Posted

Suspect we'll hear something from the club today/tonight given the B&F tomorrow.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Mel Bourne said:

One theory: Goodwin has to say he still wants Clarry in case a deal doesnt get done. 

That makes a lot of sense

Posted
27 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

We’ve instigated this. 

Which means we’ve lost the bargaining power to hold him. 

It’s, IMO, a monumental mismanagement of one of the 5 best players this club has ever had. 

I don't understand why everyone is blaming the club for taking this course of action. Without being inside the club, you don't really know how much of a detractor Oliver has been.

Oliver went off the rails last year because he was a DH. Not because of mismanagement. He has been guided and supported his whole adult life and he is still making terrible life decisions at 27. If anything, I would praise the club for being able to turn Oliver into such a wonderful player over the last decade despite his personality issues.

There was no way to orchestrate a trade without the media getting knowledge of it. The opposition clubs and Oliver's manager were always going to let it out to increase their bargaining power. The other clubs don't want to bring in a distraction on a huge wage.

The MFC's choices are either a terrible trade or stick with Oliver and his roughly $1.4m contract for the next 6 years. I hope we have the courage to walk things back if the offer is too outrageous, particularly in terms of dollars.

Posted
20 minutes ago, seventyfour said:

This makes me hate Trac even more. Doesn't like his behaviour but has no issue with the player, just the club? Makes no [censored] sense.

Am I missing something? Where in what you quoted, does it say that Trac didn’t like Oliver’s behaviour?

Posted

Apparently Pert acted alone & there are a lot of angry people inside the Club…

The B&F could be the highlight of 2024

• Shocked 2
  • Angry 2
Posted
1 minute ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Seriously??

Posted (edited)
5 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

If true, both Pert and Goodwin going into 2025 together is untenable. 

And again, if true, the board must remove the CEO as soon as possible. Whether or not such actions are justified, going rogue is inexcusable. 

Edited by Mel Bourne

Posted
15 minutes ago, Hellaintabadplacetobe said:

I'm completely fed up with our club. What a debacle. If Clarry leaves we ain't contenders any time soon.

If Clarry plays like he did this season the Dees won't be contending anyway. Early in the season he had a few good games. He was a passenger for the rest of the year and in some games he was a mere shadow of his former self.

He isn't Clarry from 2021. I question if he will ever get back to that but if he can get back to 80 or 85% of the old Clarry in time, he is still a good footballer.

Clarry isn't the first star sportsman to drive their sporting career into the ground due to outside factors, won't be the last.

The real question is how disruptive is he to the rest of the squad, team dynamic? I have no insights into that ... 🤔

Posted
4 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

If this is true, his job is untenable 

Posted
Just now, Mel Bourne said:

If true, both Pert and Goodwin going into 2025 together is untenable. 

It would seem that way. As i said Apparently. Cannot be 100% at this stage 

Posted
43 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

So what are Petraccas trade options?

Posted
37 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

There is some history repeating here though.  We cant seem to hold on or foster decent players through a crisis it seems.

Some end up leaving and turn it around at other club (clubs who are better at doing so?) and end up turning their footy career around.

The latest Clazz saga feels like history repeating for me.

A large part of why we are where we are on this of course might be on Claz but the question has to be asked, why us so often?

We just don't feel like a destination club for whatever reason, even after a recent premiership.

Quite sad really.  We had a great opportunity post 2021 and it's looking more and more like we may have blown it.

This is the biggest issue for me. Or at least the equal biggest issue. The loss of Oliver, one of the best to ever wear the colours, is immense. Generational talent like that is… obviously rare. His likely loss will also be compounded by Tracc likely going as well. These things have cascading effects. Other team members see this, as do prospective trades and recruits. Why would they stay/join? 

It took us SO LONG to return to building some respect and redefining our culture… and through some bad luck yes, but mostly mismanagement we are looking at a dire 2025 - can’t see us doing better than bottom 4, we were very close with both Clarry and Tracc playing although admittedly to different degrees. Beyond that, HOW are we going to build for the future? Why would talent want to come to us? The reality is half of what has been said about us is likely not true, but it doesn’t matter, it’s perception. Talent will have the option of another safer stabler team likely with better talent and not their midfield obliterated, and us, which may be plagued by talk of culture, crappy Comms, board drama etc. prospect of years at the bottom. 

