus K Avg H Avg D Avg M Avg HO Avg T Avg FF FA G Avg B SC Rat Avg
4 Gold Coast 80 20 26 6.5 106 26.5 28 7 0 0 14 3.5 5 3 4 1 3 27 455 113.8
5 GWS Giants 93 18.6 38 7.6 131 26.2 24 4.8 2 0.4 26 5.2 5 9 3 0.6 6 24 535 107
8 Brisbane Lions 134 16.8 81 10.1 215 26.9 27 3.4 0 0 23 2.9 6 8 13 1.6 6 84 803 100.4
9 North Melbourne 141 15.7 77 8.6 218 24.2 37 4.1 0 0 35 3.9 11 16 16 1.8 8 104 895 99.4
7 Western Bulldogs 95 13.6 89 12.7 184 26.3 36 5.1 1 0.1 15 2.1 7 3 9 1.3 1 55 685 97.9
7 West Coast 109 15.6 64 9.1 173 24.7 21 3 0 0 25 3.6 4 10 10 1.4 4 64 656 93.7
10 Fremantle 151 15.1 83 8.3 234 23.4 44 4.4 1 0.1 39 3.9 5 13 8 0.8 12 60 934 93.4
8 Collingwood 125 15.6 75 9.4 200 25 40 5 1 0.1 21 2.6 4 10 6 0.8 6 42 746 93.3
9 Sydney 142 15.8 76 8.4 218 24.2 32 3.6 2 0.2 33 3.7 12 16 9 1 11 65 837 93
5 Geelong 74 14.8 52 10.4 126 25.2 23 4.6 0 0 16 3.2 6 8 3 0.6 3 21 462 92.4
8 Adelaide 112 14 55 6.9 167 20.9 30 3.8 1 0.1 36 4.5 7 14 15 1.9 3 93 739 92.4
11 Essendon 163 14.8 86 7.8 249 22.6 58 5.3 0 0 23 2.1 6 8 13 1.2 14 92 1001 91
9 Port Adelaide 134 14.9 80 8.9 214 23.8 39 4.3 2 0.2 21 2.3 5 10 4 0.4 6 30 770 85.6
6 Hawthorn 82 13.7 65 10.8 147 24.5 15 2.5 2 0.3 16 2.7 5 4 4 0.7 2 26 506 84.3
8 St Kilda 113 14.1 73 9.1 186 23.3 25 3.1 2 0.3 19 2.4 6 8 4 0.5 8 32 652 81.5
8 Melbourne 105 13.1 62 7.8 167 20.9 20 2.5 0 0 26 3.3 6 7 9 1.1 2 56 644 80.5
13 Carlton 145 11.2 94 7.2 239 18.4 31 2.4 2 0.2 36 2.8 8 21 12 0.9 10 82 889 68.4
135 Totals 1998 14.8 1176 8.7 3174 23.5 530 3.9 16 0.1 424 3.1 108 168 142 1.1 105 957 12209 90.4

Just now, Skuit said:

It doesn't help that we've been slowly sliding to a later time-slot for each game this season. At this rate our round 8 match will be on a Wednesday morning.

We're lucky next week mate as we at least get to play on a Saturday.  The constant waiting for our games all weekend is slowly beginning to kill me...

3 minutes ago, Peter Griffen said:

I think that's the clear advantage we have, in form Gawn vs underdone Maric. 

I also don't think the Tigers have a great match up for Watts or any of the small fleet which helps as well! Watts has generally played well against the tigers and when Watts plays well we normally win or go very close.

Agree about the match up for Watts.  Rance will go to Hogan but then I think, after that, our forwards have the capacity to really cause them some problems.  We just need to make sure we get it down there often enough and use it well when we do.

I know it's ANZAC Day tomorrow but could posters please leave their personal conflicts off this site. They have been/will be deleted or censored if detected by the moderators.

The month of May promises to be an exciting one for the club. It would be a pity if some of you couldn't post here during that time.

12 minutes ago, ProDee said:

Dustin Martin does not cut us up. His second worst record is against Melbourne. He had one good game in 2014.

