36, 52 & 54

No problem mate

DN9 this is just perfect for quick reference and so complete

I tried with the editor 'paste from word' function and it looked ok in the editor but lost all formatting when posted

This should absolutely be a sticky on the board

Could an adminstrator save this word file on the server, make a sticky and link directly to it so it is easy to use?

Would still rely on DN9 to update each year if he didn't mind......what do you think? ....OK by you?

Edited by daisycutter

so in theory this will be our worst ND ever.

In 2004 we took Matthew Bate, Lynden Dunn and Michael Newton, with the first two being first round picks. So I'd say that "in theory", even if we draft three players this year who turn out to be no good, it wouldn't be worse than the 2004 draft.

DN9 this is just perfect for quick reference and so complete

I tried with the editor 'paste from word' function and it looked ok in the editor but lost all formatting when posted

This should absolutely be a sticky on the board

Could an adminstrator save this word file on the server, make a sticky and link directly to it so it is easy to use?

Would still rely on DN9 to update each year if he didn't mind......what do you think? ....OK by you?

Thanks daisycutter. That would be no problem at all as i update all my documents every match, i have been doing it for years. I have some others if you are interested. Guernsey numbers of every player that has played for the club (about 40 pages)and every single Melbourne players games and goals total (about 30 pages)...a few others as well...let me know if you would like me to post them.

In 2004 we took Matthew Bate, Lynden Dunn and Michael Newton, with the first two being first round picks. So I'd say that "in theory", even if we draft three players this year who turn out to be no good, it wouldn't be worse than the 2004 draft.

we can only hope...................but its a bit hard to engender any enthusiasm at this stage

btw - two of those guys are still on our list so show some respect :)

Thanks daisycutter. That would be no problem at all as i update all my documents every match, i have been doing it for years. I have some others if you are interested. Guernsey numbers of every player that has played for the club (about 40 pages)and every single Melbourne players games and goals total (about 30 pages)...a few others as well...let me know if you would like me to post them.

Great. It's not just me, I think lots of posters would benefit from such easy accessible lists

But its really up to an administrator to put them on the server (your personal upload space wouldn't be big enough I dont think) and create a sticky

Maybe an administrator could give your profile more upload space. That way you could easily maintain them

Lets see if an admin picks up on this first

Great. It's not just me, I think lots of posters would benefit from such easy accessible lists

But its really up to an administrator to put them on the server (your personal upload space wouldn't be big enough I dont think) and create a sticky

Maybe an administrator could give your profile more upload space. That way you could easily maintain them

Lets see if an admin picks up on this first

Sure mate, wlll happily update and upload the docs on a regular basis if the Admins are interested

The Footy Tragic has come out with its own Phantom Draft 2011

These are the FT's MFC picks:-

#36 JOSH WALDHUTER

Height: 184cms Weight: 83kgs DOB: 15.03.93

Recruited from: Central Districts

Position: Midfielder

Reason: Best Available

With the loss of Scully we really need to bolster our midfield stocks. Josh is the hard at, hard bodied midfielder we need. Hasn’t been the greatest accumulator at junior level but we see him as developing into a power midfielder because of his crazy attack on the ball and acceleration away from the stoppages. Similar to Patrick Dangerfield, Josh should compliment our midfield nicely, especially Jack Trengove with the two Croweaters set to become two of the most mispronounced and mis-spelt names in the competition. Waldhuter should be ready to go next year and a round 1 spot in the side is his to lose after Colin Sylvia’s internal suspension.

#52 MARLEY WILLIAMS (MID/FWD)

H: 181cms W: 85kgs DOB: 22/07/1993 Recruited from: Claremont

Was hoping Murray Newman might slip to this selection and was also considering Josh Tynan and Haiden Schloithe. However, am rapt to select Marley Williams who is a thumping kick of the footy and has a bit of the proverbial about him. As previously stated the loss of Scully has diminished our already struggling midfield and with a couple of preseasons under his belt “Bob” could become a more permanent fixture there if he works on his endurance. We see him mainly as a small forward in 2012, with his strong build, decent pace and passion for defensive pressure which will fill a gaping hole left on the list by Wonaeamirri and Maric’s (presence and subsequent) axings. Will be a bit of soul brother for Luke Tapscott and Dees fans should look forward to seeing both filling posts at either end of the ground and making cameo appearances in the centre in 2012.

#54 JORDAN KELLY (DEFENDER)

H: 191cms W: 81kgs DOB: 27/06/93 Recruited from: Dandenong Stingrays

We were hoping for another tall with this pick but with Bussey and Curran gone and the opportunity to pick up another project key forward as a rookie, we felt Jordan Kelly would be the best fit with an eye to the future. Rivers will probably be gone in the next 2-3 years, ditto Joel Macdonald, Warnock has already departed and James Strauss will take a while to recover from a horrific leg break. Jordan can fill a role as another versatile defender on our list, with good pace and skill he can play shutdown and rebounding roles from the backline. We will be hoping to develop him in a similar mould to Colin Garland.

