Posted
6 hours ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Just back from the cafe near work and Jordan Lewis and Anthony Hudson were in there at a table. Tried to eves-drop in case they might have been discussing the goings on at the Dees but too much surrounding noise. 

Back in 1978 I saw KB, Hafey and Sheedy having a chat in the cafeteria in the Green Latrine.  Better late than never I suppose.

Posted
23 hours ago, Bonkers said:

For the naysayers who mentioned it was all media noise, Jon Ralph reported on Fox that Petracca and his fiancé both personally approached other clubs to find a trade solution to get out of Melbourne in the last few weeks. They also exhaustively approached pro scouts etc to find a potential trade route. Don’t shoot the messenger.

If you're telling me young Bella is now a player manager I think i might have to.^^^^

"Christian and I are thinking of changing clubs Fly ,what do you reckon?"

"If you don't want him we'll go to the Bombers"

"What do you mean you cant afford 1.3 mill a year ,your club's huge VOssy"

"I quite like Geelong babe-it's not that bad"

"Hi ,it's Bella here Ross-talk to me!"

Gimme a spell.

Posted
1 hour ago, Fritta and Turner said:

Back in 1978 I saw KB, Hafey and Sheedy having a chat in the cafeteria in the Green Latrine.  Better late than never I suppose.

i saw robbie once in the supermarket

Posted
4 hours ago, Deez21 said:

There was a stage where earlier I genuinely feared our board's ability to handle something this big and a soft trade was on the cards, but I heard the meeting on Saturday, Petracca believed the same thing heading in thinking he could call the shots to get out of the club and left the meeting knowing that in no uncertain terms will he be a demon in 2025 and there is not one circumstance would a trade eventuate. Immediately began the path to his redemption statement that evening.

Brand Petracca firmly the issue

You continue to post as though you have inside information. 

Posted
1 hour ago, daisycutter said:

i saw robbie once in the supermarket

I saw Robbie once in my local milk bar. Looked too skinny to be a footballer.

Posted
6 hours ago, kev martin said:

I believe we will get the best from Tracc on the field in 2025. He has to keep his trade value high.

Only so his brand doesn’t suffer. At least on that the club and player have overlapping interests.

Posted
2 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

https://t.co/0l55XwApVy

the devil himself Damian666 Barrett 

💩💩💩💩💩💩💩💩💩💩

"Petracca drove this exit plan himself. He was not put up to it by his management firm, Connors Sports Management. In 2021 he and that company ecstatically reached a deal with the Demons through to the end of 2029. In mid-2024, he asked his representatives to explore the market on his behalf.

Robbie D’Orazio and Paul Connors can publicly explain their involvement in the Petracca saga if they so wish, but history suggests that when their firm is involved in a trade request from one of its players from a ground-zero beginning, it gets it done. It negotiated the passage of one of the all-time greats in Chris Judd, from West Coast to Carlton, in 2007, without fuss. In contrast to Petracca, Judd never sought to publicly embarrass the club he was seeking to leave.

The statement released by Melbourne on Saturday night officially committing to a future with Petracca was a convenient, timely end to a farcical saga. 

But it is almost certainly merely a temporary halt. The fraying of Petracca-Demons relationships since King’s Birthday simply may not be able to be repaired. Fixture in a resumption of the Petracca trade talk same time next year."

Posted
9 hours ago, KozzyCan said:

The players will be fine. They are professionals and don't look at things with the same eyes that supporters do. Players explore their value on their market all the time, this one just got a bit out of control. Once pre-season starts it will be water under the bridge and if it leads to the meaningful change that a lot of the players seem to be expressing a desire for then they will probably be even happier for it.

I'm not convinced by this. Some players maybe, but others would struggle. It's natural. It's a trust issue.

I'm not sure how we go about being a team-first, 2021 style playing group after this. We just have to hope that Goody, the leadership group and hopefully a new head of footy and a new coach or two can scaffold the playing group the right way.

