4 hours ago, Fritta and Turner said:

The design of the Lions jumper at the back looked like they were showing their bum crack

Yes!! I thought exactly the same all game

It was a little bizarre

9 hours ago, 48 Year Now said:

Now that seems easy compared to people struggling with poverty or disability but it must not be easy for some.

If as widely confirmed Clayton has ADHD, that's classified as a disability.

Of all disability types, cognitive disabilities are the most prevalent. And that % is even higher amongst younger populations.

7 hours ago, jnrmac said:

He's a good young talent so I hope he starts to come good soon

I'm sure he will, but just not sure it'll be this season. We saw last year with Bowey what extended time out with an injury does, and Windsor missed that critical end of pre-season/start of season phase.

So Incredibly proud of our boys. Last night was surreal; walking along the streets after the match was nuts, even Lions supporters were up and about and in a celebratory mood and there was no malice (not at the Pineapple, anyways).

Before the match we were saying that if we lose by no more than two or three goals that’ll effectively be a win. Nobody bothered to imagine an actual win coz why would you, therefore the shock was real 😅

I only got home from the airport an hour ago so I’ve yet to watch the replay (which I rely on since I don’t see much action during the match) but I hear my boy Melks was not too shabby 🤗

Not too shabby Is a description you could use. His first mark was a pearler. And he never looked back.

Look after those socks

7 minutes ago, 640MD said:

Not too shabby Is a description you could use. His first mark was a pearler. And he never looked back.

Look after those socks

The socks are well looked after… no worries there. But the plot thickens…

9DEE504E-3137-41DD-A98D-DAC2DDA62330.jpeg

I was given these earrings as a gift. I first wore them when we played Freo and have worn them on gameday since, except for vs Hawks because Melky didn’t play. I wore them yesterday. Therefore they’re clearly good luck earrings!

22 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Coaching 101.

I thought that happened after he broke loose for his goal in the 2nd quarter not when he dump kicked the ball out of play?

By the way thanks to Daz for watching that tripe so the rest of us don't have to.

Edited by Rab D Nesbitt

2 hours ago, bing181 said:

If as widely confirmed Clayton has ADHD, that's classified as a disability.

Of all disability types, cognitive disabilities are the most prevalent. And that % is even higher amongst younger populations.

Interesting and yes disability amongst younger people is in the rise, that said I can point to a number of guys from school who in hindsight, clearly had a undiagnosed disability, Dipper being one of them but he turned it to his advantage with a single minded approach . Could have easily been all over for him before he got going though.

7 hours ago, Fritta and Turner said:

The design of the Lions jumper at the back looked like they were showing their bum crack.

Does that Jaspa Fletcher ever go to ground?

Clarrie and Lachlie had a good honest duel.

Clarrie and Trac look for each other.

Lindsay played really well.

I wonder if the kids will need to be managed at some stage.

So glad you mentioned that ..Harris Andrews looked the worst. On the Brisbane forum they mentioned the design several times ..hysterical

I thought our fwd line looked better yesterday. But is still obviously a long way from being good

Petty provided a target all game and despite not having much to show for it, he brought the ball to ground many times when they would have rebounded. Allowing us to apply pressure

Our team pressure was immense

AJ was solid in the ruck and found his feet a bit at this level

Kozzi and Melk were the magicians

21 minutes ago, Deestar9 said:

So glad you mentioned that ..Harris Andrews looked the worst. On the Brisbane forum they mentioned the design several times ..hysterical

That’s not the jumper, that’s cos Melksham absolutely pantsed him

3 hours ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

As we're currently in the midst of the two Sir Doug Nicholls rounds I have a question somebody could maybe answer. At the start of the live telecasts on Fox / Kayo they pay their respects to elders past and present. I'm pretty sure it was a common thing to pay respects to elders past, present and future / emerging. Any reason for the change?

I believe the change is because there is no such thing as emerging Elders so to speak - a person is either presently or previously an Elder (as appointed by the community). It's like how we don't have any emerging Prime Ministers etc (as opposed to an emerging leader).

Here's a good article I found about it:

https://www.sbs.com.au/nitv/article/just-who-is-an-emerging-elder/yzuxeyokp

12 hours ago, binman said:

Not an extra forward, we just kept all our forwards forward instead of bringing say a half forward flank up to stoppages.

At least we were in the first 3 quarters - they mentioned we brought extras to tge stoppages in the last, perhaps to take advantage of maxy's dominance, which we hadn't for the first 3 quarters.

By the by I'm just going off a couple of random comments from thecommentary team. Irs all but impossible to work that stuff out watching on TV.

