23 hours ago, Supreme_Demon said:

At least with Luke Beveridge our press conferences would be far more entertaining! 🤣

He is definitely an intense character Luke Beveridge. However, would he want to coach the Melbourne Football Club? Would he be interested in a new challenge?

While, I am open to the possibility of Luke Beveridge being a potential candidate as our next coach, I think the TOP PRIORITY of who the Demons must target is John Longmire.

John Longmire is who we need!

While he only won the one flag for the Swans in 2012, he did get his team into Grand Finals 4 times in 2014, 2016, 2022 and 2024. John Longmire would bring respect and a winning culture to the Melbourne Football Club.

Let's just hope John Longmire isn't totally "cooked" and is open to the idea of a fresh start and a new challenge at the Demons.

And Horse hs a good track record of making the most of low skill players 😂

8 hours ago, 3183 Dee said:

I’d say that any potential player or coach would be insane to look at us until our new off field set up is (a) highly credentialed and (b) settled in place.

I have no inside knowledge but it now appears that the Pert/Roffey era has been quite damaging for the club. Did they ride the coattails of our fantastic premiership without using the opportunity to propel the club forward? I don’t know - but the noises and whispers of the past 2 or 3 years, coupled with on field stagnation in the same period would possibly suggest this.

I wonder if too much was based on the assumption that Gawn, Brayshaw , Oliver and Petracca would automatically and effortlessly bring an era of greatness? Instead, I think the untimely loss of Angus has brought the whole house of cards down and exposed a lot of rot behind the facade.

It seems like Gus was the personality that kept the equilibrium in the group. A massive call to make about one player but it feels like he was THAT important.

I’ll never ever forgive that weak dog Maynard, or forget the pissweak response from the AFL. Or the fact the Collingwood fans cheered as Brayshaw was carted off. Outside of that I’m a completely sane & balanced person 😂

I would be rapt with Bevo - a creative culture builder - he’s done a great job at bulldogs but now just in danger of staying too long. Bevo still has good mates at club - Neita, Hopgood and co - so sure they would be in his ear….

Surprised for the love of Bevo - he has underachieved with the list they have. He has a flag which is an incredible achievement... but has never made top 4 in the season. I think he can coach and is definitely creative... but since their premiership season his teams have largely been underwhelming with the talent he has had at his disposal.

3 hours ago, Chook said:

I think Bevo's generally not an all-time coach by any means but for our list and coming off a robot like Goodwin he could actually be quite a good fit.

NO!

15 hours ago, chookrat said:

I don't have a problem with any of those appointments noting:

1. Nathan Jones seemed a bit of an odd appointment as one of our line coaches given he has been in the media for the past 3 years since retiring and hasn't been coaching. I think his appointment in part is spiritual to help heal the playing group and so makes sense.

2. Alastair Nicholson seems an odd candidate as his past roles, e.g. CEO of AFLCA put him as more of an Administrator than someone who will establish our home base, align the admin and footy departments to drive success, and grow our membership.

Can we put him in robes and get him to sit on top of an artificial mountain in the Southern Stand, instead of coaching the midfield?

8 hours ago, Canplay said:

I would be rapt with Bevo - a creative culture builder - he’s done a great job at bulldogs but now just in danger of staying too long. Bevo still has good mates at club - Neita, Hopgood and co - so sure they would be in his ear….

THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH OUR CULTURE Just ask the club

Wouldn’t say no to Bevo though similar outcomes from a team winning 1 flag and not capitalising.. Without a Ceo & a clear plan & vision why would Bevo or any exp coach come??would need more than just Bevo eg assistants no disrespect to Jones but are his credentials adequate? Our list mgt and inability to trade in experience talent in particular forwards what is the reason is it due to cap issues?

I stand corrected if wrong, but it seems this speculation is a result of what Caroline Wilson first reported. If so, LOL.

Ken Hinkley made an interesting comment in his presser the other night. In response to something questionable that was reported about Port he said (and I’m paraphrasing) there are so many different footy shows on TV now which means more journalists needing something different to report.

I reckon what he really wanted to say is “stop making sch!ttt up” 🙃

Maybe if Bevo comes along, he can bring an uncontracted Bont with him?

