Nev Jetta signs new 2 year contract

Nev should be extremely proud of what he's achieved in the last 6 months. Hard work and the right attitude have transformed him from a bit-part VFL quality player to one of the best small defenders in the AFL. I'm delighted for him!

What an amazing turnaround it has been.

Great news. Will be around alot longer than 2016 you would expect.

Very happy for Nev. Must have been gut-wrenching to be delisted. Really admire his balls to do what was required to not only get himself re-rookied, but to force his way back on to the main list, and then excel throughout the year. That takes exceptional guts and character, not to mention lots of HARD work!

Well done, Nev! Certainly one of the good news stories of the MFC in 2014!

I had totally written him off.

Rapt he has proven me and so many wrong.

Masterstroke by Roos to use him as he has and full credit to Nev Jetta for grabbing the chance with both hands - one of the major success stories of the year.

I have told this story before.

I went to the first Casey game of the year at windy hill.

That day he was IMO the best on the ground and actually kicked the winning goal.

I said at the time he was the only MFC player that day that screamed "Pick Me"

I walked in behind his partner and his little daughter who was all dressed up in Dees gear with dads number on the back.

She had a great day cheering him on.

I was near them when Dad kicked the winning goal very late in the time on period of the last quarter.

The look on her face was one I will never forget.

I can only imagine how proud that little face must be now.

Matthew Whelan

Beat me to it by 90 minutes.

He's absolutely Matty Whelan mark II.

Both picked around the same number in their respective drafts too.

Well Done Nev always had faith in you and thought you were somewhat unlucky to be delisted last season

Good news story for the club and the AFL and a lesson to all about determination, never giving up and the rewards that come when you apply yourself and put the effort in you have

Well Done Nev always had faith in you and thought you were somewhat unlucky to be delisted last season

Good news story for the club and the AFL and a lesson to all about determination, never giving up and the rewards that come when you apply yourself and put the effort in you have

And have a reasonable run with injuries

The Roos effect claims another victim.

Well done jetts!

A really terrific turn around and a much deserved contract extension

Will finish top 5 in the bluey

It's amazing what happens to some players when they have a coach, a real coach who believes in them.

Well done Nev all your hard work has paid off.

My wife picked out Nev as her favourite Dees player about 2 or 3 years ago, and I always thought what an odd player to pick as your favourite, meanwhile Colin Sylvia was mine. Hmmm

Obviously your wife is better at choosing players than u Forest!!!!

However the way the dees have gone it was really a chook lotto (no offence chook)

Had this discussion with a mate recently, Jetta would be a stand out for aboriginal players as a pure stopping type defensive player. That's a pretty rare breed.

I can name a few aboriginal defenders but most are the attacking Yarrans or Leon Davis types, who although in the back half of the ground are real line breakers.

Can anyone name other real 'defenders' who were aboriginal?

Wirripunda was one of the best both attacking and defensively. anyone else?

Ash McGrath?

One of the best AFL success stories of the year, especially when you consider he was delisted.

Imagine what Roos will accomplish after another preseason, combined with a fresh injection of players (I think he'll be scouring every club's delisted players this year given the success stories of Jetta, Miles and even Riley, who continues to show great signs).

Ash McGrath?

Gav Wanga went allright.

Go Nev! one of my favourites also.

no bulls..t with Neville.

Hope he is around for years.

And to think how much we bang on about priority picks, and how they're the difference between success and failure. This guy was the last pick in the rookie draft last year. He'd be the first picked defender if we were playing a final tomorrow. Full credit to him. If every player tackled with his tenacity, attacked every contest and stuck to their limitations the same way, we'd be flag favourites!

he has been outstanding this season and last week he was great. The way he backed back to mark the ball when Rough was coming at him I think lifted the team.

I guess being out on the rookie list made him realise his career could be over so he has put the hard work in. One of the players roos is talking about when he says who wants to work hard and who doesnt want to and we wont keep them. Well done Nev.

I reckon he's gone from being the worst of the Jettas to the best. A great achievement from him and one of the few highlights of this season.

Probably with the least natural ability of the three too.

This stuff puts a smile on your face.