The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Transformation of Lynden Dunn

barpen

Posted

WHO DUNNIT?

Nice article about Dunny's transistion to the life of a tagger. Gotta love the way he goes about his footy as well as being a top bloke off the field. Hopefully he can one day become the hunted.

Future is bright for this one!

Posted

Yeah. You recruit a guy his height you expect him to become a KP player of some description...

I'm hoping he goes the way Ling did... Ling was recruited as a forward, became a tagger, then became a tagger who got lots of touches and is now just a great midfielder.

If Dunn just becomes one of the leagues bet taggers then I reckon that's almost a bit of a loss, having such a talented player play negatively. Like being the smartest kid in special school.

Posted
Yeah. You recruit a guy his height you expect him to become a KP player of some description...

I'm hoping he goes the way Ling did... Ling was recruited as a forward, became a tagger, then became a tagger who got lots of touches and is now just a great midfielder.

If Dunn just becomes one of the leagues bet taggers then I reckon that's almost a bit of a loss, having such a talented player play negatively. Like being the smartest kid in special school.

No need to worry DD. He's already showing an offensive side to his midfield tagging role. In another one or two years I reckon they they might be tagging him.

Posted

The possessions will come.

Where he'll be most damaging however is an abillity to go forward and take a grab

Posted

I challenge anyone who thinks Daniher had no plan B to read the first few paragraphs of that article, then think a little further about their position.

Posted
Still should be forward. Tagging is easy

If he continues to beat guys like Hayes,Goodes and Black in the middle then he is far more valuable doing just that as opposed to taking a few grabs as a CHF. He pantsed Black and that won us the game 2 weeks ago. Its exciting to see and I look forward to seeing his next few victims walk off beaten when they are used to tearing games apart.. He may well end up a forward but he has a huge role in the team right now and is doing it beautifully.

Posted

Good times. Don't underestimate the importance of defensive skills and mindset. No team wins a premiership or any sporting championship for that matter without excelling defensively. It's often a trademark of very good teams that they're able to make their opposition look poor through the pressure and blanketing applied rather than their own attacking brilliance. Dunn's game will benefit greatly by applying a defensive approach to it. As long as it's not countered by offensive ineptitude then I'm all for it. His tagging roles have really added something to the team the last few weeks.

Posted
If he continues to beat guys like Hayes,Goodes and Black in the middle then he is far more valuable doing just that as opposed to taking a few grabs as a CHF. He pantsed Black and that won us the game 2 weeks ago. Its exciting to see and I look forward to seeing his next few victims walk off beaten when they are used to tearing games apart.. He may well end up a forward but he has a huge role in the team right now and is doing it beautifully.

anyone with a semi-decent motor can tag. its easy. if a player is fixated on tagging a player out of a game, then they shouldn't get more than 7 or 8 touches such is the easy nature of tagging. For the record, Simon Black was still named in the best for Brisbane.

Posted
Simon Black was still named in the best for Brisbane.

Freak, who named him in the best? He certainly didn't have his usual impact.

Posted

Another scalp today. I would like to see Cooney`s stats for the year . I think you would find he had his most ineffective day all year. Cooney had 17 touches, Dunn had 15! Pretty sure Cooney would be averaging well over 25 a game. Against one of the faves for the Brownlow, Dunn has done his job yet again!!

Posted
anyone with a semi-decent motor can tag. its easy. if a player is fixated on tagging a player out of a game, then they shouldn't get more than 7 or 8 touches such is the easy nature of tagging. For the record, Simon Black was still named in the best for Brisbane.

Each time you write something on this site, you become more of a tool bag..... And being a tradesman, I already have one of these and really don't wish to see another one every day of my life..... Can you please post on 'ology????

:P I am actually tempted to go back thru your history of posts to see if you have ever said anything that suggests you have a football brain.... :blink:

Posted

I get the feeling that Dunn's being taught his defensive capabilities and over the second half of this year will be told to become damaging on the rebound and force his opponent to be accountable. He's done really well in his role, and today Cooney became another victim of Dunn's transformation.

Posted

black was not in brisbanes best. his output was down, he was restricted in what he was able to do with the ball, his efficiency was very poor (from memory). dunn forced him to rush disposal. clearances mean the ball is cleared from a pack. it doesnt mean it was a good kick or handball, or that it went to a team mate...

Posted

If we can have a Dunn as a tagger, that's great - more flexibility than a Godfrey, and more potential to hurt players the other way.

anyone with a semi-decent motor can tag. its easy. if a player is fixated on tagging a player out of a game, then they shouldn't get more than 7 or 8 touches such is the easy nature of tagging.

Shame the best taggers in the game can't do what you're saying.

Posted
Cooney's 2008 stats

Dunn has done the best job on Cooney this year.

Also kept WB to their lowest score of the year.

Thanks for that Chooka! Awesome effort Dunny, Cooney was averaging 28 touches a game before yesterday. For anyone who does not see this as valuable to the team and would rather he play forward, you seriously do not understand the game of football

Posted
jeez is dunn a smokie for all australian!!

'Brush' is developing really well, and has some impressive scalps, but I think you might be getting a bit carried away if you are talking season 2008.