Posted

I have always had trouble splitting my admiration for Christian or Clarry as footballers. Christian is a big occasion player while Clarry, until this season, was so remarkably able to play week in and week out at incredible high standards. Both are champions and if we can get them back to their very best with our evolving youngsters could put us back in the premiership frame. Lets hope so.

Posted

One of the things that’s remarkable to me is how blatantly the media ignore the obvious contradictions that are Jack Viney and Max Gawn to the ‘disaster’ culture narrative they’re trying to spin about the MFC (let alone the flurry of re-signings from our young guns). Here are our two greatest leaders, passionately, vocally committed to the club, both of whom drive standards of professionalism that would be the envy of any player, EVER, both just re-signing to make them one club players. Both of whom weathered the pits of this club’s recent history, then drove it to the ultimate success. How does any player not look to them as exemplars of the professionalism in loyalty we fans treasure most? How does Max Gawn’s resolve as the playing group’s leader, (arguably I guess) the best ruckman ever, a SEVEN-time all Australian, become frankly irrelevant in any media discussion about our club. Even more staggering when his media appearances around the CP5 saga were quite brilliant - consistent, empathetic, resolute. If I were a player seeking to model my career on anyone (on or off-field) it would be these two, and as a supporter, I know who I hold in highest regard as true Demons. 

• Like 21
  • Clap 8
Posted
7 hours ago, bing181 said:

"Petracca drove this exit plan himself. He was not put up to it by his management firm, Connors Sports Management. In 2021 he and that company ecstatically reached a deal with the Demons through to the end of 2029. In mid-2024, he asked his representatives to explore the market on his behalf.

Robbie D’Orazio and Paul Connors can publicly explain their involvement in the Petracca saga if they so wish, but history suggests that when their firm is involved in a trade request from one of its players from a ground-zero beginning, it gets it done. It negotiated the passage of one of the all-time greats in Chris Judd, from West Coast to Carlton, in 2007, without fuss. In contrast to Petracca, Judd never sought to publicly embarrass the club he was seeking to leave.

The statement released by Melbourne on Saturday night officially committing to a future with Petracca was a convenient, timely end to a farcical saga. 

But it is almost certainly merely a temporary halt. The fraying of Petracca-Demons relationships since King’s Birthday simply may not be able to be repaired. Fixture in a resumption of the Petracca trade talk same time next year."

Fair dinkum there's some nonsense written.

An afl.com puff piece that reads more like a 'we've got yiur back' infomercial for his player management team.

Like the media and champion data, player managers are part of the closed shop afl monopoly - can't allow members of the AFL boys club to get criticised.

The one example given of why conners et al couldn't possibly have been involved is from 17 years ago for petes sake. 

For what it's worth I think this has been driven by tracc. But that doesn't absolve conners of all responsibility -  a big part of a player managers job is protecting their clients from their own stupidity.

They clearlyv failed tracc on that front.

• Like 13
Posted
17 minutes ago, Webber said:

One of the things that’s remarkable to me is how blatantly the media ignore the obvious contradictions that are Jack Viney and Max Gawn to the ‘disaster’ culture narrative they’re trying to spin about the MFC (let alone the flurry of re-signings from our young guns). Here are our two greatest leaders, passionately, vocally committed to the club, both of whom drive standards of professionalism that would be the envy of any player, EVER, both just re-signing to make them one club players. Both of whom weathered the pits of this club’s recent history, then drove it to the ultimate success. How does any player not look to them as exemplars of the professionalism in loyalty we fans treasure most? How does Max Gawn’s resolve as the playing group’s leader, (arguably I guess) the best ruckman ever, a SEVEN-time all Australian, become frankly irrelevant in any media discussion about our club. Even more staggering when his media appearances around the CP5 saga were quite brilliant - consistent, empathetic, resolute. If I were a player seeking to model my career on anyone (on or off-field) it would be these two, and as a supporter, I know who I hold in highest regard as true Demons. 

I agree. But a microdose may be beneficial before your next surgery. 

Posted
21 hours ago, John Crow Batty said:

He needs one of these inserted for the next 12 months. We need to know which clubs he visits.