It infuriates me how ridiculously basic the coverage of the game is. I mean they have a special comments person, a boundary rider and access to al thr data and vision they could possibly need and they can't do things like:

• show the set ups at each centre bounces (eg a box in the corner with visuals and names the way they do in cricket to show the field),

• analyse the stoppages and use vision to explain things like what bringing an extra to a stoppage look like and why clubs might do so

• Show vision of individual players and their running patterns

• Use drone shots to show how zones are set up structurally and maintained, and how they work (or not as the case may be)

• Provide analysis, with accompanying vision, to explain things like how pressure impacts thegame, what transtion football involves, key stats coaches would be focused ok in game (eg post clearance possessions), provide vision to explain how individual stats are defined (eg what a contested possession is - it's flat out ridiculous how even commentators confuse disposals and possessions - what hipe do fans have) etc etc etc

• Unpack the tactics of each side

• Use the down the ground, behind the goals shot more often to show running patterns and structures

• Anything else that helps fans understand the game, one of the most complex elite sports in the world

Its ridiculous the coverage of the game on TV has basically been unchanged for 30 years.

Compare the coverage to test match cricket, NFL, NBL and MBL. Chalk and cheese.

Tame cricket- I consider myself very knowledgeable about test cricket, behind footy irs my great sporting passion. But every time I watch it I learn something new. And the use of stats really adds value - particularly the granular stats like say a player's average against a particular bowler or bowling type (wg left hand wrist spinners).

I just wish they'd zoom out on general play so you can see what's happening and also not zoom in on a ball going through the goals that ends up falling 5m short!

But agree with you wholeheartedly it's been a huge bigbear of mine for 15 years now, basically since I started watching the NFL and realised the level of stats available to the public and the level of breakdown on the coverage. AFL is a backwater when it comes to this stuff and it is intentional because they don't want to alienate the "casual viewer". I remember hearing someone discuss this on the radio years ago and they basically admitted they were told to dumb down the broadcast to appeal to the casual viewer (especially channel 7), they're more inclined to give you background on the players personal life/relationships than provide tactical analysis of the game.

Now that Kayo/Fox have their own coverage it is a huge opportunity to offer a point of differentiation, I hope they take it because it is a massive missed opportunity. The game is different now it no longer has the regular feats of individual brilliance or one on one contests we saw in the past but it has the opportunity to still be engaging on a tactical level. If the commentators ignore this they risk people just seeing the game as boring and switching off.

1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

That’s complete rubbish. They pulled Chandler off after he kicked a goal and showed him whatever they showed him. These guys have cut the tape to make it look like they pulled him after this mis kick. The media are so full of 💩

9 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

That’s complete rubbish. They pulled Chandler off after he kicked a goal and showed him whatever they showed him. These guys have cut the tape to make it look like they pulled him after this mis kick. The media are so full of 💩

Correct. The vision of Chin there is after he kicked that great goal and he came off and they were showing him the pressure acts that led to the goal.

These footy shows are just a joke.

45 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Now that Kayo/Fox have their own coverage it is a huge opportunity to offer a point of differentiation, I hope they take it because it is a massive missed opportunity.

Fox/Kayo commentate for the main remotely so if anything we now get less "perspective " commentary

Still in disbelief that we won that. 10 minutes into that last qtr I kept thinking to myself, I've seen this script before, it's going to be another honourable loss. It was a defensive masterclass and forward half dominance by Melbourne in those last 15 minutes. That will give us so much belief. I'm absolutely pumped for the Swans!

8 hours ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

McVee. Anyone that prevents us having to listen to John Denver deserves coaches votes.

I like John Denver.
Just not when we're playing Brisbane.
Thankfully we haven't had to hear him that often.

6 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Still in disbelief that we won that. 10 minutes into that last qtr I kept thinking to myself, I've seen this script before, it's going to be another honourable loss. It was a defensive masterclass and forward half dominance by Melbourne in those last 15 minutes. That will give us so much belief. I'm absolutely pumped for the Swans!

I was still thinking they'd get us with 5mins to go.
If we can do a job on the swans the Kings Birthday will be huge.
Cha-Ching.

Edited by Fork 'em

12 hours ago, jnrmac said:

Just watched the game again and (Windsor) he was pretty poor. His kicking was atrocious

Bowey was outstanding. Repeatedly left his man to attack the footy and played with smarts.

Our general kicking at goal was very ordinary

Raynor should get weeks for his high hit on Lindsay in the last qtr. Same action saw Viney miss 2 weeks with concussion.

Didn't even rate a mention by the MRO.🙈

As much as I dislike Brisbane, I cannot, and I make no apologies for this at all, I just cannot dislike a player who has a Clash song as his goal scoring choice… Darcy Gardiner, you absolutely Rock the Casbah!!

Edited by hardtack

8 hours ago, Roost it far said:

Coaching masterstroke: “Hey chin , instead of kicking the ball out on the full could you try hit a team mate instead?”

8 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

Correct. The vision of Chin there is after he kicked that great goal and he came off and they were showing him the pressure acts that led to the goal.

These footy shows are just a joke.

It was so bad. The score at the bottom of the screen changes between the Chandler kick and when he comes to the bench. We’d kicked 2 more goals in between FFS!