Darwin Home Games

Pipefitter

After the Geelong win we'd have gotten 30k to the G at an early Sunday arvo time slot. Eagles playing well and would have had good support, we'd have gotten numbers after the Geelong win.

Would have been game on if played at the G.

Not sure if it would be game on. They have thumped us by bigger margins their than they did at Darwin tonight.

Literally the ONLY positive out of these games is the money we get from the NT. We suffer in almost every other way. We embarrass ourselves from a membership perspective, we lose the premiership points, and we end up fatiguing our players the week after and losing the next match to boot.

Bloody moronic.

The Dogs wouldn't have scrapped their deal if playing up in Darwin was beneficial...Have got to weigh up whether it's worth it, in the last couple of years I haven't really cared because our results barely differed at any stadium, but this year I'm confident we would've taken it up to the Eagles at the G and likewise Port. And both NT games this season have been off the back of impressive wins. If each had been played at the G it could only be beneficial to the team and supporters.

The most moronic part of the whole thing is that it took place AFTER the bye, and not before. If ever a game needed 2 weeks recovery, it's this.

I'll be livid if we come out half-assed against the Drug Cheats next week. That's a game you just don't want to lose.

Edited by Lamashtu

The most moronic part of the whole thing is that it took place AFTER the bye, and not before. If ever a game needed 2 weeks recovery, it's this.

I'll be livid if we come out half-assed against the Drug Cheats next week. That's a game you just don't want to lose.

I wonder if we enquired about that? If it we cared enough maybe the AFL would've bowed to that as they do listen to (perhaps only rich) clubs' feedback.

I'm not too fussed given how Essendon are travelling (hopefully they lose tomorrow) and they'll have a 6-day break coming in

I started a thread two years ago looking at the results of the post-Darwin games: demonland.com/forums/index.php?/topic/34589-the-darwin-effect/

Adding in last year, it now reads:

2014 - 66 point loss to Geelong. 32 scoring shots to 11. Disposals: 374-295. Inside 50s: 57-30.

2013 - 122 point loss to North Melbourne. 40 scoring shots to 8. Disposals: 439-290. Inside 50s: 66-30

2012 - 54 point loss to North Melbourne. 32 scoring shots to 18. Disposals: 429-337. Inside 50s: 62-37.

2011 - 54 point loss to Hawthorn. 32 scoring shots to 18. Disposals: 409-298. Inside 50s: 59-39.

2010 - 54 point loss to Geelong. 31 scoring shots to 17. Disposals: 434-328. Inside 50s: 57-37.

Now, we've clearly run into very strong opponents most years post-bye - Geelong in 2010 made the GF, Hawthorn in 2011 made the prelims, Geelong in 2014 finished top 4. And though we had North in 2012-13 who were middle of the road, they were the Neeld years where we were as bad as can be. This year's opponent, Essendon, is much much worse than these opponents.

Nonetheless, that's 5 years in a row where we've been annihilated the week after, not being able to even get our hands on the ball most years. I'd be astounded if it didn't have an effect, but this year will show us what it really does - we're not playing Hawthorn or Collingwood, we've got a fellow bottom 6 side.

Our team still chooses when to turn up to play. 34 vs 15 shots at goal was disgraceful last night.

I would like it if our team played hard for 120 min and won in Darwin before we sweat about the game after.

No one to blame but ourselves

Low memberships, poor attendances, what do you expect ?

We need the money.

do we need it quite so badly now ? I doubt it.

Need 4 points more

Dill still wants one team to play 6 games in tassie. Maybe if we offer to play 3 home games & 3 away games there once the hawks/north deals end then we can kiss the NT experiment goodbye?

Edit: Spelling

Edited by AngryAtCasey

Dill still wants one team to play 6 games in tassie. Maybe if we offer to play 3 home games & 3 away games there once the hawks/north deals end then we can kiss the NT experiment goodbye?

As well as the sponsorship...

