I’ve got zero expectations into this actually materialising into something. The real estate dealings have long been joked about in the AFL when attracting players to the cats. Now I’ve got no doubt there is the lifestyle change that does attract players to the cats, but they’ve still got to find ways to satisfy their financial expectations and there’s only so many times that you can hear players of salary sacrificing before you start to think there are multiple other avenues being utilised that are set up through the club but placed outside the cap. 

If it were a bulldogs, Melbourne, saints or North they’d be screwed, because it’s the cats I think it’ll be given the tick of approval like Carlton got with Visy (that was a certifiable disgrace).  

12 minutes ago, jaydenh10 said:

tanner bruhn is finished, wonder who they will pick up next Tarryn Thomas, juh???

IMG_0573.thumb.png.fe190059ed9309ef290ed1696aca49ce.png

When is geelongs culture going to be questioned the Stengle incident, this with bruhn and they are clearly lying about his finger injury I thought clubs had to be transparent about injuries 

7 minutes ago, brendan said:

When is geelongs culture going to be questioned the Stengle incident, this with bruhn and they are clearly lying about his finger injury I thought clubs had to be transparent about injuries 

rules dont exist for carlton collingwood and geelong, everyone else has to follow them to a tee

1 hour ago, jaydenh10 said:

tanner bruhn is finished, wonder who they will pick up next Tarryn Thomas, juh???

IMG_0573.thumb.png.fe190059ed9309ef290ed1696aca49ce.png

How the —— have they kept that so quiet? All the news was “oh he’s been interviewed but wasn’t involved, no charges etc..” 

Cats get the best media run in the comp, can you imagine if one of our boys was fronting court? 

7 minutes ago, Fromgotowoewodin said:

How the —— have they kept that so quiet? All the news was “oh he’s been interviewed but wasn’t involved, no charges etc..” 

Cats get the best media run in the comp, can you imagine if one of our boys was fronting court? 

There’s a suppression order in place… but everyone knows now anyway

1 hour ago, brendan said:

It seems the media only care about 'culture' when a team is losing.

Which is why using the term culture to discuss a football side doesn't make sense. You could have a group of players who are incredible people, donate to charities, help old ladies cross the road, are perfect family men or women. If that side starts losing, does it mean the club culture is a problem? No, it just means as a club they aren't playing good football.

I hate when the media bang on about culture, it is such a simplistic way to view a football club.

1 hour ago, jaydenh10 said:

rules dont exist for carlton collingwood and geelong, everyone else has to follow them to a tee

Pretty sure Collingwood have copped their fair share of offenders over the years regarding off field matters.

Can date it right back to the Rat Pack days.

8 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Pretty sure Collingwood have copped their fair share of offenders over the years regarding off field matters.

Can date it right back to the Rat Pack days.

Yes but was their culture ever questioned?

7 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Yes:

Edited by KozzyCan

3 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

Yes. A thousand times.

The Malthouse/McGuire era is riddled with culture and off field matters over the journey.

28 minutes ago, adonski said:

And that is a visual representation on why Jeeelong get what Jeeelong wants, and why i regard them as an interstate Club

The Stench is overwhelming 

On the Cats: Nigel Austin owns Cotton On who've sponsored Geelong since 2016. Geelong born and bred. His estimated wealth is $2 billion.

The Costa Group has sponsored Geelong since 1997. The Group is valued at $1.5 billion.

When a football club have backers with that much money it makes things a tad easier, whether it be covering up a player's indiscretion or poaching a star from another club.

Circumventing AFL rules is a snip.

20 hours ago, The Jackson FIX said:

Absolutely wild for the AFL to hire someone from clubland and give them the responsibility of auditing the club you were accountable for.

That’d be like hiring Carl Williams to be the judge on his own case. 

Surely this is being reported inaccurately

About as wild to make a collingwood premiership player the MRO

Genuinely not a conspiracy theorist, BUT not adverse to believing that Geelong could have actively encouraged Bailey Smith to drag out his seeming inability to suit up for the Bulldogs. Along a similar vein, I wouldn't be at all surprised to see a miraculous rehabilitation of JUH. A 'listen mate, this is how we'll work it' type of chat.

Let us not forget, a Geelong heavy media were keen to let us believe that Clarrie may never kick a ball again. 

Please don't get me started on the mickey mouse audit.

Too cynical??

4 hours ago, Return to Glory said:

Genuinely not a conspiracy theorist, BUT not adverse to believing that Geelong could have actively encouraged Bailey Smith to drag out his seeming inability to suit up for the Bulldogs. Along a similar vein, I wouldn't be at all surprised to see a miraculous rehabilitation of JUH. A 'listen mate, this is how we'll work it' type of chat.

Let us not forget, a Geelong heavy media were keen to let us believe that Clarrie may never kick a ball again. 

Please don't get me started on the mickey mouse audit.

Too cynical??

Nope

22 hours ago, M_9 said:

On the Cats: Nigel Austin owns Cotton On who've sponsored Geelong since 2016. Geelong born and bred. His estimated wealth is $2 billion.

The Costa Group has sponsored Geelong since 1997. The Group is valued at $1.5 billion.

When a football club have backers with that much money it makes things a tad easier, whether it be covering up a player's indiscretion or poaching a star from another club.

Circumventing AFL rules is a snip.

Funny how we're always portrayed and the club full of rich snobs, not Geelying

We were probably very lucky not to lose Clarry to them with a dodgy deal

Edited by Brownie

3 minutes ago, Brownie said:

Funny how we're always portrayed and the club full of rich snobs, not Geelying

fairly normal to think of each club as an extension of the same name's grammar - toffs in town vs landed gentry

i maintain dingley is just the nouveau riche melbourne fc; we won 12 premierships from 1900-1964; they won 12 from 1965-2015

13 each in total now

On 20/03/2025 at 01:30, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

You reckon Gerard Wheatley will touch this? Josh Jenkins? and all the Geelong supporting journalists?

No [censored] way this will be all swept under the carpet!

In exactly the same manner of the Tyson Stengle Disco Fiasco.

Gets taken away by an ambo and there is nothing to see here!

And Jay Clark? The new chief HS reporter.

8 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

i maintain dingley is just the nouveau riche melbourne fc; we won 12 premierships from 1900-1964; they won 12 from 1965-2015

Will you be calling us Caulfield one day?  :D

On 20/03/2025 at 10:26, Ghostwriter said:

Yes it was several times.

we put the red and blue blinkers on and consider ourselves to be the victims.

Do you remember Didaks indiscretion with the OMCG member after a night out, well a Dee’s player was also with them.

7 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Yes it was several times.

we put the red and blue blinkers on and consider ourselves to be the victims.

Do you remember Didaks indiscretion with the OMCG member after a night out, well a Dee’s player was also with them.

Is he no longer with us?