Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 03 vs Carlton

3 hours ago, layzie said:

I've had enough of it too, it's a low hanging fruit comment after a win to bag out anyone who was slightly negative in the gameday thread and gain popularity.

Jump off the high horse and onto the Max horse I say.

I’m sorry but this isn’t about slightly negative comments my point on the game day thread is the personal attacks on players especially the whipping boys like Sparrow, Lever and Kolt.

We have the resident peanut going on about Clarry not being in there as the reason for yesterday and we have supporters stating King has destroyed our defensive capabilities in a few months.

How long have we all been involved in or watched footy, judging by our supporters demographics I’d say the answer for most of us is a long time. So by all means vent, fumbles, poor efforts at contested loose ground balls, players not attacking the aerial ball coming in, getting smashed at the clearance and skill errors that’s fine.

Don’t get personal and King is what 9 quarters into his coaching career when these comments were made, Give him some time to prove he can change things or not. We’ve put it out there how we’re going to play and opposition teams aren’t just going to allow us to do that, they’ll put work into us to prevent the run and we have to work through challenges and figure it out. Carlton had 17 days to go away and work on a plan to stop our run and win the game

Maybe see what King and the team can do to counter what Carlton bring

The smashing at the clearance yesterday was obvious to all of us, and as I said we have the old Clarry and Trac whingers saying I told you so, well the boys need to learn the hard way and exposure does this as it did for the Hawks when the moved Mitchell and O”Meara to expose the youth. Well I think yesterday Sparrow, Kossie and Windsor worked their way through it and with Steele adding far more structural wise to our midfield I think the new brigade can continue to develop.

The defence struggled early yesterday but who wouldn’t have the way we were getting dominated at the clearance and couldn’t create any run from our D50 meant they were under siege. Well done to Lever and Tmac who stood tall and to Kolt and Howes who both turned around shaky starts.

Anyone who has sat in a coaches box understands identity what’s happening, stay calm and try to work through what’s been presented. It won’t always work but at least see how a coaching group responds

So kudos for yesterday and we move on to Gold Coast who’ve also had time to counter our game they present a huge challenge with their ability to win contested footy, run 2 ways and impact the scoreboard.

Vent if you want but keep it reasonable

Edited by Pennant St Dee

16 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

I’m sorry but this isn’t about slightly negative comments my point on the game day thread is the personal attacks on players especially the whipping boys like Sparrow, Lever and Kolt.

We have the resident peanut going on about Clarry not being in there as the reason for yesterday and we have supporters stating King has destroyed our defensive capabilities in a few months.

How long have we all been involved in or watched footy, judging by our supporters demographics I’d say the answer for most of us is a long time. So by all means vent, fumbles, poor efforts at contested loose ground balls, players not attacking the aerial ball coming in, getting smashed at the clearance and skill errors that’s fine.

Don’t get personal and King is what 9 quarters into his coaching career when these comments were made, Give him some time to prove he can change things or not. We’ve put it out there how we’re going to play and opposition teams aren’t just going to allow us to do that, they’ll put work into us to prevent the run and we have to work through challenges and figure it out. Carlton had 17 days to go away and work on a plan to stop our run and win the game

The smashing at the clearance yesterday was obvious to all of us, and as I said we have the old Clarry and Trac whingers saying I told you so, well the boys need to learn the hard way and exposure does this as it did for the Hawks when the moved Mitchell and O”Meara to expose the youth. Well I think yesterday Sparrow, Kossie and Windsor worked their way through it and with Steele adding far more structural wise to our midfield I think the new brigade can continue to develop.

The defence struggled early yesterday but who wouldn’t have the way we were getting dominated at the clearance and couldn’t create any run from our D50 meant they were under siege. Well done to Lever and Tmac who stood tall and to Kolt and Howes who both turned around shaky starts.

Anyone who has sat in a coaches box understands identity what’s happening, stay calm and try to work through what’s been presented. It won’t always work but at least see how a coaching group responds

So kudos for yesterday and we move on to Gold Coast who’ve also had time to counter our game they present a huge challenge with their ability to win contested footy, run 2 ways and impact the scoreboard.

Stop being so reasonable!!! 🤣

Seriously though, yeah, the truth is we are going to do some losing this year and sometimes it won't be pretty, but that's when we're going to do the most learning (sorry to use that word), but Kingy has already struck me as somebody willing to try things and take the game on.

