Posted

Nah. I wouldn't blame MFC Supporters at all.

The club has put it's supporters through the ringer and back over the last 50 years.

We shall see. I still don't believe the club is done.

So what either you support the club or you don't. No one can claim to support the club unless they take out a membership and/or attend games regularly. The lack of support is what is killing the club not the clubs onfield performances - look at Richmond. This goes for those who are MCC but don't take out at least a joint membership which is what $55? I mean come on that's $5/month.

Posted

It could be getting to perfect storm time.
We are lucky that the AFL has invested personnel and money in the club at this moment. It's possible they will want to see a return on their investment, regardless of who is in charge. It does worry me that PJ and Roos are only around in the short term as well. If we have effective advocates in place like PJ then the chances of us going down the gurgler are reduced.
That being said, we stuff this up and the Tassie Demons/Melbourne Kangaroos are a real possibility. Changes at head office and TV deals increase this likelihood considerably.

Posted

Was laughed at when i opened this thread.. can confirm we are being thrown up as a potential Tasmanian relocation

Tassie Devils we would turn into

Wow. Even a name...

Do you want to share where you obtained such information? Or perhaps how you can now 'confirm' it?

You can throw vague grenades if you want to, but don't expect love for it.

Posted

So what either you support the club or you don't. No one can claim to support the club unless they take out a membership and/or attend games regularly. The lack of support is what is killing the club not the clubs onfield performances - look at Richmond. This goes for those who are MCC but don't take out at least a joint membership which is what $55? I mean come on that's $5/month.

yes Doc. But after all these decades i don't begrudge the battered supporter wanting value for money.

I am an MCC/MFC Full Member btw

Posted

Unfortunately, it is the "kids", who, may now have even entered the workforce, who won't pay up. They have been bludgeoned into submission due to so many years of inept displays on the field. PJ himself has admitted that the MFC has betrayed trust of these lapsed supporters/members. In today's world of footy, which is now business afterall, you don't have to be Einstein to work out why people have voted with their feet.

That said, while disappointed with Sunday, I saw something, which I haven't seen for at least 4 years. While the turnovers were atrocious and clearly we are still below par in terms of skill level, I thought we had a fair dinkum crack, with some obvious exceptions. There is a spirit within in the group I have not seen for a long time. Just loved the endeavour of Jones, Viney and Dawes and while I have been an ardent critic of Pederson, i thought his attack on the footy was sensational.

I just hope that peoples' patience will hold out just that bit longer.

Posted

I don't know maybe it's just me but I have never seriously considered not renewing my membership since I was first signed up as a 7yo in 1989. I have questioned my commitment to the club at times and why I should really care, but at the end of the day I keep signing up and turning up because I know that if the club ever were to relocate, merge or die I couldn't stand knowing that it was because people like me had abandoned it. People need to realise you support your team through thick and thin and if the club is going crap and is being battered by all and sundry that is even more reason to consolidate your support for them.

At the end of the day the success or otherwise of this club will come down to its supporters. Just because some incompetents/idiots have mishandled the clubs operations is no excuse to abandon the club. Again, look at Richmond. Say what you will about them but their supporters would have 1000x as many reasons to feel aggrieved compared to us however their supporters have stuck fat and their membership is now over 60k probably heading to 70k. Even when they're going dismally which is often they still pull decent crowds.

Posted

Was laughed at when i opened this thread.. can confirm we are being thrown up as a potential Tasmanian relocation

Tassie Devils we would turn into

It is fair to say we can all confirm you are a dick head.

Posted

I reckon we can do enough to hide behind at least one the Bulldogs, North and St Kilda when the AFL send the grim reaper around. Then we should (SHOULD) be safe unless we end up getting bled dry until we end up being forced to merge with the other. However given that they've just tipped millions in it doesn't not appear to be on their agenda to totally wipe us out - to prop us up until they fulfil some conspiracy? Well I'm not ruling that out.

• 2 months later...
Posted

Tasmanian Devils/Demons is what the commission is throwing up/discussing.

I'd prefer devils, has a better ring to it IMO

Feel free to go and start your own club down there with your non existent commission, HD.

I think the rest of us will stay here with the Melbourne Demons, a club that will be located in this city for a long time yet.

You're a dead set bell end.

Posted

I reckon North Melbourne will make great Tassie devils

Posted

household, lol, they won't move melbourne ya silly bugger.
I don't think its viable for the afl to create a team down there given that the average attendance to games in tassie is 15000-20000.

Eddie was pissthed with 40,000 to a sunday night game.
If melbourne relocated to tassie, we would probably get 5000 to a game, and if it was a sunday night in tassie, i don't even want to think about it! lol

Posted

Troooooooooll.

tis school holidays !!:rolleyes:
Posted

Haha you've got commitment to the troll, I'll give you that.

Posted

Can we merge with hawthorn again or even geelong. Then we'd be guaranteed of finals. There is enough money in the AFL pockets for all teams to survive. I think we are safe

if every Vic side merged with another, problem solved. & room for a kiwi entity & a Sth Africaan, & a VanDeemon's land team. & another up nort way.

Posted (edited)

Didn't this guy say JKH's contract extension was also signed off and awaiting imminent announcement... 3 months back?

Edited by Lamashtu
Posted

Didn't this guy say JKH's contract extension was also signed off and awaiting imminent announcement... 3 months back?

Probably the previous school holidays.

Posted

MCG, Casey, Goschs Paddock, Melbourne Uni and now Tassie. The road map to world domination is evolving, almost on a daily basis now

Posted

I wish the AFL would forget about moving us to Tassie and just give us a gun coach and great CEO instead.

Posted

Didn't Gillon McLaughlin just recently say that he thought a traditional city v city, Melbourne v Sydney Good Friday game would be great. He was all for it, that came from the horse mouth, not a troll. No mention of Tassie Devils v Sydney last week....

Also guys, just warning you, Household Demon used to PM a mate of mine for info about the club, as he was an insider, needless to say my mate never replied. He got the feeling that Household Demon was a journo from the Age or similar.

Anyway just be warned.

Posted

Hey guys while we are on the fantasy land thread

I got a call about my telephone service from a chap with a strong indian accent.

He stated quite categorically he was calling from Melbourne.

I understand there is an office block in Chenia or Mumbi named Australia and the floors are named after states with assigned areas for cities etc.

This practice confirms the truth of the lie "I am calling from Melbourne"

Does this global practice mean that as long as you wear a Melbourne demons jumper you are a melbourne demon.

I saw an article on TV that indicated the AFL are keen to export Aussie rules to India

NOWW how about the franchised melbourne demons??? out of india.