Posted
50 minutes ago, Roger Mellie said:

I suspect we'll be shunted over to Marvel for more games as clubs like Carlton demand more games at the G

Only away games. At worst one home game but that would be if Alice Springs is no more.

Posted
1 hour ago, Clintosaurus said:

Only away games. At worst one home game but that would be if Alice Springs is no more.

Is NT contracted, and, if so, for how long? I wonder what the new administration's Indigenous engagement appetite is?

Posted
8 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

2025 Gather Round fixture.

Essendon on the Saturday night at Adelaide Oval.

Fingers crossed not a repeat of 2023.

GATHER ROUND FIXTURE

Much better fixturing in 2025 not so taxing even though we won both games this year we can just focus solely on Bummers.

Posted

A Saturday at Adelaide Oval would be great for me with Carlton v WC during the day and Dees v Essendon at night ... alas ... have a family holiday to Thailand booked then, think I will be watching some footy poolside with a cocktail in hand 🍹😃

Posted
On 26/10/2024 at 10:42, DubDee said:

Sounds good to me! 

Me too DD. May not suit the club's sponsors etc. but less night games would have me smiling!

Posted

As much as it may affect the bottom line, with kids sports eating up all day Saturday and kids in general eating up every night, I'm looking forward to a few Sunday afternoon matches next year.

(In addition to going 23-0, sweeping the finals and winning the flag)

Posted
8 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

2025 Gather Round fixture.

Essendon on the Saturday night at Adelaide Oval.

Fingers crossed not a repeat of 2023.

GATHER ROUND FIXTURE

Does that mean being a bomber home game we play them if again on the G as our home game?

AND I still reckon the whole gather concept is a crock dreamt up by Virgin Airlines business development people.

Dillon naturally fell for it

When the outrageous price gouging stops I'll believe otherwise

Posted

can they PLEASE post the whole fixture and not have it floating??

ive got july school holidays to plan. 

also other highlights will include a trip to geelong, a perth team in alice springs, brisbane and collingwood twice and a trip to tassie

Posted
5 hours ago, Demon17 said:

Does that mean being a bomber home game we play them if again on the G as our home game?

AND I still reckon the whole gather concept is a crock dreamt up by Virgin Airlines business development people.

Dillon naturally fell for it

When the outrageous price gouging stops I'll believe otherwise

It's technically nobody's home game. Just an additional game on top of every club's 11 home and 11 away games, which is not part of a club's membership package. (I've also seen us listed as the home team in the Gather Round promo)

For example, in 2023 Richmond were the home team against Sydney at Adelaide Oval, Gather Round. Then later in the season Richmond played Sydney again as the home team at the MCG, but in a normal home game. On paper Richmond were the home team twice against Sydney in 2023, but realistically the MCG game was the only genuine home game of the two.

If we play Essendon later in the season, Gather Round will have no bearing on who's home game it would be.

In theory the concept is a crock, but attending the event is actually pretty fantastic and the city of Adelaide has a tremendous vibe. It's a ton of fun if you love your AFL footy, not just MFC.

Posted

Don't like playing the bombers early in the season, they usually don't start choking til June

• Haha 11

Posted
3 hours ago, No. 31 said:

A Saturday at Adelaide Oval would be great for me with Carlton v WC during the day and Dees v Essendon at night ... alas ... have a family holiday to Thailand booked then, think I will be watching some footy poolside with a cocktail in hand 🍹😃

Sounds rough man.

Posted
5 hours ago, Demonland said:

I assume we will play Adelaide or Port the week before or after.

...and what's the betting for a 5-day turnaround for it, on Easter Thursday...

Posted

I just love the hypocrisy of the AFL.  Fine Ken Hinkley $20K because gobbing off at an opposition player is a terrible image and not at all what we want to see. Less than two months later promote the Port v Hawthorn grudge match as the highlight of Gather Round. They are nothing if not predictable.

Posted

No Dees in Opening Round. 

“Carlton, Melbourne and Richmond were the other three Victorian teams involved in the inaugural opening round this year but will not take part in 2025.”

• Love 5

Posted
28 minutes ago, Demonstone said:

Is this a good thing or a bad thing?  I'm inclined to think the former.

100% a good thing I reckon.

For one thing they don't have to worry about a second bye.

And we start a week later tha last year.

Givn we didn't make finals we have a full month longer break between seasons than we did at the start of the 2024 season.

For a team that looked tired, physically and psychologically, that can only be a good thing.

Posted
36 minutes ago, Demonland said:

No Dees in Opening Round. 

“Carlton, Melbourne and Richmond were the other three Victorian teams involved in the inaugural opening round this year but will not take part in 2025.”

Thank god for that. 

What a joke the OR is. There is talk of it being quite early in March too so it completely screws up the lead in to the season

Posted

Can’t believe they're doing Opening Round again.  That took an already  inequitable draw and added a whole new level of bias.

Posted

Happy not to be involved in OR.

Given our very early start which spooked us into rushing blokes like Spargo and Clarry when they weren’t ready, 3 games in 25+ degrees and a 35 degree praccy match V Carlton, and a 5 day break in Adelaide and we were therefore already cooked by the round 5 Brisbane game.

We looked rejuvenated after the first bye, but were back to tired and listless after about round 9 and suffered some horrible  losses against West Coast, Freo and Collingwood before the second bye.

Happy to approach round 1 in a less hurried fashion which will hopefully hold us in good stead later in the year.