Posted

Really impressed with Watts' composure and work rate tonight. Multiple leads many times over and displayed really good awareness. His game(s) tonight reminded me very much of Terry Daniher in the '80's. Always on the move, good on the ground and at a lot of contests. I think this might well be Jack's go long term and if he turns out to be vaguely as good as Daniher then we will have done very well.

Posted (edited)

Don't compare Watts to someone, compare someone to Watts, if you know what I mean :)

Edited by eth38
Posted

Don't compare Watts to someone, compare someone to Watts, if you know what I mean :)

Well comparing him to Watts I'd have to say he is just like him.

I've noticed recently that the trolls on BF have started to shut up about him, and those that haven't are getting told they are fools by other opposition supporters. Now I look forward to 10 years of them trying to find things to bag him on because they are jealous they don't have him.

Posted

He's looking better all the time and a couple of good marks are a sign of the future. Look forward to handing out some egg for the idiots to apply to their faces.

Posted
I've noticed recently that the trolls on BF have started to shut up about him, and those that haven't are getting told they are fools by other opposition supporters.

The ones bagging Watts never looked past their own teams .

If tonight in greasy conditions is any example he'll silence them all this year , bigger , stronger , more confident and will only get better .

Just seeing him flying for pack marks without being intimidated by big bodies was great .

Never Fear the #1 Draft pick is here .

Posted

He looked good tonight, his judgment in marking and kicking skills are great.

He has bulked up and was excited by the fact he had done his first pre-season in the interview after the Power game.

He's going to make a lot of people eat humble pie this year, who were to quick to judge a kid who when first played, had come straight from school without a pre-season.

Posted

I for one am disappointed. I was told to believe he was crap and a waste of a number one pick.

Bring back Naitanui.

:rolleyes:

He Is,,, isn't he. I'm sure he is.

Morton's got to be your man, He's the one!

Posted

For Supercoach/Dreamteam fans, Watts surely must be on the radar? Capable of doubling his output this year as he grows in confidence. At his current price (260-280k range) He is the type of unique pick who could win you a league flag ...

Posted

Watts' work rate has always been fantastic.

But as he has gotten bigger, he is now able to effectively fend off I have noticed, rather than get caught ALL THE TIME. Still struggles with the one-on-one loose ball at times, but his work rate is oh so very much there!

Good mark too.

Posted

Never Fear the #1 Draft pick is here .

This is Marvelous, we should make a banner for the MCG Home games with that Emblazened across the great southern!!

Posted (edited)

If I were to compare him to anyone, I'd like to think of him as a young Nick Riewoldt; the same people used to bag the hell out of him when he was a kid, but look at him now: silence....

Edited by Chopper Lovell
Posted

If I were to compare him to anyone, I'd like to think of him as a young Nick Riewoldt; the same people used to bag the hell out of him when he was a kid, but look at him now: silence....

Not so sure about the silence , he'll cop heaps this year .

Posted

second best on ground behind the Trengovernor. Aside from the shanked shot on goal was absolute class. How many big marks? 3 or 4. Was all over the ground playing like a midfielder. F--king gun! Woohoo!

Posted

Forgive me for this post, but, when Killer did the don't argue in the defensive 50 tonight, I had a footy fan climax. Trengove, Jurrah, Jetta, were superb tonight, but seeing Watts starting to add physical dominance to his presence on ground tonight was something worth waiting 3 years for. He has copped so much undeserved criticism from so many people in his first two seasons. The silence will begin this year. Good on him.

Posted

Watts went for big pack mark - that alone would've given him a tick from me tonight. The rest was class. Built on the praccy game. As did Jetta and Maric. These are great signs.

Posted

Thought maric was very good today as a crumbing forward as well

He took all he's opportunities, loved jack watts though, was watching

The game with a Carlton and a essendon supporter and for them to shut

Up and not bag killer was huge, I loved every minute of it, also told my

Mate to enjoy Scott fumbleton!!!

Posted

Terrific. Nightmare for the opposition, running on wing drops back into 50.

Posted

Agreed, best marks he has taken for the MFC.

They were good, but I was more referring to a big pack he went up smack bang in the middle of, didn't get near it, but it was a great sign.

Last year he'd have hung back.

Posted

Keeps on improving.A couple of more pre seasons and WOW- look at what has happened to Chip after a couple of good pre seasons. A definate star in the making.

Posted

Couldn't help but notice the resemblence to the under-18s highlights videos from way back when the debate was about whether he'd be number 1 pick.

It's almost as if, as he has put on strength and stamina to compete at AFL level, he has built up confidence to play his natural game again...