Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 06 vs Brisbane

2 minutes ago, Garbo said:

Best thing about that is we never gave up and kept coming back for more, didn’t drop the head when we made mistakes. We just need to figure out how to bring that every week

That’s the aspect that I’m really surprised with. One pre-season and we seem mentally steady.

I was again impressed with our level headedness in the last couple of mins. Good work winding the clock down, slowing things down, etc.

This game will give JVR some much-needed confidence.

Kicking three on a full-back beast like Harris Andrews is huge! Happy for him.

Jim was certainly helping when Lions player marked on the line, played on and kicked a goal. Umpire called for review of mark, had to go back and take his kick. Passed to a teammate who missed. The luck of the Irish there!

12 minutes ago, DubDee said:

That has to be our youngest side for a decade

Kingy knows what he is doing.

Amazing win

Honestly didn’t think we’d have the resilience to hold on

I hate to say it but it helps not having the headless chooks of Petracca, Oliver and Viney out there blasting the ball skyward at every opportunity.

Genuinely lost for words.

You'd look at the team sheet and if it was this this time last year we'd get smashed easily by 50 odd points.

Kingy has given this group a steely resolve since probably the successful Daniher years.

Our kids today played like grown men.

Unbelievable win from this never say die Demons side. I thought we would get taught a football lesson today but credit to the team they well and truly stood up to the task.

Kade Chandler take a bow! BOG for mine, kicked 3 and I thought should have 2 others credited to him for the work he did upfield. Becoming an extremely reliable player, far more than I thought he was capable of.

Gee that was exciting to be there. Great atmosphere, great footy all round

Super proud of such a young group. To think we beat the reigning premier with 12 blokes under 50 games is an incredible effort.

35 minutes ago, Red But Mostly Blue said:

I hope Koz is ok with that bump… 😬

Nothing to worry about. It was the contact with checkers hip or leg which did it.

1 minute ago, godees said:

Nothing to worry about. It was the contact with checkers hip or leg which did it.

Not sure about that

6 minutes ago, Chook said:

I hate to say it but it helps not having the headless chooks of Petracca, Oliver and Viney out there blasting the ball skyward at every opportunity.

In the last few years, Oliver and Trac always lacked composure in tight games. It’s a big reason why we lost so many of them.

I am so impressed with the mindset and determination of this team

Young kids without egos having fun out there.

Just love everything about Kozzie. His second, third and fourth efforts are unbelievable, but to sprint 50 metres to give Andrews a bit of lip after JvR took that hanger on him had me in stitches.

Great match with so much promise in the style and attitude. WTF was last week if we can knock off the reigning premiers and then a fortnight before one of the odds on favourites. Alas it is a great way to start the week. Any updates on Petty?

I’m not normally one to brag, but this is what I wrote early in this Gameday Thread:

I’m always an optimist when it comes to the Dees, and that’s not changing because of a one game ‘stinker’ vs Ess’don.

After all, we lost 5 of our first 6 outings in 2025 (including a ‘stinker’ vs Ess’don) and still beat Brisbane on their own ‘dung heap’ a few weeks later!

I love the youthful look of our team today, and I have a hunch that these pages might be on an ‘Artemis 2’ high come 6:00 this evening.

Dees by 5 points, after a few nervy moments along the way.  ❤️💙

Okay, I know I didn’t get the quite right ……. 😀

How about Trelle’s pass to JVR in the last? Electric.

I had a couple of early doubts about the kid, but not anymore. He belongs.

Just now, roy11 said:

Not sure about that

He was watching where his kick went until he contacted checkers.

Edit: it was his shoulder, not hip/leg

Edited by godees

Hope Petty is ok.

That aside I still don’t think we know what our best team looks like yet. At times some silly errors / disposals but considering a first gamer, Jeffo playing game number 8 and Moose his 1st for the club we still haven’t fully clicked yet.

Latrelle’s pass to Roo in the last, loving his work, he’s got so much more to learn and he’ll become an awesome addition to our team.

The MCC members were going off with every goal. They were swinging their scarves around and around with the jig. It looked fabulous.

25 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

What a stat when was the last time that happened?

Could not get his hands to it.

Brisbane were doing alot of work of the ball on him.

Kingy has to seek clarification on this going forward alot of illegal checking getting to marking contests and in marking contests.

28 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

What a stat when was the last time that happened?

Could not get his hands to it.

Brisbane were doing alot of work of the ball on him.

Kingy has to seek clarification on this going forward alot of illegal checking getting to marking contests and in marking contests.

Max brought the ball to ground plenty.

If Langford can work with a physio and/or speed coach in the offseason, just to find half a yard, it'll make a world of difference.

He's a freak but slow. Just a touch more pace and he'll be incredible.

24 minutes ago, darkhorse72 said:

Amazing game against the reigning best in the comp. Kade was great along with Langford growing. But I really like how Lattrell is developing his game. Not getting a lot of goals, but linking and running across the field and building his confidence at this level.

Great call, I thought he was far more involved today and not trying to take the entire game on by himself. Still made a couple of basic errors but made some smart, cool-headed decisions too not least of which was the centring kick to JVR in the last.

3 minutes ago, roy11 said:

Not sure about that

Knowing us, the tribunal will cite and convict both Pickett and Mihocek, and they'll be sentenced to 10 years hard labour in the salt mines.

Great win great game, great to see young guns played well, Jvr stood up, great pressure , continued to take game on