Reading the bulk of this clearly indicates why NAPLAN results show that one in three children are not proficient in literacy...

1 minute ago, BLWNBA said:

Reading the bulk of this clearly indicates why NAPLAN results show that one in three children are not proficient in literacy...

the education state apparently

1 minute ago, sisso said:

Can't see it happening at all unless we got a crazy offer

I'm on the fence about whether it happened or not, personally. Though I think it's far more likely to come down to how desperate we are to regenerate the list, as opposed to receiving a crazy offer. I think the trade and free agency period will be very interesting for us and probably dictate our position over the next few years, against the backdrop of the impending Tassie concessions.

You'd think that with some of the reported interests we have in some other players in the league, something has to give if we're looking to seriously move our list.

Edited by BLWNBA

i presume he is a pre-agent at the end of this season?

no doubt he'd have 'value' for sides looking for that last little bit of f50 oomph to go from top 4 to premiership, top 8 to top 4, etc.

i still see him as our best f50 player

Fritta for Harry McKay.

You heard it here first.

Solves problems. We both lose one set of problems (..... and inherit anotherlaugh)

47 minutes ago, BLWNBA said:

“… one in three children IS not proficient…”

Edited by Ghostwriter

5 hours ago, jackaub said:

Press reporting Fritch won't be at the dees next year

5 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

And this is how Chinese whispers and the media works, opening Post is inaccurate.

Will Bayley Fritsch be at the Dee’s next year is a bit of a giveaway that it’s an opinion piece.

But let’s not let get in the way of the truth

Edited by Pennant St Dee

3 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

He plays according to the role he’s given

He did last week and was very good but he doesn’t play the role he is given every week

There is not a coach on earth who sends him out to half heartedly put 1 arm out in a poor tackle attempt or to not chase with intensity.

I get his kicking for goals not being as good as previous years is a confidence thing but the reason he was dropped and hasn’t performed to the level he did last week is very much under his control

3 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Fritta is the type of player that under s good solid coaching regime with the appropriate game plan such as a Brisbane or Collingwood, could still kick over 50 goals a season.

He’s the perfect cherry on top player for a contending club

It might be an obvious thing to say but it’s no surprise his best goal kicking returns game when we were contending across 2021-23 (minus his injury effected back half of 23)

Frittata is on the latest episode of That's Good For Footy with Claz. It popped up in my youtube feed yesterday.

1 hour ago, DubDee said:

Would swapping Harrison Jones or Peter Wright plus a pick change anyone's mind?

I might consider Jones?

For Fritta? 🤮 Jones is average at best and Wright has had 1 good season in 10 and sleeps with the lights on

It was rumoured ages ago. Are there only a handful of demonlanders that heard it and have since been watching his poor efforts through the lens of him having one foot out the door?

5 hours ago, Demonland said:

Earlier in the year a mate of mine who has been on the money on a number of occasions said he heard the Bombers were into him. Mate is not affiliated with the Bombers but has an acquaintance who is. Take with a grain of salt.

Thanks mate.

I might take mine with a handful of Maldon sea salt flakes, a couple of Salada biscuits (all four squares), some Himalayan rock salt - ground, a few anchovies straight from the tin, and 3 slices of Capricciosa - extra olives.

3 hours ago, jnrmac said:

The Bailey Fritsch from the North Melbourne game is a required player. The Bailey Fritsch from the previous 2 years not so much.

Supporters always want to see the band stick together after 2021, we all love Clarry, Trac, Fritta etc etc, but there comes a time when we have to start moving on some of our premiership heros for the benefit of the list moving forward

4 minutes ago, Billy said:

Supporters always want to see the band stick together after 2021, we all love Clarry, Trac, Fritta etc etc, but there comes a time when we have to start moving on some of our premiership heros for the benefit of the list moving forward

Agree wholeheartedly

6 hours ago, BLWNBA said:

Now, I'm viewing this as is - I haven't seen an expanded segment so am relying on this as the full context. But Mitch Cleary is absolutely one of the more reputable news breakers out there and I'd give some weight to this. Although, it comes across far more as an opinion, cf. a statement of fact - at least regarding the context given in the clip.

From what was heard Mitch will not be at 7 next year along with a few older stalwarts.

5 hours ago, joeboy said:

I’m pretty sure it was John Ralph who stated last week on one of Foxtel’s footy shows that Fritsch loves the Demons and is not going anywhere

I heard that Fritsch was upset and felt blindsided about Lever being dropped.

Been knocking him this year but I don't think trading him is a good move. He's still a proven scorer and we need those.

2 hours ago, BLWNBA said:

Maybe they learned English at school, I did.

After Goody says that where we are in the transition is essentially meshing/integrating the younger players with the older players, according to the media, in one of the weakest draft pools for some time and probably the most comprised draft pool ever, we are going to trade Trac, Clarry, Fritta (all mentioned here) and Lever (mentioned previously). If not, trading into future drafts compromised by Tassie.

Doesn’t make sense in any way to me.

49 minutes ago, demoncat said:

He’s the perfect cherry on top player for a contending club

It might be an obvious thing to say but it’s no surprise his best goal kicking returns game when we were contending across 2021-23 (minus his injury effected back half of 23)

Yep.

Bottom line is we need to trade in at least one highly skilled half back flanker/mid who can reliably hit targets by foot.

And we need to draft in such a player too

To do both we need capital.

And to get that we need to be prepared to bite the bullet and trade out at least one player who we can get a decent return from.

Makes little sense to trade out any of our young guns like mcvee, jvr, Windsor etc.

So we need to trade out at least one high value best 22 senior player.

Realistically Tracc, Fritter and Rivers are arguably our only such players (I'm not including anyone we've recently resigned or maxy as there's no world in which we'd trade him)

With his contract Tracc would be tricky to trade, and unless he wants out there's not really a scenario where we come out winners by trading him (that's to say even if we brought in another gun he's unlikely, on net, to have more impact than tracc).

That leaves Rivers and Fritter.

And for mine as much as there is a contradiction in trading out an elite kick to bring in another Fritter is the obvious one to trade.

As you note DC he would fit perfectly into a club like the hawks, lions or even pies that have plenty of elite kicks in their midfield and back half. And he's still producing high quality footy.

Taken together, he has good trade value.

Would be happy to move him on for both club player, have stated exactly why many times and mentioned Fritsch as a player I thought would be good to move.

Also, people seem to forget you can trade future draft picks so worrying about next year's draft class is a non-issue. It's also a non-issue because as we've seen so many times, the direct pick you inheret from a trade is not always the one you go to the draft with. So obviously it gives you options to move up, trade for another player etc.

And the fact remains, these things need to happen for clubs to move forward.

I'd welcome it, I think Bayley has been unbelievably underwhelming for a couple of years now and his lack of defensive actions and team first actions have been seriously bad and I'd go as far to say have rubbed his team mates the wrong way. Another one who Goody has let slide on multiple occasions, which I haven't agreed with.

Time to evolve this list.

Oliver next.

Edited by Howard_Grimes

3 hours ago, Clintosaurus said:

Mitch Cleary the Geelong shill? But also Collingwood or Hawthorn at the moment. Seems the AFL want 3 Victorian powerhouses while the other 7 are District 12 in comparison. Journos would not be pushing narratives for all these players to go to one of those three without HQ being OK with it. Especially as some of it is on the AFL website.

Good take.