sestan's first two years were as a mid-sized forward with very occasional cameos on ball

this season he's been re-tooled as a half back as he's one of the only decent kicks who is a casey regular

still learning and developing in the role

And playing pretty good consistent footy😃

42 minutes ago, jane02 said:

Yes I’m interested to know this as well.

I am not really the person to answer this but I too am interested in Sestan. From all reports he is playing off half back this season and is performing well, good composure, high disposal efficiency. Previously we know him as a natural forward with footy smarts. He has an interesting body shape, with that low centre of gravity that can be an asset. I have asked in the past about his leg speed but never got an answer. Can he go to the next level, maybe the Casey watchers can give us their thoughts

He is still very young and I have hopes for a guy who came to us very much as a project player.

Yep he can... reminds me of Brian Wilson with his body shape and has some tricks, runs hard and gives of well! More than worth a go at this stage of the year!

7 hours ago, Redleg said:

4-15 it is beyond pathetic.

This year Billing 1-5, Woey 0-4, Culley 0-3 and someone I forgot 0-4.

Seriously these are still senior footballers.

Not even talking about the missed handballs and kicks.

18 AFL listed players playing for us at our ground.

Lever turns it over and then Jeffo misses from 15 out.

Not sure if rate this coach at all.

As you say 18 AFL listed performance against a team full of part timers.

We've underperformed this year in my opinion.

6 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Hard to disagree.

1 hour ago, whatwhat say what said:

sestan's first two years were as a mid-sized forward with very occasional cameos on ball

this season he's been re-tooled as a half back as he's one of the only decent kicks who is a casey regular

still learning and developing in the role

thanks mate

If he is a good kick. good we are developing another HB. Not sure he’ll get a game soon unless we be gets injured but let’s see

9 minutes ago, DubDee said:

thanks mate

If he is a good kick. good we are developing another HB. Not sure he’ll get a game soon unless we be gets injured but let’s see

Sestan - how is his straight line pace and acceleration?

19 minutes ago, monoccular said:

I have asked this exact question a number of times, last season and this season. I fear we will never find out.

2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Actually, just shows how poor our depth is. Having that many AFL listed players does not give me any confidence going forward. Need to delist about 10 of them but where do we get 10 picks from in the draft. Not a lot to look forward to.

1 hour ago, monoccular said:

1 hour ago, Earl Hood said:

I have asked this exact question a number of times, last season and this season. I fear we will never find out.

I think his pace is alright. He’s fast enough to catch players HTB. Goes okay with linking hand balls and kicks. Looks like he has been told to kick 35–45m but should be encouraged to boot it 60m diagonally across the ground. Would be very hard to defend if he was used correctly.

Didn’t see the game but if Tholstrup appeared to be disinterested/sooking, that presents him and us with an important moment in his fledgling career.

We can’t have anyone at our club who acts like that. We can use this to spark him into realising that an AFL career can be blown up all too easily, and he can start to get real with his attitude. If he wants to play seniors, go and earn it.

Make this a turning point in his development.

WASTED by KC from Casey

The Southport Sharks came to Casey. They saw and they conquered a team with 16 AFL-listed players who, for the most part, wasted their time on the ground and failed to earn their keep.

For the first half, the Sharks were kept in the game by the Demons’ poor use of the football, it’s disposal getting worse the closer the team got to its own goal and moreover, it got worse as the game progressed.

Make no mistake, Casey was far and away the better team in the first half, it was winning the ruck duels through Tom Campbell’s solid performance but it was the scoreboard that told the story.

Even in the first quarter, it was 3 goals 5 behinds to 3 goals 2 with Southport’s last goal coming at siren time to give them a sniff. By half time, it was a wasteful 13 scoring shots to 8 for a five point lead.

Things only worsened in what they call the premiership quarter which opened with three consecutive behinds to the home side in the first two minutes before the visitors took the lead with two quick goals and the rest is history. At three quarter time, the score was Casey 4.17.41 to 9.7.61, a lead of 20 points to Southport despite having far less scoring chances.

At least, the comedy of errors in kicking for goals was over for the Demons but so was the game as they managed two straight meaningless goals in the final quarter with the game inevitably slipping further and further away. Imagine how the Southport coach laughed all the way to the airport as he banked his team’s 41 point victory.

