The appalling umpiring feels as bad as it does because of the way some decisions either sapped momentum or handed them a score.

But we continue to let ourselves down in the same ways.

21 inside 50s to 9 in the second quarter but we lost it by 8 points.

Fritsch playing on from 15m out.

Gawn’s turnover in the middle of the ground.

Oliver out on the full in the last 2 minutes when a point could have snared us a draw (almost as good as a win given our percentage).

Losing a close one (our record in close games over the last few years is really poor).

We are such a low-skilled side by foot, even when we bring elite pressure, stoppage and defensive gameplay to keep the runaway flag favourites on the back foot most of the day, we still can’t do enough on the scoreboard.

I didn't realise max got called to play on with that final kick.

He wasn't happy about that call either.

He & may will be fine. They're grown men

Just now, Dr. Gonzo said:

He had just kicked two on the run, his confidence should have been sky high. Was only 20m out it was a gimme.

The relevant point Dr. G being ‘on the run’, exactly what he tried to replicate by NOT taking the set shot. His yips entirely relate to the set shot. I could read his thinking as it was happening.

1 minute ago, Roost it far said:

It’s time a few coaches spoke openly about the standard of umpiring. It’s embarrassing and ruins games. I rarely account for umpiring and still believe we lost that game with a handful of bad decisions but geez they were awful today.

Yes but don't just sook about it, call out specific incidents. Like the free against Melksham just before halftime. Like the deliberate against Sparrow vs similar from oppo (Quaynor?) Like the scragging against Oliver/Petracca all day.

Highlight the specific incidents to raise discussion, just sooking about poor umpiring won't get you anywhere.

15 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

So sick of losing to these bastards.

So sick of losing by the same method over and again.

So sick of missing easy shots at goal.

So sick of seeing experienced players panic and butcher the footy.

So sick of seeing big bodied players with no physicality.

So sick of seeing us get worked over on the rebound and giving up easy kicks to loose oppo.

So sick of seeing our players give away dumb free kicks.

So sick of not seeing those same tiggy touchwood decisions going our way.

Just sick of it.

Post of the year

15 minutes ago, Fork 'em said:

They know they can't deliver with precision.
So they bomb.
Get it in there and hope someone else can finish.
That's the game plan.
Problem is they cannot even bomb to advantage.

Plenty of footage shows free players calling for it yet the obsession to bomb is utterly dumb, lower your eyes and vision , our finishing by Trac & Oliver isn’t great! Yeah they win it but if ur finishing isn’t there .. means stuff all

Edited by Demonsone

1 hour ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

They played there part @Jibroni

Don't be fooled.

Pedant alert! "The umpires played their part (not there)"

In my humble opinion, we lost because in that last quarter. 4 times I think we licked high and long when we were outnumbered or in a poor position. They marked it and ran it wide . And we sort of chased it or them. No one was in the clear or making a lead or space just a waste of an entry into our forward section. I am bitterly disappointed

Gonna have nightmares about Gawn trying to pick out Bowey amongst 3 pies and turning it over for a goal.

Ditto Howes letting Long (I think) turn inside and set up a goal instead of pushing him to the boundary.

Melksham missing some he would ordinarily kick. Petty trying a drop punt from a 90° angle instead of a banana and putting it out on tbe full.

Should’ve won that. Kozzie one of the best goals you’ll see. Frittata was good today apart from the play on. Lever also good.

Trac and Oliver were disappointing, Trac may have had too much on his mind on the anniversary of nearly losing a spleen but he did some really sloppy things.

Umpiring terrible.

1 minute ago, Go Lordie said:

Pedant alert! "The umpires played their part (not there)"

Mate. Who cares

Another blinder from JVR. A goal from him and we win. Sorry he is not a KPF of senior level quality.

Can we please play Jefferson for the next four games, it is hard to see him offering less. This year is gone let’s try players that may be the future and find out their value. Where we finish now doesn’t matter what is important is to gauge the untried players on our list.

