Posted

All the more reason that McGinnity should be asked to personally apologize to both Ricky & Mrs. Petterd Eye to Eye.

No Fines No suspensions & i bet you a few bucks he would never do it again.....But no the AFL must uphold its Fat Controller ways.....

Would you apply that same "penalty" to Sherman?

• Replies 128

Posted

For Fark sake we are getting sooooo soft it is ridiculous. Nanny state is an understatement.

Another who seems to know exactly what was said... can one of you better informed posters, please enlighten the rest of us.

Posted

Would you apply that same "penalty" to Sherman?

Yes i would.Eye toEye Mediation brings forward shame and remorse. The way the AFL have handled it McGinnity will be more [censored] off than ashamed.

Posted

Yes i would.Eye toEye Mediation brings forward shame and remorse. The way the AFL have handled it McGinnity will be more [censored] off than ashamed.

Then that's fine. As long as you are consistent I have no problem :-)

Posted

Another who seems to know exactly what was said... can one of you better informed posters, please enlighten the rest of us.

Who cares what he said !!!!! It's a mum babrb get over it !!

Posted (edited)

Ok, now I get it... women are fair game; testosterone rules!

Edited by hardtack
Posted

I don't know what was said but I reckon it would have to be serious

But the worst part of all of this.

WHO FLEW THE FLAG FOR HIM.

I mean is too much to ask a player might have some bloody heart to stick up for his mate.

Where was the bloody response from the team to a mate getting hassled

This bloody club is a mire of pathetic mediocrity it makes you want to spew

Pathetic and gutless someone should of decked this Eagles [censored]

Will no one stand up for this club it is obviously meaningless the couldn't give a shite about a bit of pride.

Um.... definitely watch a replay, mate!

Dunny was in there and so too Jamar and then Chip Frawley came in and tossed Selwood (??) away like a rag doll.

Posted

testosterone rules!

On a football field it does .

Something our boys had better grasp soon .

Posted

A very low act.. And who said on here that nobody went in to help Ricky....Diablo??? He had loads of guys stick up for him..

McGinity should still have to apologize directly to Mrs. Petterd.....little Bastard would crap himself....

Posted

I liked reading that Petterd said he was going to come to Perth and kill McGinnity.

More of that, please.

Posted

mate what if it's your mum he said the same thing how would you react ?????

At the same time look at the incidence in petterd's point of view

Posted

A very low act.. And who said on here that nobody went in to help Ricky....Diablo??? He had loads of guys stick up for him.. McGinity should still have to apologize directly to Mrs. Petterd.....little Bastard would crap himself....

Hardly call a bit of push and shove a response if what was said deserved a week

That was standing up for your mate it was all posturing.

That was softer than fairy floss

It was hardly inspiring display.

Posted

If it means that we are in a PC world or nanny state when we outlaw and punish such appalling comments, then more of it.

Some of the attitudes on this thread are as misguided and exhibit the same lack of judgement that McGinnity. Maybe some of posters should attend the counselling too.

Well done WYL for finally realising when he actually knew what was said that it was a low act and not dismiss the issue as nannyism.

Congtratulations for WCE taking the action and naming and shaming the player.

Posted

Now that WHAT was said has become public, I am even MORE of the opinion that McGinnity was deserving of a penalty. Perhaps a more appropriate penalty would be for McGinnity to explain himself to some victims of sexual assault - since he obviously thinks that threatening to rape a woman is a funny joke, he might want the chance to explain his sense of humour to someone who has survived such an assault. Or maybe he could front the families of a victim who was murdered afterwards to cover up such a crime? What was said is SO far removed from "your Mum is ugly" or "I bonked your Mum last night" there is no excuse. It is not sledging. It is not acceptable. It is not footy. Remember that rape is not about sex, it is about violence. If someone had threatened this violence to YOUR mum (wife/girlfriend,daughter,etc...), would it still be ok?

Watching the footage again, I was happy to see Red and Blue in there. I wondered what the fracas was about at the game. Had I known, I would have been waiting at the carpark to confront the creep myself. If you know women who are survivors of sexual assault, and you see the impact of this on their lives and the lives of their family, you would probably also be upset about this.

