Angus Brayshaw Forced into Retirement

Feel for Brayshaw and obviously it's been a loss for us not having him.

But the obsession with Maynard and Collingwood is in my opinion the cringiest thing imaginable. To me, if the incident was actually the thuggish act that Melb supporters seem to feel it was, then it was only marginally that. Brayshaw obviously had a rough history with head knocks and was in the wrong spot at the wrong time.

Collingwood may injure more people but reality is they play the game harder than we do. It's one thing for our fans to be outraged and breathing fire at the prospect of responding to the Pies, but when our players come out with relatively meek physicality every time they match up you start to realise our players mustn't feel as strongly about it as the fans do.

If we want to focus any attention on Collingwood or Maynard, it should be to study how they are able to compete harder than our players for longer than our players.

• Angry 2
  • Vomit 10

2 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

But there’s Olympic swimmers and other random athletes.  Hmmmm.  Can we honour our AFL retirees!!! 

Harry Garside because.........?

He's got a book to [censored] I guess

28 minutes ago, rufus said:

If we want to focus any attention on Collingwood or Maynard, it should be to study how they are able to compete harder than our players for longer than our players.

Please take no offense to this, but this is one of the ****test takes on Demonland. 

Collingwood and Maynard competed so hard post flag they didn’t even make the 8. 

4 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Please take no offense to this, but this is one of the ****test takes on Demonland. 

Collingwood only make finals in seasons where Maynard hospitalises an opponent with a head injury.

This statement stands true since pre-covid times.

13 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

No offense taken. Just my opinion. If you honestly think that year in year out, week in week out, when the MFC take the field they appear as desperate to win as the Pies generally do then that's great. You likely enjoy watching us play much more than I do.

I also reckon if you surveyed other neutral supporters they'd probably agree that in general MFC players are a tad soft and we're a club that prefers to find and excuse than to find a way.. while Collingwood are not.

• Vomit 2

2 minutes ago, rufus said:

No offense taken. Just my opinion. If you honestly think that year in year out, week in week out, when the MFC take the field they appear as desperate to win as the Pies generally do then that's great. You likely enjoy watching us play much more than I do.

I also reckon if you surveyed other neutral supporters they'd probably agree that in general MFC players are a tad soft and we're a club that prefers to find and excuse than to find a way.. while Collingwood are not.

I would rather be soft than a bunch of thugs and sexual predators 

17 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

big piece by caro today about how much we miss him

along with the usual swipes she just can’t help herself taking at us. And still no one can seem to bear mentioning the act that put him there. 

2 hours ago, Brownie said:

I think there are still things you can take out of it. 

I think this article helps at least explain that right now, Gus is still very crook.

To those that keep saying, oh yeah we should give him a role. We would if he could but he can't right now.

It's not about the club offering him anything.
That offer to assist has been there since day dot.
He can't even have a round of golf or enjoy a night at the Brownlow with some of his best mates.
It's incredibly sad.
Lot's of love to Gus and his family.
I hope he finds his health and his groove again.
Just a wonderful bloke.

It's been a huge loss. It was crushing on the night it happened and it still seems to be very hard for his team mates.

It looked like Gawn was very upset at the Brownlow during his speech.

Anyways, time to listen to the wisdom and insight of Selwood, Hamish and BT on Seven.

Happy granny day everyone 

Was that mean to sound mansplaniy or it just came off that way? 

2 hours ago, deegirl said:

Was that mean to sound mansplaniy or it just came off that way? 

Nah, he's just trying to help you understand...

5 hours ago, rufus said:

But the obsession with Maynard and Collingwood is in my opinion the cringiest thing imaginable. To me, if the incident was actually the thuggish act that Melb supporters seem to feel it was, then it was only marginally that. Brayshaw obviously had a rough history with head knocks and was in the wrong spot at the wrong time.

Collingwood may injure more people but reality is they play the game harder than we do. It's one thing for our fans to be outraged and breathing fire at the prospect of responding to the Pies, but when our players come out with relatively meek physicality every time they match up you start to realise our players mustn't feel as strongly about it as the fans do.

You're kidding aren't you?

I still want Brayden Maynard's blood! As do many other Melbourne supporters.

Let's hope we get revenge against Collingwood for the disgraceful injustice against Angus Brayshaw eventually....

34 minutes ago, Supreme_Demon said:

Let's hope we get revenge against Collingwood for the disgraceful injustice against Angus Brayshaw eventually....

I would be quite happy if our players wanted his blood...or wanted 'revenge' against Collingwood or even just wanted to physically smash Collingwood in a match just because they're an opponent who always make us look weak. But our players don't ever seem too fussed about it so no point in us getting riled up.

19 minutes ago, rufus said:

I would be quite happy if our players wanted his blood...or wanted 'revenge' against Collingwood or even just wanted to physically smash Collingwood in a match just because they're an opponent who always make us look weak. But our players don't ever seem too fussed about it so no point in us getting riled up.

While I don't agree with all you have said, it will really be a litmus test next year when we eventually face Collingwood.

I will know everything I need to know about the team and if they are fair dinkum aiming for the big prize, and as a by-product, how much they care for their coach (or if the coach can still motivate this list).

19 hours ago, Little Goffy said:

I have no idea who Harry Garside is but I'm intrigued by what he does with his book. 

@Bitter but optimistic, any experience in with such literary perversions?

Thanks for calling upon my expertise Goffy, however, in this instance I can be of scant assistance.

You might note though, that in a quite controversial story about a fellow named Portnoy, the eponymous hero performed a rather nasty act on the family dinner. 

I will leave further investigation in your hands.

22 hours ago, rufus said:

In the wrong spot at the wrong time. [censored]!.

So, given the payout clauses, couldn’t we renegotiate his contract for 3 years + options for additional years on games played?  We then get around the cap bs which is coming in a few years…He ain’t going to honour any contract now, anyway…..

18 hours ago, Supreme_Demon said:

And if we can't, recruit two who can, That's what they would do.

3 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Thanks for calling upon my expertise Goffy, however, in this instance I can be of scant assistance.

You might note though, that in a quite controversial story about a fellow named Portnoy, the eponymous hero performed a rather nasty act on the family dinner. 

I will leave further investigation in your hand

What's a roast without sauce

3 hours ago, buck_nekkid said:

So, given the payout clauses, couldn’t we renegotiate his contract for 3 years + options for additional years on games played?  We then get around the cap bs which is coming in a few years…He ain’t going to honour any contract now, anyway…..

Yeah this seems like a massive loophole. Oh you're on a backended contract and you need to medically retire. Let's just flip that around so the year we get 90% outside of the cap is eating up the bulk of that.