Posted

Call me a sook, but I always feel really sorry for those that missed out. Probably because I have been through something similar though less important with my daughter missing a cut to make a squad.

• Replies 53

Posted

Name: Trent Zomer

Local Club: South Croydon

Date of Birth: 09/06/1989

Height: 194cms

Weight: 98kgs

Nickname: Big Z, Zom

Favourite Food: Bacon and eggs

Greatest Fear: To wake up with red hair

AFL team you support: St Kilda

Best subject at school: Maths

Favourite movie: Remember the titans, Anchorman

Most memorable moment: Under 18 Grand Fina- 2005

If you have 3 wishes what would they be: 1. More Wishes 2.St Kilda Grand Final 3. Be as couragous as Shaun Dixon

If you could invite any 5 people in the world to dinner who would they be: Dwayne Wade, Jessica Alba, Shaquille O'Neil, Jessica Simpson

Team mate that inspires you: Brad Jones and Shaun Dixon

Favourite football position: Ruck

Best advice you've been given: You only get out what you put in

What would you like to achieve during the 2007 season: Play consistent footy, and make finals

Future career outside of footy: Architecture

Posted

Round 5

58 A Bruce Sydney* Eastlake

59 B Wilkes West Coast Eagles West Coast Eagles

60 J Wilsen Kangaroos St George (NSW Schol.)

Round 6

61 D Terlich Sydney* Murray Bushrangers

62 R Davis West Coast Eagles North Shore (NSW Schol.)

Posted

From Draft Tracker

Trent Zomer-Eastern Ranges

height 196.4 cm

weight 93.9Kg

Tall who began the year as a key backman before finishing season playing up forward and in the ruck.

Leading goalkicker for 2007 for the Eastern Ranges. Quick for his size, has an outstanding leap and spoiling ability.

Sounds great to me!

Posted

Info on Jake Spencer from footydraft.com:

Jake Spencer

Redlands/Queensland

Ht: 203 cm Wt: 93 kg

Junior position – Ruck

AFL position – Ruck

Spencer originally from Townsville before moving to Brisbane has been a big developer this year. Possibly the best of the Queensland rucks at the championships he has continued to improve subsequently and was very good for Redlands in the AFLQ at the end of the year. He is a palm ruck who can ruck with either hand and who often gives his on-ballers first use of the ball in good position. He is a legitimate 203 and he uses his height well. At the moment he is pretty lightly built despite coming in at 93kgs and can get bumped around by more physical rucks. He moves pretty well for a big man and seems to have reasonable endurance. He certainly works hard on the ground and is not afraid to get in and mix it up Jamie Charman like. He is unlikely to ever be a high possession type ruck but he could win a lot of ball and provide good service allowing his team first use of the ball. He is pretty new to the game and there is plenty of potential for him to improve a great deal. He can kick off either foot and his skills have improved a lot over recent times.

Strengths: Good height and hard at it attitude. Has improved a great deal this year and is still a lot of potential for improvement in him.

Weaknesses Not really a factor around the ground.

Question marks: Will his rapid development continue

Draft Prediction: Rookie

Posted

3 developing talls, 2 mids who have played senior footy, no utilities. I can live with that.

No point taking 4 development players as rookies, because it leaves you with no scope in next year's rookie draft.

Posted
If you could invite any 5 people in the world to dinner who would they be: Dwayne Wade, Jessica Alba, Shaquille O'Neil, Jessica Simpson

plus someone to teach me how to count to 5?

Posted

No problem. Just get rid of the weakest one or two at season end.

Given it was a shallow pond to fish in, I cant get overly excited about what we have selected given how raw and uncertain their talent is. Hopefully one of the players will make it to the big time and contributed. Having seen Valenti and Martin play, I cant get excited by either. For all his courage, Valenti is slow. Martin cant kick and is indeed raw.

Posted
Round 5

58 A Bruce Sydney* Eastlake

59 B Wilkes West Coast Eagles West Coast Eagles

60 J Wilsen Kangaroos St George (NSW Schol.)

Round 6

61 D Terlich Sydney* Murray Bushrangers

62 R Davis West Coast Eagles North Shore (NSW Schol.)

HEY! BRUCE MADE IT IN!

At least one guy from Canberra got a gig this year.

And Go Eastlake! (Demons)

Posted
Zomer (194cm, 94kg) and Martin (197cm, 95kg) are both "speculative" talls. Wonaemirri (182cm, 78kg) is a Tiwi Islander and sounds like he's in the mould of Davey or Weetra.

Maurie, I think you'll find that with the exception of Scott Welsh, every player picked up today is a "speculative' choice. IMO, this is were the recruiting managers show their credentials.

Posted

Hooray for Valenti! Even if he doesn't make it, it's a good story that he stuck it out and we finally gave him a chance.

Can't really comment on the others, given that I can barely even pronounce their names.

We know most rookies don't make it.... but being on the Melbourne rookie list definitely increases your chances, so good luck to them all :D

Posted
Maurie, I think you'll find that with the exception of Scott Welsh, every player picked up today is a "speculative' choice. IMO, this is were the recruiting managers show their credentials.

Yeah, but a tall rookie is the most speculative of the lot.

Posted

AUSSIE WONAEAMIRRI would seem to be the smokey on our lsit.. Dosnt seem to have been training with any of teh vic clubs the past few weks.. ( open to correction ) Must have been a bit more of Sir Baileys' local knowledge coming into play.

... someone go sign up Tiwi Island as members !!

wonder if Martin and Valenti keep their old lockers at TBO ? lol

So whilst the Toiges were knicking our CAC we must have had someone in the stands !! All very cat and mouse isnt it heheh !!

Posted
Hopefully Aussie Wonaeamirri won't be Daniel Hayes Mark II

I'll be checking the progress of this bloke the most out of all the rookies. Could be something.

Why would he be?

Posted

awww we got aussie!! seriously i have seen this kid play and he is just a freak of nature! he is our new alwyn davey now!

peter summer and alistair neville didn't get a spot either for those who care

Posted
thank god melbourne didnt risk sampi. well done melbourne. he was overweight and had little interest in afl. nice work

I didn't want him either.

Posted

does that also mean that austin and jake spencer will have two years on the rookie list because they are interstate players??

Posted
does that also mean that austin and jake spencer will have two years on the rookie list because they are interstate players??

Believe so.

Posted

youd want to think Spencer would be afforded more than one year anyway to show some development.

The chant of Aussie Aussie Aussie..... seems somehow destined !! lol :)

Posted

one of aussies fans from bigfooty wrote this:

Watched Aussie play nearly a whole season with Norwood this year and you've got yourselves a good one. For someone so young, who's obviously still got a lot of improvement left in him, he was a revelation to us Redlegs fans.

His most striking attribute is in running players down from behind as his ability to close quickly on players when they least expect it is about the best I've ever seen. Added to that he's got a great eye for goal and is a very level headed young man.

I have nothing but praise for him and wish him every luck with the mighty Demons.

(And no, I'm not his father!)

Posted

I look forward to seeing Jake Spencer in action. We've finally recruited a bloke over 200cm. Hopefully he's not another Brendan Van Shaik.

Posted
awww we got aussie!! seriously i have seen this kid play and he is just a freak of nature! he is our new alwyn davey now!

i know people have short memories...but before alwyn there was AARON....

and even with all the scum's hype of Alwyn..he is no Aaron...

so people stop salivating over the lesser brother..we have the ONLY DAVEY U WOULD WANT