Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

POST MATCH DISCUSSION

Are you a crackhead? Everyone potting Grimes here seems to have forgotten that he suffered a pretty serious injury which directly caused him to lose muscle mass due to not being able to work his upper body.

Before his injury he was in our best 5 each week, no doubt. You can't have a crack at him just because he is taking a little while to find his feet after an injury.

if there is one thing that I am really, really, really sick of.. it's players getting continually excused for underperforming because they had an injury at some point. If you are declared fit to play and you are selected you should have no excuses

interesting if correct.

What condition was this person in Any sign of substance abuse?

Are you a crackhead? Everyone potting Grimes here seems to have forgotten that he suffered a pretty serious injury which directly caused him to lose muscle mass due to not being able to work his upper body.

Before his injury he was in our best 5 each week, no doubt. You can't have a crack at him just because he is taking a little while to find his feet after an injury.

If he is so injured DONT EMBARRASS HIM DONT PLAY HIM geesus Eccuses excuses He has always been a turnover specialist day one.

What condition was this person in Any sign of substance abuse?

If he is so injured DONT EMBARRASS HIM DONT PLAY HIM geesus Eccuses excuses He has always been a turnover specialist day one.

We aren't really in a position to leave our better players out longer than required. It was more the toll that the injury has taken on his body, not that he is still injured.

Yes we are Season Gone Rest all the alleged injured play somebody who cares Magna Couch Tynan Taggert see if thay want to play AFL?

In short summary, biggest problems yesterday,

Lack of speed - caused by going in to tall

lack of confidence - all afraid to leave their man and hit a contest they are a chance to win

no will to take he game on - a lot due to lack of confidence

lack of intensity - can't understand this without getting inside the players heads

At the moment we look woeful but the right changes can turn us fairly quickly, I am by no means talking of a rise like Port but back to being competitive and not getting regularly kicked from pillar to post.

Prior to Lyon heading to the Dockers

C.Pearce, & Walters were to fat to play a the highest level

Crowley was to muscle bound to play as a run with player on the games best mids

Deboer had terrible disposal but always played with high intensity

Mayne ran around like a headless chook in the forward line and was a terrible shot for goal

Michael Johnson & Paul Duffield had seen their best football

& their forward line could not function without Pavlich

Lyon turned that all around with discipline, a strict code of expectations relating to weight/skinfolds and a game plan which relies upon structures and not the individual. This is not easy to do and relies upon the right personality in the coach and getting the players to buy in. Dees fans talk about Nicholson, Tom Mac and Davis having shocking disposal by foot and there is no argument (although I see improvement in Tom Mac) but make not mistake there is no player in the AFL who kicks the ball worse than Zac Dawson. This did not matter at St Kilda and it makes no difference at the Dockers. Lyon has him that well drilled he knows what he has to do, knows his limitations and plays to his strengths and does what is best for the team and its structure.

Basically we need to get the coaching decision right easier said than done but the correct choice will see us turn things around next year and start heading back in the right direction. We can not afford to get this wrong

lack of confidence - all afraid to leave their man and hit a contest they are a chance to win

lack of intensity - can't understand this without getting inside the players heads

At the moment we look woeful but the right changes can turn us fairly quickly, I am by no means talking of a rise like Port but back to being competitive and not getting regularly kicked from pillar to post.

Mayne ran around like a headless chook in the forward line and was a terrible shot for goal

Lyon turned that all around with discipline, a strict code of expectations relating to weight/skinfolds and a game plan which relies upon structures and not the individual. This is not easy to do and relies upon the right personality in the coach and getting the players to buy in. Dees fans talk about Nicholson, Tom Mac and Davis having shocking disposal by foot and there is no argument (although I see improvement in Tom Mac) but make not mistake there is no player in the AFL who kicks the ball worse than Zac Dawson. This did not matter at St Kilda and it makes no difference at the Dockers. Lyon has him that well drilled he knows what he has to do, knows his limitations and plays to his strengths and does what is best for the team and its structure.

Basically we need to get the coaching decision right easier said than done but the correct choice will see us turn things around next year and start heading back in the right direction. We can not afford to get this wrong

The mind boggles if Ross Lyon had Jack Watts.

Well i'm calling it a night. Got to check on the "lads" before watching "Ripper". Had hoped to hear again from Stuie but I guess he's licking his arse.

The reason for no reply to you is contained withing the level and content of your post.

Yep. People forget he was awesome until that Carlton game.

Come on, mate. Grimes has never been awesome and certainly not this year. His kicking has never been good and his decision making consistently leads to him coughing up the ball. He's a plodder, who's been overrated from the beginning. I love that he's a Melbourne man. I love the leadership qualities he apparently has, but from very early on, it was obvious that his disposal was well below elite.

His disposal was a bit hit and miss from the start, still is but he is a much better player than he is showing at the moment. I think the he needs to go back and get his game together, forget the captaincy and the silly move to give him number 31. We really have had some DH's running this club for quite a while now.

Brad Scott has learned a good lesson from our club in not jumping to make Zeibel the skipper while Swallow is out, a good hard footballer and on ground leader but Scott didn't fall for that one.

Top post as usual, PSD.

His disposal was a bit hit and miss from the start, still is but he is a much better player than he is showing at the moment. I think the he needs to go back and get his game together, forget the captaincy and the silly move to give him number 31. We really have had some DH's running this club for quite a while now.

Brad Scott has learned a good lesson from our club in not jumping to make Zeibel the skipper while Swallow is out, a good hard footballer and on ground leader but Scott didn't fall for that one.

I agree that he's not the D grader he's showing at the moment, but his disposal seriously needs some inspection, otherwise he won't ever make B grade. Yeah, the #31 stuff is rubbish.

