45HG 1,559 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 With the Jack Viney debacle taking some of the gloss off the win, I wanted to turn focus back to the positives. It's very hard to chose my favourite part from the win. Dawes' tackles, marks, goals, pumping up of Jack Watts. The two rookies' first quarter goals. Grimes' spoil(!) But my favourite thing, I reckon, did not even happen with time running. After Tyson's goal, the response he got from his teammates was electric and spine tingling. I haven't seen a response like that from Melbourne boys in what feels like a very long time, especially away from home against 40,000 opposition fans. Every player in the area showed such instant glee, it reminded me of how I fell in love with footy originally - watching players have fun, do well, and celebrate like nutters.
PaulRB 6,436 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 I really liked Jack Vineys attack on the ball, twice in 3 seconds at around the 11 minute mark of the first. Quite possibly won the game for us right there...
rpfc 29,030 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 That was my favourite moment too. Footy is fun when your mate puts you 16 points up with an outside of the boot torpedo. Grimes' effort was something I see elite players do.
FarNorthernD 5,863 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 JFK's spin, baulk, accelerate and goal Jamars mark 1 metre out Racing around my lounge room with fists in the air when the siren went
Maldonboy38 6,436 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 The very last stoppage out on the wing, and Ro Bail flew through the stationary pack, kicked the ball long, and I knew the game was ours. But the Grimes spoil goes down as one of the best I have ever seen.
Young Dee 1,303 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 I liked Vineys bump, and Dawes tackle and grimes spoil
titan_uranus 25,255 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 Tyson's goal, and the fact that we withstood their comeback.
jackaub 1,402 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 Favorite was Ro Bail 3 maybe 4 clearances in the first 10 minutes Brilliant didnt think he had it in him just great
Pates 9,697 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 Tyson's goal. Seeing someone burst out of a pack and finish such a clutch goal is something I haven't seen from a young player in a long time.
RalphiusMaximus 6,112 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 I think Viney's attack on the ball has to be right up there.
1 red eye 1 blue eye 771 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 When I motioned from my seat for the 1%ers, a hand in here a pressure act there, and for most of the game what I hoped they'd do they actually did.
mdemon 266 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 Best part was undoubtedly experiencing 1st hand the visceral rollercoaster of emotions that the Crows supporters went through - initially, the expectation of an easy 'kill', followed by a growing sense of doubt that gradually grew into fear of the unthinkable - not merely losing at home but losing to a lowly team like Melbourne! Topping it all off was the hope/belief that unfolded over the course of the last 1/4 that they would just get up, only to fall 3 points short. The confidence that we will get from holding on and triumphing in such a hostile environment must surely hold us in good stead in coming weeks.
nomed 113 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 My son wanting to know where his Melbourne jumper was to wear to training tonight.
Bobby McKenzie 2,408 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 Favorite was Ro Bail 3 maybe 4 clearances in the first 10 minutes Brilliant didnt think he had it in him just great Very impressed with Bail. He was robbed of a great mark in the last quarter too. JHK with his weaving goal and lightning quick hands. Jack Watts getting into it and showing physicality.
Longsufferingnomore 1,691 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 Chris Dawes impressive do or die tackle. Watts and Howes genuine improvement (Roos surely has the gift) Jack G's desperate spoil The whole teams keeping to the systems for the whole of the last quarter despite the Crows having the run - on and 49,000 Adelaide supporters screaming. Lastly Bernie's grin when the siren went. Magic.
ex52k2 250 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 Standing up at the game and as the crows supporters were leaving yelling at them to CLEAR THE CARPARKS. Boy did I get a response, I just laughed and told them to stay and sing our song. Just loved it.
Ethan Tremblay 31,391 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 The song being played around Adelaide oval after the game
The Chazz 4,077 Posted May 6, 2014 Posted May 6, 2014 The unearthing of a grey area in the sub/concussion rule. We need one of our bigger guys to come off with 5 minutes left of the first and second quarters, undergo a concussion test, while we are able to put our sub in to the game. Salem (at this stage until he can play a full game) comes on for a dominant 5 minutes at the end of each quarter, provides those fresh legs that are hard to keep up with at the end of each quarter, runs the opposition in to the ground, sngas a goal or two, then at the start of the next quarter we have our "concussion decoy" come back on. Other than that, I don't know if I've seen a MFC captain's goal as good as what Chunk clunked in the last quarter. Quiet-ish game, stood up when we needed.
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted May 7, 2014 Posted May 7, 2014 Not actually a "moment" per se, but my favourite part of the win is that another player (Jetta) played his best game ever. Add that to Pedersen, Dunn and a few others who have shown significant improvement this year.
Nasher 33,686 Posted May 7, 2014 Posted May 7, 2014 Grimes' spoil and Tyson's goal made the hair on my arms stand up.
CBDees 3,167 Posted May 7, 2014 Posted May 7, 2014 Three highlights: Grimes spoil, JKH's silky skills and Salem's early goal!
binman 44,857 Posted May 7, 2014 Posted May 7, 2014 Mine was in the 3rd q (I think). Viney gets a head high free as he streams forward with a center clearance. Barely slows down, plays on immediately and runs out of the square and puts the ball on a leading jkh's chest. The future right there. Jamsrs mark and Tyson's goal weren't bad either!
Breggsy 123 Posted May 7, 2014 Posted May 7, 2014 Favourite moments from the game: Tyson's goal Dawes' tackle Grimes' punch Jetta giving Betts a bath. After: Nothing beats reading the paper after a good win Oh, and trolling the Adelaide forums