Dustin Martin against opposition teams.

MT Versus K Avg H Avg D Avg M Avg HO Avg T Avg FF FA G Avg B SC Rat Avg
4 Gold Coast 80 20 26 6.5 106 26.5 28 7 0 0 14 3.5 5 3 4 1 3 27 455 113.8
5 GWS Giants 93 18.6 38 7.6 131 26.2 24 4.8 2 0.4 26 5.2 5 9 3 0.6 6 24 535 107
8 Brisbane Lions 134 16.8 81 10.1 215 26.9 27 3.4 0 0 23 2.9 6 8 13 1.6 6 84 803 100.4
9 North Melbourne 141 15.7 77 8.6 218 24.2 37 4.1 0 0 35 3.9 11 16 16 1.8 8 104 895 99.4
7 Western Bulldogs 95 13.6 89 12.7 184 26.3 36 5.1 1 0.1 15 2.1 7 3 9 1.3 1 55 685 97.9
7 West Coast 109 15.6 64 9.1 173 24.7 21 3 0 0 25 3.6 4 10 10 1.4 4 64 656 93.7
10 Fremantle 151 15.1 83 8.3 234 23.4 44 4.4 1 0.1 39 3.9 5 13 8 0.8 12 60 934 93.4
8 Collingwood 125 15.6 75 9.4 200 25 40 5 1 0.1 21 2.6 4 10 6 0.8 6 42 746 93.3
9 Sydney 142 15.8 76 8.4 218 24.2 32 3.6 2 0.2 33 3.7 12 16 9 1 11 65 837 93
5 Geelong 74 14.8 52 10.4 126 25.2 23 4.6 0 0 16 3.2 6 8 3 0.6 3 21 462 92.4
8 Adelaide 112 14 55 6.9 167 20.9 30 3.8 1 0.1 36 4.5 7 14 15 1.9 3 93 739 92.4
11 Essendon 163 14.8 86 7.8 249 22.6 58 5.3 0 0 23 2.1 6 8 13 1.2 14 92 1001 91
9 Port Adelaide 134 14.9 80 8.9 214 23.8 39 4.3 2 0.2 21 2.3 5 10 4 0.4 6 30 770 85.6
6 Hawthorn 82 13.7 65 10.8 147 24.5 15 2.5 2 0.3 16 2.7 5 4 4 0.7 2 26 506 84.3
8 St Kilda 113 14.1 73 9.1 186 23.3 25 3.1 2 0.3 19 2.4 6 8 4 0.5 8 32 652 81.5
8 Melbourne 105 13.1 62 7.8 167 20.9 20 2.5 0 0 26 3.3 6 7 9 1.1 2 56 644 80.5
13 Carlton 145 11.2 94 7.2 239 18.4 31 2.4 2 0.2 36 2.8 8 21 12 0.9 10 82 889 68.4
135 Totals 1998 14.8 1176 8.7 3174 23.5 530 3.9 16 0.1 424 3.1 108 168 142 1.1 105 957 12209 90.4

Don't let facts get in the way of a good story PD! 

My first game back at the MCG after years away. I got to training on friday and felt like it was a whole different club to the one I remember from the Junction oval.

The lovely one is coming for her first visit to the MCG ever, and her first ever ANZAC Day in Australia. She's keen on a scarf, might get a beanie too - doesn't do so well in the cold.

It has been so long since I've had such a good pre-game buildup, or such a long warm-up process - I've known for about three weeks that this would be the week I'd make it, and in that time there's been the North thriller and the Collingwood killing. 

I'm having little flickering memories of great moments, oddly a lot of them from 2005 and involving Robertson kicking a bag.

Maybe now that Hogan has completely stolen Robbo's facial hair (Robbo was at training on friday and completely clean-shaven), it'll be time for the big kid to kick his own bag.

4 hours ago, Redlegs Too said:

But it is the first time that this group has been in this position and they are a far more competent group. If they play with the same effort as the last two then they should be good enough to win. Let's all be really positive today. GO DEES

Let the veil be lifted! 