I remember Ken Hinkley in an interview state quite bluntly

If you don't tackle you don't play

I think his players got the message

Neeld of course would have started the sentence with BOYS and ended with a novel

yeah I am better than some. You know why? I don't post garbage

if somebody makes a comment about a group I am a part of that's an insult to me

if that insult is also complete rubbish then yeah you're gonna hear about it from me

too many years of mindless drivel on this board, i'm not apologising for calling people out on it

You're having a laugh, surely. Either you are extremely unaware of your own actions, or you're having a laugh.

You are a prime offender on here for calling people idiots, morons, or just generally insulting their intelligence for expressing an opinion, and you're getting precious over a comment about private schools that wasn't even directed at you?

I went to a private school, but I couldn't give a stuff because the larger point being made is they are soft outside types with no mongrel in them, which on the evidence, is a fair comment.

You don't know what you're talking about. I'll admit that he has poor kicking skills, but he was surely in our best players earlier in the year. "Awesome" at Melbourne doesn't mean the same thing as "awesome" at Geelong, so I can understand you having problems with that word.

But if you don't think Jack Grimes was one of our very best players this year before getting injured, then why don't you tell me who was.

Jack Grimes was having a great year until his injury.

Hard at it.

Keeping in mind he is 23 and probably 3-4 years off his peak, he is well on track to be a really good player for us, disposal can be improved and if i remember correctly we were always desperate to get the ball in his hands when he was first drafted so maybe that's a confidence thing?

Agree - he's missed a large chunk of ball work.

I like him in the midfield.

Also, he's a leader.

Agree - he's missed a large chunk of ball work.

I like him in the midfield.

Also, he's a leader.

jr Grimes is a half back

He is played in the mid field because he is the better of a sorrow bunch.

The same applies to Trengove, he is a half forward.

Melbourne will be a good side when these guys are not needed for the mid field.

I am like many on here a very very passionate member but honestly I'm not angry bitter or disappointed much anymore just loosing interest in this football club I've already lost two of my kids to other clubs and my young fella at 3 won't be far behind. That's the sad part that I can't even convince my kids there is any sort of hope

I'm the same mate, not even angry or upset anymore just bored and don't really care about the club. If people like you and me who would've had bled for the club previously don't even really care anymore and our kids are deserting the club, what hope is there? My son is only a few months old so not old enough to know what horror I have inflicted on him yet by making him an MFC member but if things don't turn around in a few years I have no doubt he will support his mum's team (Geelong) if he even cares at all and who could blame him really? There's losing and then there's just a complete embarrassment and lack of hope.

You don't know what you're talking about. I'll admit that he has poor kicking skills, but he was surely in our best players earlier in the year. "Awesome" at Melbourne doesn't mean the same thing as "awesome" at Geelong, so I can understand you having problems with that word.

But if you don't think Jack Grimes was one of our very best players this year before getting injured, then why don't you tell me who was.

He was certainly a lot better then than he is now. It's easy to forget.

However, that doesn't change the fact that his kicking is as bad as anyone in our side. It always has been, whether he's been in good form or not, and it's holding him back from becoming a better midfielder.

The fact that one of our better mids can't kick, like Grimes, shows exactly where we are at as a football club.

Edited by titan_uranus

jr Grimes is a half back

He is played in the mid field because he is the better of a sorrow bunch.

The same applies to Trengove, he is a half forward.

Melbourne will be a good side when these guys are not needed for the mid field.

This is the thing. We are trying to get square pegs in round holes , out of desperation..

Of course Grimes is a half back player. as is Trenners a forward flanker but neither has the requisite ability to be a destructive mid. For this position(s) you go and get mids . Who'd da thought it so hard to figure out. Apparently the MFC thats who.

Both these guys have been pretty good players at times. God knows whats wrong with JT , certainly of the boil. JG is all over the shop currently , occasionally veering back on path only to lurch back into mediocrity at a moments notice.

Neither of these guys' forte is the boiler room. Get them out and back into a bit of space and better suited tasks. Trenners has a high degree of footy nouse and skilled but is hammered mercilessly by time in the middle especially when seemingly underdone.

Grimes is much better at rebounding and instigating an attack than he is carrying it out.

Good call OD

This is the thing. We are trying to get square pegs in round holes , out of desperation..

Of course Grimes is a half back player. as is Trenners a forward flanker but neither has the requisite ability to be a destructive mid. For this position(s) you go and get mids . Who'd da thought it so hard to figure out. Apparently the MFC thats who.

Both these guys have been pretty good players at times. God knows whats wrong with JT , certainly of the boil. JG is all over the shop currently , occasionally veering back on path only to lurch back into mediocrity at a moments notice.

Neither of these guys' forte is the boiler room. Get them out and back into a bit of space and better suited tasks. Trenners has a high degree of footy nouse and skilled but is hammered mercilessly by time in the middle especially when seemingly underdone.

Grimes is much better at rebounding and instigating an attack than he is carrying it out.

Good call OD

Flexibility is modern footy though, BB. Players will be played and asked to play in multiple positions. Further, there's no way either of these guys aren't mids. They certainly are. They're just struggling at the moment.

Edited by AdamFarr

Flexibility is modern footy though, BB. Players will be played and asked to play in multiple positions. Further, there's no way either of these guys aren't mids. They certainly are. They're just struggling at the moment.

Theres a subtle difference between players playing through the midfield as course of play as opposed to players being the boiler room type mids instigating clearances and such. Neither Trengove nor Grimes are the latter and thats a role theyve been pushed into

result...epic fail

Every time Grimes gets the ball he makes his possession redundant by turning it over. Look, I'll retract the 'plodder' comment, Chook, but I maintain the same view as TU. If his kicking doesn't improve, he will never reach B grade. Jobe Watson couldn't kick either and he's turned it around, so there is hope.