Oliver Trade Rumours

Oxdee

4 hours ago, FreedFromDesire said:

I think a lot of people have stopped at the headline and not listened to the full discussion. To be fair, that's a bad habit in the media in terms of sensationalising headlines to the point of dishonesty.

Listening to the full context of the segment, at least to me, it comes across as a more figurative sentence rather than a literal description. It's quite an off hand comment in the discussion. In my view, it's speaking more to Oliver mentally checking out from the Demons, as opposed to literally cleaning his locker out.

Free from inspire and his best mate Oxdee 

Let me say, if he goes, he goes, no one player is bigger than the team

I would be disappointed given the care the Club has shown him this year.

But would rather have fully committed players, not saying Clarry isn't 

But 2025 is a new season and we will have a list, I am pleased more with all the young guys we have re signed, including the bloke I sponsor.

And Fullarton and McAdam will have been told in no uncertain terms where they need to improve, so it will be like having 2 new players and whoever else we sign.

3 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

But 2025 is a new season and we will have a list, I am pleased more with all the young guys we have re signed, including the bloke I sponsor.

And Fullarton and McAdam will have been told in no uncertain terms where they need to improve, so it will be like having 2 new players and whoever else we sign.

Improve their professionalism or improve as footballers? McAdam will be 30 next year, so I don't see any marked improvement as a footballer. And maybe Fullarton isn't what we hoped he'd be.

2 hours ago, DeeZone said:

Ha ha ha Tom Morris now sprouting what Clayton is getting and that Geelong won’t be paying that. F O Tommie boy your out of your depth trying to play the Big Boy game.!!

Whispering didn't mention anything about abusing the maggots did he?

2 hours ago, JJJ said:

I like it. We are the pin cushion of the league, clubs and oppo supporters at the moment. Don’t mind a bit of push back!

Yahoo..

2 hours ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Anyone remember the good old days when the only media footy gossip we got over summer was the 5 minute long Bemm River Report every Sunday on World of Sport with Jack Dyer and Louie The Lip?

Not where i used to drink Bayview, Montague and Druids. They had a lot of info all the time Salvos had info and sometimes tickets, the barmen had info and tips, even the army barracks had info and trouble

I take your point..

19 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

I have massive massive concerns about both Fullarton and McAdam. 

You can be slight if you are quick or can kick. If you can't do either of those it's a struggle. 

Brad Green Champing 3aw on twitter is great.

Edited by Doug Reemer

1 hour ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

200k goes no where near keeping eyes on someone full-time. Start at $1,000,000 and work up from there.

Where i used to work, i used to get about 40 g to keep an eye on everybody, Sometimes it could be a problem.

1 hour ago, Dee-tonator said:

If Oliver is indeed trying to force Melbourne's hand, I just hope the club stands firm.

Geelong have nothing to offer in terms of trading or draft picks which would come anywhere near Oliver's value as a player.

If he then refused to play for us, he would be in breach of contract, potentially leading to a fine and/or non-payment of his salary. That would be more of a legal and financial nightmare for Oliver than for the club.

The AFL really ought to be investigating Geelong for such a blatant attempt to poach a contracted player from another club.

They did it to Dangerfield and Ablett Jnr for a start.

13 minutes ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

Ive heard he cleaned out said locker due to old socks smelling. 

Tom Morris reporting it was old chicken sandwiches and a banana.

26 minutes ago, mo64 said:

Improve their professionalism or improve as footballers? McAdam will be 30 next year, so I don't see any marked improvement as a footballer. And maybe Fullarton isn't what we hoped he'd be.

That is a myth, age is not a concern, it is the players bodies that let them down.

The average age of the best goalkeepers in the Premier League is early 30s takes that long to reach their peak.

1 hour ago, SthSea22 said:

Hypothetically if Geelong said they were willing to trade us SDK, do we still say no?

Clarry will never be the player he once was due to his inability to behave and put it the effort to get his mind and body right

I also think that that statement is an insult to Clarry and i'm calling you out for that.... "get his mind right"

15 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

That is a myth, age is not a concern, it is the players bodies that let them down.

The average age of the best goalkeepers in the Premier League is early 30s takes that long to reach their peak.

You are seriously not trying to compare the fitness levels of an AFL football with a Premier League goalkeeper?

1 hour ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

200k goes no where near keeping eyes on someone full-time. Start at $1,000,000 and work up from there.

Or we can just get one of those robot vacuum cleaners for his home.

1 hour ago, Dee-tonator said:

If Oliver is indeed trying to force Melbourne's hand, I just hope the club stands firm.

Geelong have nothing to offer in terms of trading or draft picks which would come anywhere near Oliver's value as a player.

If he then refused to play for us, he would be in breach of contract, potentially leading to a fine and/or non-payment of his salary. That would be more of a legal and financial nightmare for Oliver than for the club.

The AFL really ought to be investigating Geelong for such a blatant attempt to poach a contracted player from another club.

Geelong are starting to looking like systematic home-wreckers. You'd probably find their profile on a sugar baby website.

I really look forward to the day they get audited.

10 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

Or we can just get one of those robot vacuum cleaners for his home.

Geelong are starting to looking like systematic home-wreckers. You'd probably find their profile on a sugar baby website.

I really look forward to the day they get audited.

What irks me is that after we say we're not trading him, and Geelong say "we respect Melbourne's position", talks between him, his manager, and Geelong have clearly still continued. 

Is this all just preparation for next years trade period? Make his position at the club untenable so that they can come in with low ball offers? It also serves a secondary purpose where it potentially makes him less likely to provide us with his absolute best, or at the very least puts his head in a different space.

I swear they have done this with lots of other players as well, they've become the Barcelona of the AFL where they swoop in and take the best the league has to offer.

2 hours ago, DeeZone said:

There you go again FFD “Put on a Brave Face” for what particular reason would our President or acting President have to put on a brave face, what do You think that he has done to need to put on a brave face. Do you think that he is embarrassed to be associated With out club and now you slip in the white anting of Brad Green as well “not the sharpest or shrewdest” operator as well. What is your Agenda FFD? Prey tell.!!

I'm not really sure where you're going with this constant line of attack DeeZone.

It's fine for us to disagree, but these constant accusations around agendas are childish.

3 hours ago, Garbo said:

The way they tweeted it and it has since been re reported by other media outlets certainly doesn’t give that nuance, so it’s fair play. Most ppl will only read the click bate headline and look no further and assume more drama at dees. It’s gutter journalism and should be treated as such

Yes, definitely agree there. I mentioned earlier that it's quite dishonest the way a lot of media represent things in their headlines these days. I notice they changed the quote in future reports to properly reflect the comment, but a bit late by then.

3 hours ago, deelusions from afar said:

That's fair enough.  But I actually really appreciate us having a go back for once.  We've been under seige for more than a year and have just been copping it.  I'm not against Goody and others' approach of being "a good Melbourne person" and being pragmatic and not dodoro when dealing with player movement... as I think these things are important to be successful ina sustainable way.  But we are under seige and no one has flown the flag...  Don't get me started on Maynard at Kings Birthday!

So I actually appreciate Brad for pushing back - about time someone did!

That's a fair comment. I probably should have added, I don't mind the push back, and I certainly hope Brad continues to defend the club publicly, I more just meant the content of how he did it.

I would certainly like to hear from more than just Max and Brad's twitter account moving forward. Our communication as a club is quite poor I find.