Would that make you all change your mind about him coming to the Dees ?

😀

4 hours ago, GS_1905 said:

😀

He'd need to bring Darcy as well!

4 hours ago, GS_1905 said:

😀

We'll have to give him part ownership of the new Caulfield Home base, to fit him in the cap

If he brought Darcy, I’d be happy for it. Feels like a case of the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence.

I feel like (and this is not a political comment) that Goodwin suffers in the same way Julia Gillard did, a red head with a fingernails on chalkboard voice. If Julia had been able to speak like a Penny Wong, she would still be PM, extraordinary legislative record, got more legislation passed in a minority government than any bloke since WW2 with a majority. Simon’s record is daylight better than anyone since Norm Smith, but we all judge them on the packaging, especially the pea-hearted windsocks in the media.

Simon was very clear that we’d be playing a different football style this year, he was straightforward about it, we have gone recruiting and we are happy with most of the mini build picks but the lack of scoring is causing us to lose our collective minds. But it is not like he said we would be winning at the first post.

I would really like the sack Goodwin camp people to post what act of contrition they will perform should he actually turn it around. Is not like he was a Ross Lyon clone on defense, he’s had high scoring teams, he’s had innovation, on his record you’d back him to have the solution. Or you could just keep whining about his press conferences.

Doesn’t mean I’m not going mental about the situation we’re in but we really need some more considered analysis than what is going around. (I do want Fritsch dropped, and I do like like Bevos tough love on the problem kids, and I’m not sold on Jones as midfield coach, as much as I love him, seeing Trac dump kick like Nathan is killing me. And he lost an entire season coaching Peninsula).

Not totally against us getting Bevo, but his success rate is not that good. Bevo needs to gets a free reign on coaching staff and anyone else who is involved in the club . Say goodbye to Jones, Jamar, Choko, Richardson and whoever is the defence coach. Two more losses to go and Goody is gone.

So sad. It would have been fun seeing an actual punch-on between Beveridge and the Petracca clan.

Edited by Little Goffy

On 14/04/2025 at 19:34, Sideshow Bob said:

Perfect.

Said he was top of my wish list in the coaching replacement thread a week or so ago.

Bevo needs a new start - he would be 100% perfect for us

I don’t agree, his team haven’t performed at their fullest (same as us) in years and is the same. Got one flag and then nothing much since.

On 15/04/2025 at 23:47, deelusions from afar said:

Surprised for the love of Bevo - he has underachieved with the list they have. He has a flag which is an incredible achievement... but has never made top 4 in the season. I think he can coach and is definitely creative... but since their premiership season his teams have largely been underwhelming with the talent he has had at his disposal.

Contrary to what I’ve said earlier about him…. The one defence (pardon the upcoming pun) I will put of Bevo with his list over the years, is he never had a strong defensive back 6 to work with.

I think the only defenders (albeit, attacking type defenders) to get All Australians whilst under Bevo, are Macrae, Bailey Dale and Caleb Daniel. Matthew Boyd was the only defender in their 2016 premiership year to get one and he was on the interchange. Easton Wood won a spot in 2015, Bob Murphy also 2015.

Easton Wood played a few years really well as a full back type player, but put him in Tigers/Geelong/US/Brisbane/Pies team and he is a 2nd maybe 3rd string defender.

Never had a Rance, Grimes, McGovern, Stewart, (Blicsavs even!), May, Harris Andrews, Sam Taylor to work with. (Couple of pies defenders I won’t name because gross).

So now I’m convincing myself that he’s gone alright, haha

"Ultimately if I'm not coaching here next year, I won't be coaching"

...next year.

On 14/04/2025 at 17:42, Jibroni said:

Aprils Fools has been and gone Caro.

1 hour ago, Demonland said:

This website is unavailable for comment.

Media Fluff as to be expected.

Bevo will be coaching next year, can’t make a decent living out of strumming an accustic and surfing Luke!!

There will be a few options available

BEVO will be coaching FREMANTLE next year and JUM will be there also.

2 minutes ago, junk said:

BEVO will be coaching FREMANTLE next year and JUM will be there also.

Who is JUM?

BEVO wont be coaching Freo, or us.

VOR believes Cam Bruce will be coaching MFC in 2026.