Young Angus 873 Posted August 30, 2024 Posted August 30, 2024 So what if Reid is meant to stay somewhere for a period of time, I think we’ve all seen those rules and contracts mean sweet FA. personally I’d be much happier if the AFL just came out and said “that’s it, all contracts can not be broken, end of story”. 2 Quote
BW511 2,730 Posted August 30, 2024 Posted August 30, 2024 6 hours ago, Undeeterred said: One last thing and this applies to Nibbler too - if you’re that keen to get home, demanding to go a single club is a bit rich. If you’re prioritising family, then a job’s a job and you can’t care that much where you do it. Port Adelaide came out and said he doesn’t suit their list profile, they didn’t want him. The nominating of clubs is based on conversations already had, it’s not a random choice like many believe 2 Quote
David-Demon 570 Posted August 30, 2024 Posted August 30, 2024 On 28/08/2024 at 20:03, Roost it far said: Kozzy can be part of the Reid trade in the next few years We are talking Tom Morris for goodness sake. He is the last [censored] I would listen to. 3 Quote
Demons11 7,148 Posted August 30, 2024 Posted August 30, 2024 10 hours ago, Macca said: Doesn't Reid have to remain at the Eagles for a minimum of 3 years? I've read that the first 20 picks in the draft have to serve a mandatory 3 years now (change happened May 2024?) As for Kozzie, is this going to be a yearly occurrence? With JT's Midas touch at drafting, getting 2 decent picks for Kozzie may not leave us short and we might in fact, win on that sort of deal But he is such a talent and has the capabilities to be a top 10 player in the league. On potential alone, the 2 picks would have to be top 10 picks It’s not a mandatory 3 years, it’s just that they have a 3 yr contract instead of the usual 2 3 Quote
Ugottobekidding 1,244 Posted August 30, 2024 Posted August 30, 2024 Send him to wet coast for pick 3 Quote
leave it to deever 17,618 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 I reckon a lot of these stories are just articles to advertise products like kayo and other things. Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 13 hours ago, daisycutter said: well when people imply he has no local family support I'll keep correcting them not saying 1 family member is always adequate but it's a huge difference to none and sisters are prettyclose additionally i'm sure other teammates families can assist from time to time. we also have club welfare officers so it is not necessarily as bleak as some would say Maybe the sister doesn't want to stay in Vic either? Don't know. Quote
reynolds46 1,310 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 has he nominated which state he is homesick for yet? 1 2 Quote
forever demons 2,369 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 I am jack of all this kiddy stuff ,I want to go home because I miss my mummy and kids i went to school with,hey if someone said to me i will pay you a mill $ to work for me I would be on the next plane out to anywhere,stuff the family.Players today are to precious and spoilt bloody prima donnas 3 Quote
Biffen 12,949 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 Nobody ever wants to go home to Adelaide. 1 Quote
Deelectable 1,043 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 5 hours ago, Demons11 said: It’s not a mandatory 3 years, it’s just that they have a 3 yr contract instead of the usual 2 Didn't JHF leave North for Port after one season? 2 Quote
Young Angus 873 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 2 minutes ago, Deelectable said: Didn't JHF leave North for Port after one season? Pretty sure that’s exactly what he did…and he’s a total brat 1 Quote
Deelectable 1,043 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 Just now, Young Angus said: Pretty sure that’s exactly what he did…and he’s a total brat And an absolute jet! Welcome in Demon colours any day of the week. North have virtually given away two generational players in JHF and Reid. Pathetic. 2 Quote
Older demon 2,815 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 2 hours ago, leave it to deever said: I reckon a lot of these stories are just articles to advertise products like kayo and other things. I liked Max on the radio yesterday with this quote. It sums up Maclure and Morris perfectly "I missed the memo when you could write on gossip. I thought you had to get facts." 6 1 3 Quote
Willmoy1947 4,261 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 Max laughs at the Media. Hopefully from now on all our other players do as well. We know MSM that your job is working in a cesspool. But no one cares probably least of all your work mates, cos from what i hear is that it's the back stabbing that kills yuh. Quote