4 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Yes but don't just sook about it, call out specific incidents. Like the free against Melksham just before halftime. Like the deliberate against Sparrow vs similar from oppo (Quaynor?) Like the scragging against Oliver/Petracca all day.

Highlight the specific incidents to raise discussion, just sooking about poor umpiring won't get you anywhere.

Do you really need to call out specific incidents or just look at the Frees For leaderboard. Some of the ruck infringements given against Max were ridiculous.

IMG_1406.jpeg

Edited by Watson11

1 minute ago, BDA said:

Mate. Who cares

Anyone who wants to be understood. Otherwise, #$%@!=÷$%&

Goody often speaks about ‘moments’ and unfortunately we had a few we wish we could take back. We lost it, they didn’t win it.

It was a super effort by our boys to fight back from 20 down with the crowd behind them.

Proud and a little shattered, the boys deserved better.

1 minute ago, old dee said:

Another blinder from JVR. A goal from him and we win. Sorry he is not a KPF of senior level quality.

Can we please play Jefferson for the next four games, it is hard to see him offering less. This year is gone let’s try players that may be the future and find out their value. Where we finish now doesn’t matter what is important is to gauge the untried players on our list.

Maybe if he was played as a key forward he'd have an opportunity to kick a goal. I'd love to see him get as many opportunities as Petty has had over the last 3 years.

23 minutes ago, Demonsone said:

Agree the kid will ask for a trade, having to ruck and not focus on his fwd craft, yet see who pies have traded in exp , membrey mcstay, Schultz, vs zip, why do wee need fwds when we have defenders turning into fwds

Will he be missed? I doubt it! We have not won a game for the year with him in the team.

Commentators did their best in the first quarter to highlight Daicos getting the same treatment Oliver has received his entire career and never called out. Just crickets. Happens to Daicos and they make sure they have zoomed in footage. Can’t tell me the broadcasters aren’t playing their part to get favourites teams on top. Meanwhile Trac and Oliver just have to cop it.

I’m dropping fritsch for not passing to the unmarked sparrow

Unforgivable

The hate for the daicii is misplaced

They’re both amazing and I’d have them both

Too much sooking about umpiring and oppo players when the ire should be directed at our decision making, lack of composure and our merde goal kicking

Were disgustingly wasteful

It’s a long list and I like how the media is calling us out

When the filth were chipping the ball 5 metres every time they took a dodgy mark they were allowed to take an eternity to kick it. Max take one step play on. His play may not have worked but being hemmed in sure didn’t help. 360 also pointed out the clear change of focus on Faicos. Seriously who directed that as clearly the umpires didn’t do it on their own. Obviously a new set of rules.

1 hour ago, BDA said:

Our players need to display some composure

we handle the ball like its a hot potato and blaze away rather than assess and take better options

the boys emptied the tank today. cannot fault the effort. but we are our own worst enemies

Probably the highest pressure game of the year for our younger players

If the same effort is served for the rest of the year IN EVERY GAME, we play finals.

1 minute ago, Watson11 said:

Do you really need to call out specific incidents or just look at the Frees For leaderboard. Some of the ruck infringements given against Max were ridiculous.

IMG_1406.jpeg

Yes because they'll just roll out the same garbage "there's no rule that says the free kicks have to be even"

There was one in the last quarter we marked it in the back pocket, the Collingwood player on the mark was within the 9m zone. Instead of an automatic 50 which we've had paid against us this for the same thing, the umpire pleasantly called him back to the mark. One example of which there were many in this game. I'd love anyone to ask for an explanation on the Melksham one.

Clarry and Trac have been stuck in 2nd gear all year. They had little to know influence today. Will they get it back? Who knows but it ain’t going to happen this year.

Also need to find a role for Rivers, he is not a great ball user either.

We can only hope that the younger players develop and that next year the team will have settled with this new plan.

It was always going to be tough coming back from 0-5

Just now, dimmy said:

Probably the highest pressure game of the year for our younger players

Interesting that the media asked whether the Umpiring changed at 1/2/ time. Dees getting pinged for things C'wood got away with.