I think we're in for a bit of a rollercoaster, but how good does that feel sometimes??? (I love 'em!).

30 minutes ago, Rivervale Redleg said:

My neighbours hate me.....

May your neighbours continue to hate you every week deep into September 😀

13 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

I'd just like to add that the constant stream of one line 'Player x you muppet' and 'Player y eats donkeys balls' is completely unhelpful and ruins the thread. Totally useless tedium for anyone who had hoped to get a sense of the game from a Demon perspective.

Maybe a simple guideline would be for posts to actually describe something.

Like 'Alistair Nicholson has allowed too many marks on the lead against him, but then loses tracl of his opponent when he tries to plsy in front. I think we need to shake up our tall defenders"

Instead of 'Nicho is a slow and dumb spud and Daniher should be sacked for playing him"

24 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

This made me laugh. If only it was confined to slightly negative comments, maybe then it would be readable.

The gameday thread is a thread of two halves for me, the first half ending just before the ball-up.

I don’t mind supporters having a crack at players performance on the day. It gets at me when they go on and attack saying things like ‘worst player we have ever had’, ‘should never play again’ ‘needs to be delisted’.

Anyone who has played a reasonable level of sport knows that some days your form drops, some weeks you can lose a bit of confidence, or you maybe injured. I use Harry Sharp as an example of someone who just needs a little time and patience to learn his role. He now looks settled.

We will suck at different times this year and individually our players will panic, we just need to show a little understanding and not call for them to lose their employment after each poor decision.

21 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

I think you’re misunderstanding the use of the game day thread. It’s simply a release. like a seedy punk night club from the early 80’s where everyone is either fully or partly off their face. Dark imaginings come and go as quickly as wildly beatific insights. Threats appear and evaporate … and reappear . The music is loud . Everyone’s jumping up and down and crashing into each other … it’s a place to lose yourself ….but not for reason.

When the game is done and the dance club closes everyone wanders out to the post game thread and reason re establishes itself.

Reason will never rule in the game day thread. It’s part insane asylum , part passion , part therapy. looking for “reasonable” in the game day thread is a lost cause!

45 minutes ago, Rivervale Redleg said:

My neighbours hate me.....

So do mine. 😂

3 hours ago, Red But Mostly Blue said:

I was hoping Clarry would be there :

The next question was Tracca there,

Apologies if mentioned elsewhere

14 minutes ago, SPC said:

Anyone who has played a reasonable level of sport knows that some days your form drops, some weeks you can lose a bit of confidence, or you maybe injured. I use Harry Sharp as an example of someone who just needs a little time and patience to learn his role. He now looks settled.

New game plan suits him too, hopefully the likes of Jeffo/Laurie get some exposure to it before decisions are made on their future

18 hours ago, layzie said:

We really aren't

18 hours ago, Ditcha said:

What a great comeback to win the game. I walked home to Richmond very happy. Still a lot of work to do, but we are only 3 games in to the new era. I will watch the last quarter again tonight.

2 out of 3 is a good start imo.

3 minutes ago, roy11 said:

New game plan suits him too, hopefully the likes of Jeffo/Laurie get some exposure to it before decisions are made on their future

I already have, neither has senior level talent.

3 hours ago, layzie said:

Confession time.

I thought about not doing this. I don't want to make things about me. I don't want to draw attention to myself, if you want to have a pop at me go for it (although it's unlikely I'll read it). It's hard to lie here and although I don't know a lot of people here personally, I do like to share occasionally.

I left the game early yesterday. As with most other people it's something I hate doing. During the Goodwin top 4 runs, footy came first and I blew off a lot of family events to attend games and watch them. That night in early 2023 when Max was injured up in Brisbane I walked out of the restaurant at my brother's birthday and didn't come back. In the last year I've really thought about my relationship with supporting this club and as much as I love it I don't want to be married to it. I'm going to be a parent next month and my mum just finished several rounds of chemo. I see this time as one to still be a good fan but repay the debt a little. There was a chance I wasn't going to make it at all to this game but living close by I did want to make an appearance for Max and Tom.

I left during the third quarter to get home and be with my partner. It wasn't due to losing because as you know we were coming back. I still watched on and despite a big fluff up in the stream just before Langford kicked the go-ahead goal, I loved every bit of it and couldn't have been more proud.