If you have also seen the latest reports, you will hear Ricky saying that he didn't report the issue, but the umpires overheard it. While the umps often drive me nuts with their overuse of the whistle, they made the right call on reporting this one. This is not about the AFL trying to be warm and fuzzy, but a club reacting to something unacceptable done by one of their players. And remember they only reacted because the umps heard, if that had not happened, WC would have let him get away with it. This is not 'political correctness gone wrong' but instead it is a case of sending a message that threats such as this are not acceptable.

To those of you who think that this sort of behaviour is ok, shame on you.

For those of you who don't think that women are meaningful in an AFL context - if all those little kiddies' mums withdrew their labour, there would be no AFL in a few years. Someone's MUM takes them to training, washes their gear, and does canteen duty. Someone's MUM makes sure they eat good food so they grow big and strong and able to play the game we all love to watch.

Someone's MUM deserves a lot better than this.

Posted

A few on this thread went the early crow about it being a soft issue didn't they? Come forth and comment on the REAL issue now keyboard heroes/experts! I'm happy to name and shame if you'd prefer.

Geez, could this be a trend over the next few weeks? There could be another thread or two (thousand) where people have made early calls with no evidence to support their case. Might start baking a couple of humble pies just in case there is a rainy day ahead.

WYL - I still understand your thoughts about the fat controller, but the amount of money that the AFL has spent on educational programs regarding the fair treatement of women in society, I'm sorry mate, but he had no choice but make some statement like this. There's a line when you talk about a blokes Mum; we all laugh at the Stiffler's Mum comments, but I would imagine none of us have been guilty of saying something like what PMc said.

PMc is a dog, and I would like to think that next time he plays us, he will learn some valuable lessons.

Posted

mate what if it's your mum he said the same thing how would you react ?????

At the same time look at the incidence in petterd's point of view

Yes I would react the same way and then would leave it on the footy field or settle it in the car park.

Posted

Yes I would react the same way and then would leave it on the footy field or settle it in the car park.

Yes, but in society we give a wittle fine and wittle ban...

Honestly, 'Mum Jokes' didn't get this guy suspended.

Vicious, and sexualised abuse got this guy suspended.

Posted

Now that WHAT was said has become public, I am even MORE of the opinion that McGinnity was deserving of a penalty. Perhaps a more appropriate penalty would be for McGinnity to explain himself to some victims of sexual assault - since he obviously thinks that threatening to rape a woman is a funny joke, he might want the chance to explain his sense of humour to someone who has survived such an assault. Or maybe he could front the families of a victim who was murdered afterwards to cover up such a crime? What was said is SO far removed from "your Mum is ugly" or "I bonked your Mum last night" there is no excuse. It is not sledging. It is not acceptable. It is not footy. Remember that rape is not about sex, it is about violence. If someone had threatened this violence to YOUR mum (wife/girlfriend,daughter,etc...), would it still be ok?

Watching the footage again, I was happy to see Red and Blue in there. I wondered what the fracas was about at the game. Had I known, I would have been waiting at the carpark to confront the creep myself. If you know women who are survivors of sexual assault, and you see the impact of this on their lives and the lives of their family, you would probably also be upset about this.

If you have also seen the latest reports, you will hear Ricky saying that he didn't report the issue, but the umpires overheard it. While the umps often drive me nuts with their overuse of the whistle, they made the right call on reporting this one. This is not about the AFL trying to be warm and fuzzy, but a club reacting to something unacceptable done by one of their players. And remember they only reacted because the umps heard, if that had not happened, WC would have let him get away with it. This is not 'political correctness gone wrong' but instead it is a case of sending a message that threats such as this are not acceptable.

To those of you who think that this sort of behaviour is ok, shame on you.

For those of you who don't think that women are meaningful in an AFL context - if all those little kiddies' mums withdrew their labour, there would be no AFL in a few years. Someone's MUM takes them to training, washes their gear, and does canteen duty. Someone's MUM makes sure they eat good food so they grow big and strong and able to play the game we all love to watch.

Someone's MUM deserves a lot better than this.

Beautifully and eloquently put Suzanna. You have outlined the precise and justifiable reason why McGinnity should be penalised, and why he should be publicly held to account.

Posted

I wish we could trade some of OUR feral supporters to Collingwood. All those who pulled out all the normal PC gone made, nanny state remarks without knowing the full story. Digusting posts. It was obvious that this wasn't a normal mum jibe. No footballer would react in such a way to a fat/ugly mumma joke.

A truly "soft' society is one that doesn't stand up to idiots like McGinnity and Sherman on the field and the racist comments and rapist chants from the crowds.