So. How will be recover from this? Seriously. And I’m sure we will. Some day I guess. But will it take another 10 years in  the doldrums? We had a real chance to finally stamp our return to relevance and I fear we have blown it.

What a waste.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Absolutely no way anyone other than about 5 people know definitively what’s going on. Lies, damn lies and Sam McClure tweets are all we have to go on. 

Someone might want to spread the word it’s all Pert so they don’t get offside with the player. Someone else might want to suggest the footy dept are all in it together so it looks like a group decision. Someone might want to suggest it’s driven by the playing group, someone else might want to suggest it’s Trac pushing it and someone else again might want to rebut that so they don’t look like the bad guy. 

No one is telling the complete truth while something like this goes on, and probably not even after it’s done. 

Posted

These never ending dramas with our club are really bringing me down.

Love for the game is truly being tested big time.

I fear our membership numbers will take severe nose dive next season .

• Sad 2

Posted (edited)

One of the many things that I don’t understand about this why would we shop him round to cats who have the least trade capital, why would we not be shopping him to north or saints or hawks

Edited by Garbo
Posted
1 hour ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

The prevailing narrative in AFL circles was that some people got away with murder while the team was winning. 

Including the coach (best mates)

Posted
12 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Source?

Posted (edited)
3 minutes ago, Garbo said:

One of the many things that I don’t understand about this why would we shopped him round to cats who have the least trade capital, why would we not be shopping him to north or saints or hawks

I'd say its because at the moment its only the cats who are interested in him. You would have heard by now if other clubs were sniffing around.

Edited by Young Blood
Posted
39 minutes ago, Mel Bourne said:

Who is “we” exactly though? 

Because Goodwin apparently doesn’t. 

If we’re to believe him, forces higher up are about to strip him of a club champion. A champion who he believes he can still manage and return him to his best form. 

So either that’s not how he really feels, or the club are officially saying they have no confidence he can. 

This all fits in with the notion that one of Goodwin’s characteristics is being “mates” with the players. 

I can’t help but be reminded of the teachers I had in high school who wanted to be “in” with the students (“the ones who’d say “None of that ‘mister’ stuff, call me Steve”). You liked them but you didn’t fear them, and you were often trying to find out where the boundaries actually were. 

You'd wonder if Roos would have managed it differently. 
He had the ultimatum 12 months ago and despite some injuries and fitness problems, by all accounts was putting his head down and doing his best.

Then bang, he's out.

I mentioned it a hundred pages ago, but look at Brisbane. In complete dissaray at the start of the season with infighting between players and partners after the vegas trip and then Fagan and the FD seemed to straighten it out and they win a flag.
I betchya he was not their mate.

I am going to miss watching him play for the Dees and loathe watching him come good for the cats.
The FD department at Jeelong must have complete faith in their coaches to bring Smith and Oliver in. They must truly believe in their systems to get these guys to knuckle down when it's required.

Clarry was a pure joy to watch when he was on song. Just lightening fast. Quite the tragedy for our club.

Relying on high draft picks to save our club is a farce. 

I'm feeling very Neeldy.

• Sad 2

Posted
12 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Alright then, that is it!

I am furious now! I was originally a big supporter of Gary Pert as CEO! I thought the Collingwood rumours were rubbish.

This is the final straw!

Brad Green needs to sack Gary Pert NOW!!!

I choose Clayton Oliver over Gary Pert!

Posted
4 minutes ago, Garbo said:

One of the many things that I don’t understand about this why would we shop him round to cats who have the least trade capital, why would we not be shopping him to north or saints or hawks

Tigers will have the best draft hand unless we also want a player in return.

Posted

If SWYLs intel Is right, the board must remove Pert today. 

I still favour a top to bottom review of the entire club by an independent third party at arms length from the board and CEO. Everything in the table.

Posted
35 minutes ago, Abyssal said:

That might be the case but my referencing of Jay Clark’s post was to question how Oliver could out if we didn’t agree.

If Geelong really want him they need to compensate us.

Also, MFC should not be conned into paying a cent of his salary.

We are the ones pushing Oliver out… not him wanting out. It seems that dees football department are willing to both take a salary hit and sub standard draft picks to get him out the door. Very depressing 

Posted

Cats can offer us nothing except a salary dump opportunity. Maybe a future 1st and 2nd round pick. No players would appeal excepting for Holmes and he’s committed to staying at the Cats.