The plus for the Demons was Jake Lever’s successful return from his ankle injury with 17 disposals and eight marks in managed time. Not surprisingly, when he was off the ground, the team literally fell apart. Whilst on the ground, he gave Jed Adams, Blake Howes, Luker Kentfield and Ollie Sestan the benefit of his experience in defence with Howes the best of that bunch with 30 touches and 13 marks. Sestan continues to improve.

Melbourne dropped three players from its loss last week to Hawthorn — Jacob van Rooyen, Matt Jefferson and Koltyn Tholstrup. They all disappointed with their poor disposal and effort. We can expect to see them back in the VFL next week.

Tom Campbell beat his opponent in the ruck with Will Verrall provided some solid support. Kynan Brown with his 19 disposals and seven tackles was a strong contributor along with Jack Billings (20 touches) and Taj Woewodin who worked hard for his 22 disposals.

Mitch Hardie and Riley Bonner with 28 and 26 possessions respectively were the best of the Casey listed players. Paddy Cross kicked two goals, one of them was a ripper.

The game however, was a calamity for the Casey Demons. While their VFL list is so much better this year, they are not getting enough from their Melbourne listers and it’s difficult to gauge performance on possessions won when so many of these are wasted through errant disposal and poor decision making.

CASEY DEMONS 3.5.23 4.9.33 4.17.41 6.17.53

SOUTHPORT 3.2.20 4.4.28 9.7.61 14.10.94

GOALS

CASEY DEMONS Cross 2 Hardie Jefferson Tholstrup van Rooyen

SOUTHPORT Dixon 3 Buzza Crossley Hayes 2 Foot Hay Rowe Sexton Woodcock

BEST

CASEY DEMONS Hardie Howes Billings Brown Smith Bonner

SOUTHPORT Foot Joyce Manteit Pescud Crossley DawsonIMG_0268.jpeg

IMG_0269.jpeg

25 minutes ago, Demonland said:

WASTED by KC from Casey

The Southport Sharks came to Casey. They saw and they conquered a team with 16 AFL-listed players who, for the most part, wasted their time on the ground and failed to earn their keep.

For the first half, the Sharks were kept in the game by the Demons’ poor use of the football, it’s disposal getting worse the closer the team got to its own goal and moreover, it got worse as the game progressed.

Make no mistake, Casey was far and away the better team in the first half, it was winning the ruck duels through Tom Campbell’s solid performance but it was the scoreboard that told the story.

Even in the first quarter, it was 3 goals 5 behinds to 3 goals 2 with Southport’s last goal coming at siren time to give them a sniff. By half time, it was a wasteful 13 scoring shots to 8 for a five point lead.

Things only worsened in what they call the premiership quarter which opened with three consecutive behinds to the home side in the first two minutes before the visitors took the lead with two quick goals and the rest is history. At three quarter time, the score was Casey 4.17.41 to 9.7.61, a lead of 20 points to Southport despite having far less scoring chances.

At least, the comedy of errors in kicking for goals was over for the Demons but so was the game as they managed two straight meaningless goals in the final quarter with the game inevitably slipping further and further away. Imagine how the Southport coach laughed all the way to the airport as he banked his team’s 41 point victory.

The plus for the Demons was Jake Lever’s successful return from his ankle injury with 17 disposals and eight marks in managed time. Not surprisingly, when he was off the ground, the team literally fell apart. Whilst on the ground, he gave Jed Adams, Blake Howes, Luker Kentfield and Ollie Sestan the benefit of his experience in defence with Howes the best of that bunch with 30 touches and 13 marks. Sestan continues to improve.

Melbourne dropped three players from its loss last week to Hawthorn — Jacob van Rooyen, Matt Jefferson and Koltyn Tholstrup. They all disappointed with their poor disposal and effort. We can expect to see them back in the VFL next week.

Tom Campbell beat his opponent in the ruck with Will Verrall provided some solid support. Kynan Brown with his 19 disposals and seven tackles was a strong contributor along with Jack Billings (20 touches) and Taj Woewodin who worked hard for his 22 disposals.

