URGENT ATTENTION: Major Site Update Will Require Email Address for Login and NOT Username. Please Ensure Your Email Address is Current.

Alexis Georgiou can accept reprimand

daisycutter

• Replies 51
Posted

I hope Georgiou appeals.

For one, it'll highlight the hilarious dive from Franklin.

We should bring a spotlight on it and make him look like an utter goose.

Secondly, for an accidental glancing blow where no harm was caused, this is an unfair punishment.

And thirdly, because I know the AFL tribunal won't throw it out, Georgiou will get suspended, and he'll be out of the team.

And not a minute too soon.

He is a liability. So bloody awkward that he is a danger to his teammates.

Anyone see McDonald win the footy, about to kick, and then Georgiou ran across his path?

T-Mac had to pull the kick, attempt a sidestep and then in the split-second it took him to reset for a clear kick, he was tackled and he turned it over.

Bloody Georgiou... Can't get him out of the side soon enough.

Can't believe you are serious. One instance? Can you name all the others you talk about? Surely every player has accidentally got in the way of a team mate during their playing career.

Posted

You've got to like how Josh Gibson almost knocked a bloke out and gets less carry over points than Georgiou. It's broken.

Posted

actually if he repeats it i think he loses 2 games

i.e. 93.75 + 125 = 218.75 with no discount = 2 weeks

cheers, I'm not across the points system. But that being the case further highlights what a stupid bloody system it is .
Posted

The sooner we get Garland in the better chance Geogiou will be out.

Look love his work ethic but he has horrible skills and poor decision making aswell. Will always be an honest battler and thats it.

Cant afford to keep having blokes like him and Terlich keep turning it over in our back half.

Posted

Georgiou breaks a hold and Gibson leaves the ground and puts a forearm to the head. It's insane.

Posted

Look love his work ethic but he has horrible skills and poor decision making aswell. Will always be an honest battler and thats it.

Cant afford to keep having blokes like him and Terlich keep turning it over in our back half.

Dazzle, I reckon your being harsh.

Posted

Georgiou breaks a hold and Gibson leaves the ground and puts a forearm to the head. It's insane.

...but full of integrity....according to the outgoing CEO ^_^

Posted

Dazzle, I reckon your being harsh.

RTG im not trying to be harsh on him but like I said he has very poor skills, poor decision making and poor awareness aswell. He is a battler and thats it. Exactly like Magner was for us. Fill a role for a year or two and hopefully by then some one more talented can take over.

Love his work ethic but for me he makes far too many mistakes and is quite slow aswell. We just cannot afford to keep carying blokes like him Terlich, Jetta etc.. They are nothing but just genuine VFL SANFL battlers who aren't up to AFL standard.

Posted

right now he is playing on the best or second best defender. That's a tough ask given his size. He's taking the bloke Garland would normally take. He is limited but I'm all for persevering with him.

Posted

right now he is playing on the best or second best defender. That's a tough ask given his size. He's taking the bloke Garland would normally take. He is limited but I'm all for persevering with him.

And thats why I want Garland back in asap.

Posted

Good to see our our list of over stuffed peacocks slowly fading away. Honest battlers make me feel less frustrated and more confident and patient for future success.

Posted

Garland back doesnt mean Georgiou gets dopped

Georgiou has beaten his direct opponent in every game bar maybe 1

Why the hell would he be dropped?

Posted

Horrible skills and poor decision making would result in poor disposal efficiency, yes?

His D.E. is over 80% for the year. You're talking straight out of your arse.

Posted

He ain't pretty but he is pretty effective.

He wins his one on ones.

Posted

Let's see who he gets out of Pods, Jenkins, Lynch or even Betts this week and how he goes.

He's been seriously good defensively in most games so far. Day from Gold Coast was too big and athletic for him but most other match ups he's done a good job.

You can have a battler with average skills as long as they are good defensively and play deep in defense.

I think give Garland has been injured and Frawley playing forward that Georgiou has done a fantastic job for us so far. And I blame the lack of skill and run off the backmen a lot more on the small half backs whose job it is to mop up the ball and run. Of course I'd prefer Garland in the team over Georgiou but they aren't a direct comparison yet. We may still be better off bringing Garland in for Howe, Jetta or Terlich than for Georgiou.

Posted

Horrible skills and poor decision making would result in poor disposal efficiency, yes?

Can't agree more, as a pure defender he has been our best this season.

Wish we could get more backmen who defend as desperately as this bloke.

I would have guessed his disposal efficiency was solid as he seems to know and accept his limitations and tries to operate within them.

Like what he has brought to the table and wish we had more of it.

Posted

Don't agree. Dinky little chips sideways in the backline that achieve nothing will result in a high disposal efficiency.

I don't mind switches of play, but his disposal is definitely "risk averse."

Posted

Don't agree. Dinky little chips sideways in the backline that achieve nothing will result in a high disposal efficiency.

Absolutely spot on.
Posted

Still think that means he's doing his job.

Posted

Still think that means he's doing his job.

Is it? What if his job is to make attacking moves with the footy, making the opposition work to defend, instead of safely chipping sideways every possession, making it easy on the opposition and giving them a chance to set up their structure to force turnovers.

It's something Dunn did a lot last year, and I think it hurt us.

"If you're not moving forwards, you're going backwards."

Posted

Is it? What if his job is to make attacking moves with the footy, making the opposition work to defend, instead of safely chipping sideways every possession, making it easy on the opposition and giving them a chance to set up their structure to force turnovers.

It's something Dunn did a lot last year, and I think it hurt us.

"If you're not moving forwards, you're going backwards."

What if Georgiou has been instructed to chip it sideways to a player like Dunn and Garland etc. so that they can make some space and fire off a laser 50m pass to a leading Dawes on the wing? Is that better than Georgiou taking the game on and turning over a 40m pass to get scored against on the rebound?

Roosy is all about playing roles and I reckon Georgiou is invaluable for his defending and ball winning skills in a contest, so he can dish it off to the quarterback types. I'm sure if Georgiou was actually capable of taking the game on and pinpointing passes he would be, but he knows his limits.

Who knows, maybe with more experience and confidence at AFL he will improve his skills enough to play that creative role.