old dee 24,083 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 17 hours ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said: I'll be peed off if we don't get that pick 25 and whatever else back that we gave for McAdam. Yes one of the poorest trades in the last decade! 2 Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,468 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 5 hours ago, Biffen said: Nobody ever wants to go home to Adelaide. Scott Thompson did 😔 1 Quote
Deelectable 1,043 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 31 minutes ago, old dee said: Yes one of the poorest trades in the last decade! Yes not a great trade but with a decent pre season McAdam does have ability and could fill the void of Kossie's suspension. 1 Quote
NumberOfTheBeast 1 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 I don't understand this young generation and home sickness. Home sickness isn't uncommon, but usually it goes away after 6 or so months once you settle, he has been here long enough to have gotten over it by now. I don't think it is the kids fault, just a fact that modern young generations are coddled well into their teens and adulthood that they simply cannot cope without their parents. It doesn't prepare them for life, all it does is reinforces their dependency. Quote
Mickey 4,777 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 2 hours ago, NumberOfTheBeast said: I don't understand this young generation and home sickness. Home sickness isn't uncommon, but usually it goes away after 6 or so months once you settle, he has been here long enough to have gotten over it by now. I don't think it is the kids fault, just a fact that modern young generations are coddled well into their teens and adulthood that they simply cannot cope without their parents. It doesn't prepare them for life, all it does is reinforces their dependency. Not sure this is fair in this situation. I've known a few people from 'older' generations who have moved back home to be closer to family and support networks after having kids. 1 Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 11 hours ago, Biffen said: Nobody ever wants to go home to Adelaide. Wait til the Tassie team comes in Sorry Nasher... Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted August 31, 2024 Posted August 31, 2024 (edited) 4 hours ago, NumberOfTheBeast said: I don't understand this young generation and home sickness. Home sickness isn't uncommon, but usually it goes away after 6 or so months once you settle, he has been here long enough to have gotten over it by now. I don't think it is the kids fault, just a fact that modern young generations are coddled well into their teens and adulthood that they simply cannot cope without their parents. It doesn't prepare them for life, all it does is reinforces their dependency. I know heaps of Americans or English who move to the other side of those countries for work or study and just pick up a new life. Its common and almost expected at 18 years of age. A generalisation I know, but Australians seems more fixed to where they were raised, especially if family still remain there. It's an interesting aspect if Australian society. Edited August 31, 2024 by Moonshadow 4 Quote
Supreme_Demon 4,141 Posted September 1, 2024 Posted September 1, 2024 Fingers crossed that Kozzie wants to stay in Melbourne at the Demons. 🤞 3 Quote
chookrat 4,268 Posted September 1, 2024 Posted September 1, 2024 On 30/08/2024 at 17:46, dazzledavey36 said: The moment it was announced about ANB situation few weeks back my immediate concern was kozzie being in the same position with the lack of family support. Seems its coming to fruition now.. Watching the video the club did where Kossie, Goody, Oliver and McAdam spent time in Kossies hometown I would think in his situation it is less about day to day support and more being able to regularly get time away from the club to go home. Being homesick after not being back for 6 months makes sense and I'm sure the club will look at how Kossie and his family can get back home during the season next year. 5 Quote
titan_uranus 25,255 Posted September 1, 2024 Posted September 1, 2024 For those of us (e.g. me) who perhaps over-reacted to this last week: AFL 2024: How addressing key confidants gave Christian Petracca confidence in Melbourne’s future (theage.com.au) "The club is also throwing its support behind Kysaiah Pickett, who does not want to be traded but informed the club last week he felt homesick at times. A source close to Pickett, who preferred to remain anonymous to speak freely, said that was reinforced post-season when he caught up with AFL footballers playing in Western Australia who encouraged him to think about joining them. However, a trade has never been seriously considered" 6 3 Quote