Mitch Hardie and Riley Bonner with 28 and 26 possessions respectively were the best of the Casey listed players. Paddy Cross kicked two goals, one of them was a ripper.

The game however, was a calamity for the Casey Demons. While their VFL list is so much better this year, they are not getting enough from their Melbourne listers and it’s difficult to gauge performance on possessions won when so many of these are wasted through errant disposal and poor decision making.

CASEY DEMONS 3.5.23 4.9.33 4.17.41 6.17.53

SOUTHPORT 3.2.20 4.4.28 9.7.61 14.10.94

GOALS

CASEY DEMONS Cross 2 Hardie Jefferson Tholstrup van Rooyen

SOUTHPORT Dixon 3 Buzza Crossley Hayes 2 Foot Hay Rowe Sexton Woodcock

BEST

SOUTHPORT Foot Joyce Manteit Pescud Crossley DawsonIMG_0268.jpeg

IMG_0269.jpeg

The Casey best tells a rather disappointing tail, wiry not one of the three players dropped featuring:

Thanks @KC from Casey @Demonland

“and it’s difficult to gauge performance on possessions won when so many of these are wasted through errant disposal and poor decision making”.

I agree. People look at stats and seem to determine how the players perform. But it’s a falsehood sometimes because the poor kicks, poor decisions or ineffective handballs achieve zero. Kicks sideways to go wide and slow achieve zero. Casey was outrun, outplayed and outsmarted by the part timers.

Lever was good & will be back next week. That was the good news. Yes I agree TC won the ruck battle. Howes and Kynan Brown were good. They could get promoted. I think Hardie was our best (wish he was MFC listed).

Bad news. The guys like Kolt, JVR & Jeffo were disappointing. Billings picks up junk possessions and achieves little. He will be delisted or retire at year end. Sestan and Adams are okay though I just can’t see them getting to AFL level right now

Overall it was a very disappointing loss.

UM I thought Jeffo'o intensity was there, but his 1.g 3 and 1 out on the full did him no favours. Van Rooyen is Horribly out of form and Tholstrup was statless or close to it at half time, but was rushed back to seniors when clearly needed bulk Casey time.I blame the footy dept for the result yesterday.

1 hour ago, Pipefitter said:

So based on current selection integrity Kolt is a definite starter in the seniors next week?

Wait until the article appears on the Melbourne website where they mention, “Tholstrup was given some specific things to work on back at Casey and we were happy with his game today.”

Just a couple of questions for the Casey watchers.

Can Tom C play the BBB role and take the front half ruck contests leaving Max to do his thing behind the ball?

I am still surprised that Kynan Brown is not getting an opportunity in the senior given his tackling and desperation

1 hour ago, picket fence said:

1 hour ago, defuture15 said:

Just a couple of questions for the Casey watchers.

Can Tom C play the BBB role and take the front half ruck contests leaving Max to do his thing behind the ball?

I am still surprised that Kynan Brown is not getting an opportunity in the senior given his tackling an

Only knock on Kynan is his disposal. Some of his kicks were woeful today - he turns it over a lot, but he wasn't alone.

15 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

While the result was terrible, total despair is premature I think. After all, Casey dominated for much of the game and looked much classier. But if you go from 4.9 to 4.17 in Q3 while you opponents kick 5.2 it's hard to maintain enthusiasm and getting blown out of the water is almost inevitable. So quite a bit of despair is warranted, especially about goal kicking, but not total despair.

14 hours ago, Earl Hood said:

Ollie is what we would call a natural footballer rather than an athlete.

He reads the play, makes good position, rarely fumbles, and hits targets by hand and foot. Sam Radford has been full of praise for Ollie and he did get named emergency early in the year. Despite this being his third season he is still learning after a switch to halfback and is worth another season at least and I expect he will get a game soon.

From the 18-year-old drafted he has got fitter, completely changed his body shape, and is now consistently getting 20-plus possessions. His other trait is he tackles unlike some of our more fancied players. All of these attributes have come to the attention of other clubs who are following his progress as well seeing he cannot get a game.

7 minutes ago, clarrypetracca135 said:

afl.com saying roo killed it?

Had a very good first half, took several marks and lead up at the ball. Took a couple shots around the 50metre arc.

Didn't do much in the second half but neither did the rest of the team really.