Go Dees!

I'm cautiously optimistic about tonight. We have a good record against the tigers even when we've been average, and we're getting pretty close to our best 22 out there. Realistically if we want to be the real deal we should be winning tonight.

That said the Tigers are better than what they are putting up and they can actually find another gear when their backs against the wall. They will come out with heavy pressure similar to what the bombers brought, we have to match them and then play smart. It was interesting hearing Chris Scott about the melee last night, the media asked whether he thought that fired the players up and he just kind of shrugged and sort of took that to the players saying that's what they are going to try to do. He just told the players to play smart.

Hoping the Hulk smashes them again!

I just want to see the boys continue to play the high-pressure game they've been playing for the majority of this season. If they do that, Richmond will have to play at their best to win. At this stage, I can live with any result where that is the standard.

Not at all worried about tonight and am confident that we will break the two in a row hoodoo. (I am as confident as when we played Essendon.) Our big test in my view is next week against the in-form Saints! If we beat the Saints we will finish Final Eight IMHO.

After so many year of mediocrity, and that's being kind, it's pretty hard not to be nervous. It's funny though, I have this other feeling chipping away at the nervousness. I think it might be excitement. I'm pretty sure that excitement and confidence are linked so does that means I am confidently and excitedly nervous?

Dees by Vandenberg's number. I can't bring myself to use the digits.

GO DEES! 

4 hours ago, chook fowler said:

I've had my pacemaker check, taken my medication, put in my teeth and emptied my catheter bag. I'm ready. Bring it on.

I'm not quite at that stage but I have often thought that I may have a heart attack at the football one day. I sincerely hope not but I checked my pulse last Sunday and it was 140bpm (usually sits at around 72).

My mothers cousin died at a Melbourne/ Carlton game back in the early 1960's and he was only 40 ,,,,,,,

We have to be ready for a hungary tiger team tonight but if we can start like last week that would be brilliant. I forgot that Viney missed last years match and was reading about how excited he is for tonights game. Hopefully Hogan tears Rance apart like he did last year and we can dominate the middle. Gawn should be bale to run Maric off his feet around the grund. Hopefully we can keep Riewoldt quiet and aslo MArtin.

I cannot wait and I'd be so disappointed if we lose this.

I hope we get a great croed and make a lot of noise. I know it's the long weekend and people go away but it would be great to have a lot of support there.

6 minutes ago, olisik said:

Does anyone know how I can buy general admission tickets

Just turn up at the ground. It is unlikely to be a sell-out!

On the big stage too ... our first free-to-air prime-time game for the year and if the club wants more of these types of games, we need to put on a good show and win (it's just as well the Essendon game wasn't on free-to-air) 

As well as that the game falls into the blockbuster category which means lots of $$$'s for the club ... again, we need more of these types of games in order to not have to sell off games interstate.  5-6 big games a year in on prime-time free-to-air is quite possible but we need to acquit ourselves well on an ongoing basis in order for that to happen (we passed the first test last week against the Pies in front of a huge TV audience)

I understand that most supporters just want to win and I do too ... but, it's equally important that we address the 'off-field' as well.  And winning these types of games is the cure (in terms of gate monies, sponsorships, membership and the like)

All week it's been about who might play in the team and who might not play but that's all over with now and we just need to win ... make no mistake, tonight is a very important game for the club.  The first 5-10 minutes of the game will probably be a tell-all.  I hope we're ready.

And it all starts out of the middle ... if Gawn can win in the ruck (again) and our midfielders can get in the right spots to shark his taps, we'll win first use of the ball and away we go.  Vince replacing the clearance work that Oliver is capable of is a must.

14 minutes ago, jane02 said:

I'm not quite at that stage but I have often thought that I may have a heart attack at the football one day. I sincerely hope not but I checked my pulse last Sunday and it was 140bpm (usually sits at around 72).

My mothers cousin died at a Melbourne/ Carlton game back in the early 1960's and he was only 40 ,,,,,,,

The sad thing is I'm probably fitter than some of our players of recent years.