I've been playing around on the AFL website and found two players that stood out in the footage.

Alex Woodward seems to be a small clearance specialist with lightning hands. He came up when I was searching for pace on http://draftmachine.afl.com.au/. Pace plus inside work would be a big tick for me. "Vic Metro U18 rep. Inside mid who reads play and uses ball well. Great work ethic, excellent in the air. Extremely team-oriented. From Dingley JFC."

The second is Clay Smith. From what i've read he's an average kick but his footage shows a great determination for the pill and his championship stats were impressive. "Averaged 17.2 contested possessions and four tackles at U18 champs. Has fearless attack on the ball and opponent, wins contests. U18 All-Australian. From Lucknow FC"

Has anybody seen these guys play or heard anything? Particularly interested in Woodward, he seems like a jet.

The Footy Tragic has come out with its own Phantom Draft 2011

#54 JORDAN KELLY (DEFENDER)

H: 191cms W: 81kgs DOB: 27/06/93 Recruited from: Dandenong Stingrays

We were hoping for another tall with this pick but with Bussey and Curran gone and the opportunity to pick up another project key forward as a rookie, we felt Jordan Kelly would be the best fit with an eye to the future. Rivers will probably be gone in the next 2-3 years, ditto Joel Macdonald, Warnock has already departed and James Strauss will take a while to recover from a horrific leg break. Jordan can fill a role as another versatile defender on our list, with good pace and skill he can play shutdown and rebounding roles from the backline. We will be hoping to develop him in a similar mould to Colin Garland.

Had a lot to do with Caulfield Grammar first XVIII these last 2 years - young Jordie Kelly is a quality kid and good CHB type, needs to fill out a bit as do most 17/18 year olds. We could do (and have done!!) a lot worse than pick him up, there was a real qualtiy about the core group from this side -Jordie along with Tommy Bugg (preselected by GWS) and Seb Gotch carried them a long way

Quigley's Phantom Draft on bigfooty has this bloke taken at 36

Melbourne have acquired Clark to be their big bodied full forward. It’s a shame he doesn’t really play that role at all well. He is much more effective as a mobile CHF (i.e. Watt’s role) or in the ruck (i.e. Jamar’s role). Personally I think Melbourne should be looking for a proper FF to develop behind their current group. Dobosz would be perfect and I think he is a real chance to go here on draft day. McInnes does not really fit the role description but he is probably next best and I would give him a shot here if Dobosz is gone.

Fraser McInnes

DOB 19/7/93 Ht 196 Wt 93

McInnes has a lot of guys who really rate him on BF which is fair enough. He has all the tools and looks like he should be a good player and if I am being honest he is the type of player I usually buy into (see Frost x 2 and Hamling). My problem with him is that for all that he has the tools he rarely makes use of them to do anything particularly useful. He reportedly finished the year strongly making his debut in the WAFL in the final round and admittedly I did not see him during this run but what I have seen of him has left me underwhelmed.

Firstly the good, McInnes has great size for a key position player measuring in above what was advertised which was a nice surprise. He is also physically mature, already being a big unit and having sufficient size to play AFL at an early time. For such a big guy he moves nicely around the park and displays good speed and agility. He has good hands being both good above his head and below his knees. He works hard both ways and he might be one of the better defensive key positions this year when he is playing in the forward half. His skills are solid and apparently his off field preparation is first class. He is very prepared to work hard to improve his game and takes feedback well.

For all of these many great attributes McInnes rarely if ever dominates a game even against kids who were vastly outmatched physically. This is a kid who is for all intents and purposes the same size at Jonathan Patton but whereas Patton dominates those match ups and finishes with bags of goals McInnes will run around and flash some really nice things but end up having too little real impact on the game. If he is unable to dominate against the kids what chance is he to do the same against guys who are the same size as him or bigger in the AFL and every bit as athletic?

Whilst his defensive work up forward is very good he does not display very good defensive skills whilst playing at the back. He is a pretty good read of the ball in the air but he can lose track of his man and be beaten to the ball. He perhaps lacks a little discipline playing in defence which is not all that uncommon for junior forwards who are turning into defenders. Still I would like him to display a bit more instinct for his defensive work. He has the size and athleticism to play as a KPD if he can get the positional aspect worked out.

Up forward despite having very admirable defensive aspects to his game he does not have the scoreboard impact that you would expect. He does not really lead to the dangerous spots nor have the tricks to get clear. He relies on his marking ability too much and I doubt this will be a winning formula at AFL level. He does not seem to have a great deal as far as goal sense and he is a 50/50 proposition as far as finishing goes. He played a fair bit of ruck at Colts level showing nice around the ground skills and a propensity to find plenty of the ball but he is not tall enough to ruck at AFL level even as a second ruck.