I take being a supporter seriously. I stayed to the end in 08 against Freo, same with Brisbane in 23 when we were nearly 4 goals down with 6 mins to go. Maybe I'm not the biggest and best Demons fan right now but life has it's ebbs and flows.

To those of you there till the end, you're awesome. Truly awesome.

That's all.

Mate, you do not owe anything to anyone (except your family and friends) and certainly not an explanation to some randoms on a website about why you decided to go home to be with your pregnant wife.

Congrats by the way, such an exciting time

That 2nd half!!!

Problem solved if there’s nothing decent to watch over Easter.

2 hours ago, jnrmac said:

Kolt went to half back when CJ went down. Played a pretty good game back there

I have been a big critic of Kolt. But this year he has been better, I think because he has an actual role, playing back I think suits him a lot more than the forward line.

51 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

I'd just like to add that the constant stream of one line 'Player x you muppet' and 'Player y eats donkeys balls' is completely unhelpful and ruins the thread. Totally useless tedium for anyone who had hoped to get a sense of the game from a Demon perspective.

Maybe a simple guideline would be for posts to actually describe something.

Like 'Alistair Nicholson has allowed too many marks on the lead against him, but then loses tracl of his opponent when he tries to plsy in front. I think we need to shake up our tall defenders"

Instead of 'Nicho is a slow and dumb spud and Daniher should be sacked for playing him"

That analytical game day thread contribution was probably left in 2006, so apt examples.

6 minutes ago, TRIGON said:

That 2nd half!!!

Problem solved if there’s nothing decent to watch over Easter.

I've already watched it 3 times 😅
Kozzie, Gawn and Lever huge.
Sparrow really stepped up to what we need him to be.
Windsor found a spark.
Young Cox had a nice 1st game, an important goal, at least a couple more score assists and crashing packs. (hope to see him next game).
Fritta with 4 telling goals when we needed them. (Coulda had a couple more if he attacked the ball 🤣)
Everyone stepped up when it was their turn.
And lastly ..... It's amazing what happens when your set shots are going through.
(Special mention to Langdon, didn't think he had either of those in him.)

41 minutes ago, 640MD said:

Tracc wasn’t there. Reason unknown. But he is injured so maybe that’s the reason for his absence.

2 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Tracc wasn’t there. Reason unknown. But he is injured so maybe that’s the reason for his absence.

Perhaps he wasn’t invited.

14 hours ago, GS_1905 said:

Watched the replay and I reckon I counted 4-5 Cripps throws several unpaid HTB so when they finally paid thrb2 HTB in the final quarter - even if they were 50/50, it still didn’t make up for everything else that was missed.

good win. Our first quarter jitters are now a problem. That’s 3 games now getting

He is perpetual chucker.

2x Brownlow medallist tells you all you need to know about the value of it now.

4 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Interesting tactic by Gawn and the coaches. Didn't notice this at first but seems very obvious now.

https://www.instagram.com/p/DWdriipmfGh/?img_index=1&igsh=bHZ2dHg1Z3J2dm5i

I think if you look at the consistency of our centre square attendances, and how consistent that was in this game compared to the previous games, it’s pretty obvious the plan was to try and break even in the little circle (knowing that would be our weakness), and get them on the outside.

Pittonet really worked hard early to nullify Max, but he just couldn’t do it for 4 quarters. Max is the only player in the competition that looks at a broken hand as a chance to be fitter. He’s absolutely grinding players into the dust because of his aerobic capacity.

Sparrow also has to get credit for his ability to break away in his first 2-3 steps. I reckon it was his best game for the club.

8 minutes ago, Fork 'em said:

I've already watched it 3 times 😅
Kozzie, Gawn and Lever huge.
Sparrow really stepped up to what we need him to be.
Windsor found a spark.
Young Cox had a nice 1st game, an important goal, at least a couple more score assists and crashing packs. (hope to see him next game).
Fritta with 4 telling goals when we needed them. (Coulda had a couple more if he attacked the ball 🤣)
Everyone stepped up when it was their turn.
And lastly ..... It's amazing what happens when your set shots are going through.
(Special mention to Langdon, didn't think he had either of those in him.)

I was extremely close in writing Lever off but I'm glad I said it on the forum and to myself that I was going to give him a month to get some form back.

On the third time of asking he has played a game that Jake, the coaches and supporters would be proud of.

Let's hope he can maintain that level.

55 minutes ago, 640MD said:

My understanding is he wasn't (able to be?) there.