Bring-Back-Powell 15,547 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 If he's so "out of favour" then why did we select him for round 0 against all odds? 4 Quote
von 1,580 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 (edited) 3 hours ago, Smokey said: A glaring issue in our list has been, for many years, quality ball users in our midfeild. That then amplifies our issue of having no elite power forward. Love Clarry, he is a generational player. But if letting him go would fix the issues above then of course we should entertain it. Ball users are worth next to nothing if you don’t have Clarry or someone like him to get it to them. He’s one of the all time greats at getting it. It’s a very important piece of the puzzle. Edited March 13, 2024 by von 1 1 1 Quote
chook fowler 19,772 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 The Moggies are obviously worried about losing Long John Holmes. 2 Quote
Rab D Nesbitt 8,955 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 Clarry out of favour? I know that they’re a little behind the times down that way but it sounds to me like a copy of the Herald Sun from last December has finally blown into town and landed on the windscreen of their recruiting manager’s car. 2 8 1 Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 (edited) 3 hours ago, Smokey said: A glaring issue in our list has been, for many years, quality ball users in our midfeild. That then amplifies our issue of having no elite power forward. Love Clarry, he is a generational player. But if letting him go would fix the issues above then of course we should entertain it. Unless we get a replacement who is as good a ball user as Clarry is an extractor, then that theory is kaput. I'd rather work on improving Clarry's foot skills than trading him. It worked for Chunk, his kicking early on was woeful Salem, Billings, Rivers and Windsor running through the middle and delivering i50 should help too Forward strategies are more the issue. Ban the long bomb, always look at a kick to advantage, get injured/suspended players on the park. More to it than that obviously, but would certainly help Edited March 13, 2024 by Moonshadow 3 Quote
bluey 1,123 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 Seriously, a few months ago we nearly lost him for nothing. Is it possible to enter into a three way exchange and finish up with astronaut? something will break at the dogs and we’ve got to stay alert. 1 Quote
Garbo 1,567 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 If it happens we should demand Max Holmes as part of any trade 1 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,457 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 “Out of Favour??…” Please explain I am so glad i no longer work for the Media. It has become a total cesspool Hunter S. Thompson was right 6 Quote
Demonstone 23,569 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 Telephone message for Geelong Football Club ... 1 1 Quote
Smokey 4,391 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 2 hours ago, von said: Ball users are worth next to nothing if you don’t have Clarry or someone like him to get it to them. He’s one of the all time greats at getting it. It’s a very important piece of the puzzle. It doesn't matter. Prudent business is exploring what the compensation would look like before making any decision (on any player for that matter). Simple as that. 1 1 Quote
Bigfoot 303 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 This website's profanity filter cannot handle what I have to say to Geelong about this. 3 1 2 Quote
von 1,580 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 50 minutes ago, Smokey said: It doesn't matter. Prudent business is exploring what the compensation would look like before making any decision (on any player for that matter). Simple as that. I agree. Just think it’d be really hard to offer us enough. 1 Quote
adonski 13,266 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 Tom Morris saying Holmes could command $1m per year over 6 years.... 3 Quote
Roost it far 10,135 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 4 minutes ago, adonski said: Tom Morris saying Holmes could command $1m per year over 6 years.... They can keep him Quote
DubDee 26,674 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 This is all BS. Close thread Clarry loves the club Cats can GAGF 2 1 Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,023 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 (edited) I've worked it out. JVR and Tholstrup to the Shockers Shockers on trade to Meth Coke for Reid Meth Coke cut a deal with us for JVR, Tholstrup, Oscar Allen and their 2024 first round pick to us for Clarry. Fixed. (And thank you Bell end) Edited March 13, 2024 by Queanbeyan Demon Typo 1 Quote
58er 6,872 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 7 hours ago, Smokey said: Viney, Sparrow, Tracca, Kozzie, Rivers, Salo, Windsor - and in the two's AMW, Brown How many midfield options do we need exactly? Stupid unthinking comment. Of course sOne of your list aren’t even in the ones yet Ridiculous suggestion and start supporting Clarry to be the best he can be. Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,023 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 7 hours ago, Smokey said: Viney, Sparrow, Tracca, Kozzie, Rivers, Salo, Windsor - and in the two's AMW, Brown How many midfield options do we need exactly? This is funny. I must be watching a different team running around in the red and blue every week. Quote
Palace Dees 2,422 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 (edited) If you are able to watch AFL 360, there was an excellent discussion about Clarrygate tonight. Sensible, balanced, honest and even enlightening. It involved Lewis, Riewoltd & Whately (Robbo was in attendance). Edited March 13, 2024 by Palace Dees Quote
Smokey 4,391 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 (edited) 1 hour ago, 58er said: Stupid unthinking comment. Of course sOne of your list aren’t even in the ones yet Ridiculous suggestion and start supporting Clarry to be the best he can be. My word you can be abrasive for no reason Edited March 13, 2024 by Smokey 1 Quote
Smokey 4,391 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 58 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said: This is funny. I must be watching a different team running around in the red and blue every week. Not sure what’s funny mate. Just stating we have plenty of blokes that can play mid. What we don’t have plenty of is quality ball users and reliable key forwards. If we’re happy making finals and doing no damage come September then by all means, let’s not think outside the box. Quote
58er 6,872 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 5 minutes ago, Smokey said: My word you can be abrasive for no reason. Are you autistic or something? Dont you like the truth Smokey. Start support ING Clarry. I am not autistic and please don't offend others who may have the misfortune to suffer. 1 Quote
Smokey 4,391 Posted March 13, 2024 Posted March 13, 2024 4 minutes ago, 58er said: Dont you like the truth Smokey. Start support ING Clarry. I am not autistic and please don't offend others who may have the misfortune to suffer. Fair, have removed that part of my comment. You are a very unpleasant person however. Quote