Tasmania needs a bit of Devil eh !! ^_^

Why would we do that? So we play 6 games elsewhere and be the closest thing to being turned into a permanent Tassie team? No thanks.

last ime I looked Alice was in the NT.. That game might stay.. but Darwin hasnt worked at all..

Oh ok, so the plan is to play home games in Alice and Tassie? Yeah that'll work...

no...we can play the Alice games as away..or what ever.. just as now..It keeps the NT tie up if were that bloody keen on it. Darwin sucks as an event.. Id rather ALL games were kept but id prefer a couple in Tassie in preference to anywhere else if thats the choice.

Riiiiiiight... Maybe you should go think this plan through a bit more and then get back to us hey?

maybe you just take things in spirit. as opposed to find anything to can annoy people with.

maybe you just read whats written and not what you want..honestly ffs

Yeah, cause heaven knows once you loose a sponsor your not allowed to replace it with another are you?

Hankook

Tooheys

LG

Kaspersky

Webjet

All sponsors at one time or another of the club who aren't anymore. Do you think once the club looses a sponsorship that they don't have the capacity to replace it??? Or for example if we were to play 6 games in Tassie that their state government mightn't consider coming on board. Especially if Hawthorn weren't playing out of there anymore?

Maybe you should think before you post. Would much rather the players backing up from a game in Tassie to a game in Darwin.

West Coast is the one club I would not want to play in Darwin. West Australian footy and Northern Territory footy have a long history and the NT would have a solid WC presence. May as well play at Subi.

Yeah, cause heaven knows once you loose a sponsor your not allowed to replace it with another are you?

Hankook

Tooheys

LG

Kaspersky

Webjet

All sponsors at one time or another of the club who aren't anymore. Do you think once the club looses a sponsorship that they don't have the capacity to replace it??? Or for example if we were to play 6 games in Tassie that their state government mightn't consider coming on board. Especially if Hawthorn weren't playing out of there anymore?

Maybe you should think before you post. Would much rather the players backing up from a game in Tassie to a game in Darwin.

Haha right call PJ then and let him know we're ditching a major sponsor because it's really easy to get another one...

FMD.

I started a thread two years ago looking at the results of the post-Darwin games: demonland.com/forums/index.php?/topic/34589-the-darwin-effect/

Adding in last year, it now reads:

2014 - 66 point loss to Geelong. 32 scoring shots to 11. Disposals: 374-295. Inside 50s: 57-30.

2013 - 122 point loss to North Melbourne. 40 scoring shots to 8. Disposals: 439-290. Inside 50s: 66-30

2012 - 54 point loss to North Melbourne. 32 scoring shots to 18. Disposals: 429-337. Inside 50s: 62-37.

2011 - 54 point loss to Hawthorn. 32 scoring shots to 18. Disposals: 409-298. Inside 50s: 59-39.

2010 - 54 point loss to Geelong. 31 scoring shots to 17. Disposals: 434-328. Inside 50s: 57-37.

Now, we've clearly run into very strong opponents most years post-bye - Geelong in 2010 made the GF, Hawthorn in 2011 made the prelims, Geelong in 2014 finished top 4. And though we had North in 2012-13 who were middle of the road, they were the Neeld years where we were as bad as can be. This year's opponent, Essendon, is much much worse than these opponents.

Nonetheless, that's 5 years in a row where we've been annihilated the week after, not being able to even get our hands on the ball most years. I'd be astounded if it didn't have an effect, but this year will show us what it really does - we're not playing Hawthorn or Collingwood, we've got a fellow bottom 6 side.

I haven't looked in your thread T_U, but how have our opposition gone after playing in Darwin? If they're consistently losing as well there might be something in it.

I'm going to stick with Occam's Razor. We have probably historically lost after playing in Darwin because we were a crapola footy side who did a really great job at losing no matter where or who we played in the previous round.

Why dont we sell all our home games, make heaps of cash and change our name to Australia!

Some sort of travelling circus. Given performances over the last 10 years, that sounds about right.

If the northern development experiment of the current government is embraced, there could be some merit in being progressive and embracing the new region as an ancillary expansion of the oldest club with the reputation of developing the game