McInnes had injuries throughout the year which saw him miss the Champs. He played out the year and the finals for Perth ressies but he did not test at Combine. Again he is one I was interested in seeing how he tested and find it frustrating when these guys decide that they are too injured to run around nws that they played in finals a week or two before. Using the old eyeball test however he looks the goods athletically and I am sure a team is going to take a punt on him probably earlier than I have him here. He is probably going to be a CHF or CHB at AFL level but needs some intensive positional work in order to be at all effective. The big positive for him sounds like he is not afraid of hard work and so will likely do what is required to make something of himself.

Hat tip Roger Mellie

I've been playing around on the AFL website and found two players that stood out in the footage.

Alex Woodward seems to be a small clearance specialist with lightning hands. He came up when I was searching for pace on http://draftmachine.afl.com.au/. Pace plus inside work would be a big tick for me. "Vic Metro U18 rep. Inside mid who reads play and uses ball well. Great work ethic, excellent in the air. Extremely team-oriented. From Dingley JFC."

Funny you mention this, read this on the bigfooty phantom done by 18 members who follow the under agers, each picking for one team obviously. who did we pick? Woodward!

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=887267&page=3

It is a good write up of Woodward, and others...couldnt cut and paste it for some reason

The Footy Tragic has come  out with its own Phantom Draft 2011

These are the FT's MFC picks:-

#36 JOSH WALDHUTER

Height: 184cms Weight: 83kgs DOB: 15.03.93

Recruited from: Central Districts

Position: Midfielder

Reason: Best Available

With the loss of Scully we really need to bolster our midfield stocks. Josh is the hard at, hard bodied midfielder we need. Hasn’t been the greatest accumulator at junior level but we see him as developing into a power midfielder because of his crazy attack on the ball and acceleration away from the stoppages. Similar to Patrick Dangerfield, Josh should compliment our midfield nicely, especially Jack Trengove with the two Croweaters set to become two of the most mispronounced and mis-spelt names in the competition. Waldhuter should be ready to go next year and a round 1 spot in the side is his to lose after Colin Sylvia’s internal suspension.

Quigley:

Players I Don’t Rate that Everyone Else Does

Waldhuter – doesn’t get enough of it for me and I have concerns about his ability to step up to the next level.

36. Waylon Manson

52.Aaron Hall

54. Alex Woodward

Id be very happy with this, and id rookie Brad Couch,Travis Tuck,Wonamerri and Josh Waldhutter

Herald-Sun 'best-ever' draft picks:

31-40

Simon Black (31), Michael O'Loughlin (40), Sam Mitchell (36), Cameron Ling (38), Brendan Fevola (38), Paul Chapman (31), Leigh Montagna (37), Shaun Hart (33), Craig Kelly (34), Mark LeCras (37)

41-50

Adam Goodes (43), Brent Harvey (47), Corey Enright (47), Alistair Lynch (50), David King (46). Andrew Swallow (43), Darren Milburn (48), Heath Scotland (44), Dominic Cassisi (50), Chance Bateman (48)

51+

James Hird (79), Dane Swan (58), Daniel Bradshaw (56), Sam Fisher (55), Ryan O'Keefe (56), Cameron Bruce (64), Brian Lake (71), Chris Newman (55), Richie Vandenberg (78), Chris Grant (105)

Four Brownlow medallists in that lot.

Yeah that's a quality list. In their best number 7 picks ever they have a list of other notables that includes John Meesen.

Pick 36, 52 & 54

Best available of Jackson Merrett, Sam Kerridge, Jimmy Webster, Shane Nelson, Clay Smith, Jordan Kelly, Cameron Ellis-Yolmen

I think West Coast might snag Manson

Will be happy if we get him at 36. Sounds like a ripper from what I have read.

Jai Sheahan

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/hawthorn-has-high-hopes-of-snaring-classy-tall-jai-sheahan/story-fnau1fjg-1226200038776

Inconsistency saw Greater Western Sydney overlook the marking target as one of its 17-year-old picks last year.

But under former Falcons coach Aaron Greaves, Sheahan had a significant turnaround in the second half of the season.

"As a player, I rated him one of the most talented footballers in the TAC Cup," Greaves said.

"His foot skills either side of his body are exceptional and as a big key forward, he is always marking the ball at the highest point.

"He is very quick over the first five metres and we really worked hard on his body work but, athletically, he is outstanding.

"If he gets a clear jump at the ball, he was near unbeatable in the air."

If he isn't picked up by the Hawks at 33 it wouldn't surprise me if we nab him at 36, obviously our new midfield coach Aaron Greaves has a lot of time for him.