IMG_1582.jpeg

I tried to lobby for the nickname 'Ace' upon Trac's drafting - as in Ace Ventura, pet-tracker. It didn't take then, but I think could find new life now as both a statement of admiration and derision. "Nice shot Ace", works equally when he kicks or misses goals with his wild right-foot. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Skuit said:

I tried to lobby for the nickname 'Ace' upon Trac's drafting - as in Ace Ventura, pet-tracker. It didn't take then, but I think could find new life now as both a statement of admiration and derision. "Nice shot Ace", works equally when he kicks or misses goals with his wild right-foot. 

Alrighty Then GIFs - Find & Share on GIPHY

Posted
26 minutes ago, binman said:

You have to admit that "Robbie D’Orazio and Paul Connors can publicly explain their involvement in the Petracca saga if they so wish" is a pretty funny line though. 

Posted
8 hours ago, bing181 said:

Agree Bing....   enjoy season 25 folks but be aware I'm absolutely sure ( yes just my opinion ) there'll be more gnashing of teeth in the latter half of year. There will be persistent 'stories' . This isn't going away ... just on hiatus. 

Different trade options in 25 

Watch this space.

In mean time ... Go Dees

Posted (edited)

Immeditately after Trac issued his statement saying he was stayinng 'in the red and blue', I posted wondering how long it would take for the media to turn on Trac.  I didn't think it would be through an official AFL channel.   (Oh, and another chance to put the boot into the MFC.)

Edited by sue

Posted
34 minutes ago, binman said:

An afl.com puff piece that reads more like a 'we've got yiur back' infomercial for his player management team.

Like the media and champion data, player managers are part of the closed shop afl monopoly - can't allow members of the AFL boys club to get criticised.

The one example given of why conners et al couldn't possibly have been involved is from 17 years ago for petes sake. 

For what it's worth I think this has been driven by tracc. But that doesn't absolve conners of all responsibility -  a big part of a player managers job is protecting their clients from their own stupidity.

I think the point of the article was clearly to show that Tracc shot himself in the foot, not to protect his management team. Time to take your rose coloured glasses off Binny. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Agree Bing....   enjoy season 25 folks but be aware I'm absolutely sure ( yes just my opinion ) there'll be more gnashing of teeth in the latter half of year. There will be persistent 'stories' . This isn't going away ... just on hiatus. 

I had to explain to my non-ESL partner just yesterday what the difference was between the gnashing and grinding of teeth. She seemed to get it. 

Posted
14 hours ago, CHF said:

I hope both sides take lessons from this and not 'learnings'.

I think it was that terrible finals game against the wet toast, where we scored 1 ?goal to half time 

and they did not review the game. 
all we got was learnings. 
it seemed to me, all that was out of an MBA textbook, and little understanding of what was required in keeping the supporter base engaged.  Nothing has been learnt .

the way this saga was handled, on both sides, smells the same. And the media rubbish from past footballers and journos piling on top of the Dee’s.   no counter arguments or comments from our management.   Appalling.   Bring on 2025

Posted
40 minutes ago, sue said:

Immeditately after Trac issued his statement saying he was stayinng 'in the red and blue', I posted wondering how long it would take for the media to turn on Trac.  I didn't think it would be through an official AFL channel.   (Oh, and another chance to put the boot into the MFC.)

Barrett has been pretty scathing in his criticism of Petracca's actions the whole time. From the start he was saying he thought it was selfish and ego driven. 

Posted
1 hour ago, binman said:

Disagree.  With the greatest salary and greatest contract comes the greatest responsibility.  This is on CP.  If you 'go rogue' and go outside the club, outside your personal management, and in a way that brings disrepute onto the entire club, then it's entirely on you and you've got some serious explaining to do.  I'm getting tired of the narrative that 'superhuman athlete' CP needs to be wrapped in cotton wool, can operate by his own rules, and must protected from all scrutiny.  If he ever gets back onto a footy field, I'm certain he'll be gone within 12 months, and that may be best for CP, and best for the long-term culture of MFC.