Demon Disciple 12,531 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 Just now, fr_ap said: Our media dept are very ordinary Since Gibbo left, it’s a shambles. 5 1 Quote
Adam The God 30,719 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 He reminds me of Caddy when he's forward and Sparrow when he's in the midfield. It's that power type player that has the ability to win or halve big contests in the middle or in the forward half. He's a very 'Melbourne' pick. At least, a JT type. I'm intrigued what the wraps on him were at the end of last year to make him worthy of a top 5 selection, @Gator. Any insight there? Obviously, he's fallen down the order a bit due to injury, but to be worthy of top 5 talk, you'd have to have some elite attributes outside of mere power. 3 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,287 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 3 minutes ago, fr_ap said: Our media dept are very ordinary Gone to [censored] since Gibbo left. 1 1 1 Quote
dee-tox 4,835 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 14 minutes ago, monoccular said: Does anyone know the origin of the family name? Norwegian? Hope he isn’t pining for the fjords😮 Danish I believe. 1 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,287 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 2 minutes ago, Binmans PA said: He reminds me of Caddy when he's forward and Sparrow when he's in the midfield. It's that power type player that has the ability to win or halve big contests in the middle or in the forward half. He's a very 'Melbourne' pick. At least, a JT type. I'm intrigued what the wraps on him were at the end of last year to make him worthy of a top 5 selection, @Gator. Any insight there? Obviously, he's fallen down the order a bit due to injury, but to be worthy of top 5 talk, you'd have to have some elite attributes outside of mere power. He was a genuine power forward at colts level as an under-age playe last year kicking over 30 goals in a season. My understanding was that he was dominating that level and there was expectation of organic growth in his game. Decided to he wanted to do a pre season with the seniors and got rewarded with senior footy all year playing as a high half forward and sometimes even defensive forward. Battled some groin injuries which impacted him mid year. 7 3 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,365 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 I don’t suppose that Melbourne has ever had a Koltyn playing for the club before? 3 Quote
Little Goffy 14,953 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 13 minutes ago, monoccular said: Does anyone know the origin of the family name? Norwegian? Hope he isn’t pining for the fjords😮 Leans more to Danish, it seems. So.. flat track bully? Bingo, there's an Australia semi-famous Tholstrup originally from Denmark. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hans_Tholstrup 1 1 Quote
Adam The God 30,719 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 8 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: He was a genuine power forward at colts level as an under-age playe last year kicking over 30 goals in a season. My understanding was that he was dominating that level and there was expectation of organic growth in his game. Decided to he wanted to do a pre season with the seniors and got rewarded with senior footy all year playing as a high half forward and sometimes even defensive forward. Battled some groin injuries which impacted him mid year. Thanks mate. I like the idea of someone like him playing defensive forward and allowing a McAdam a bit more room to play as a flair player. That said, no idea how we fit everyone in that 7 string forward half when Koltyn is finally ready to play seniors for us. 2 Quote
58er 6,871 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 41 minutes ago, DemonOX said: Would have liked to see him when he was called out as a Dees player tbh. Would have been nice if there was a camera set up at his place given he wasn’t at the draft. Every time i hear we get a player from perf I worry about the go home factor. DO Don’t know if you realise Esperance is about 500kms from Perth? So who would do the camera work other than the great shots we have got from the Perth 7 news. Via someone in the family also has or Ch 7. 2 1 Quote
greenwaves 516 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 (edited) He's been playing WAFL against men so he could be ready to contribute in the senior side next year Edited November 20, 2023 by greenwaves 2 Quote
mo64 5,910 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 Got an opinion from a mate involved with West Perth coaching dept. Said he's a very good player and compares him to Daniel Rich. 6 4 1 Quote
Macca 17,127 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 Hunts the ball with a real focus. A healthy air of confidence about the lad too Nice disposal skills and looks to have excellent awareness I can see both Koltyn & Caleb Windsor playing in the seniors next year ... maybe 6-8 games each (or more) 4 Quote
Lord Travis 10,817 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 Welcome to the club Koltyn. He looks like a dill and I love him already. Hope he can settle into Melbourne and start brutalizing the opposition in our forward half! 2 1 Quote
Ted Lasso 19,586 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 you can just tell he's going to be our Tom Papley or Jack Ginnivan, opposition teams will absolutely hate him haha 6 4 1 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,669 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 So...do we slide AMW up to a more prestigious number and go with the Kolt 45? 7 4 5 Quote
Satan 2,921 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 1 hour ago, Little Goffy said: Leans more to Danish, it seems. So.. flat track bully? Bingo, there's an Australia semi-famous Tholstrup originally from Denmark. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hans_Tholstrup Thought of this guy 2 Quote
Fork 'em 7,052 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 (edited) https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/meet-the-new-afl-cult-hero-who-doesnt-care-what-others-have-to-say/news-story/e4db376825f4be00021e379dcf30dd87 Edited November 20, 2023 by Fork 'em 3 1 Quote
Pennant St Dee 13,443 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 Welcome aboard Koltyn, looking forward to watching you in the red and blue 8 Quote
picket fence 18,172 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 9 hours ago, Binmans PA said: Thanks mate. I like the idea of someone like him playing defensive forward and allowing a McAdam a bit more room to play as a flair player. That said, no idea how we fit everyone in that 7 string forward half when Koltyn is finally ready to play seniors for us. He will replace Spargo and or Chandler... oh wait I already had McAdam and Billings in those slots!😁 2 Quote
Dee Viney Intervention 2,026 Posted November 20, 2023 Posted November 20, 2023 In a few years time I can see him modelling Tradie Undies with his sunnies on. Honey Badger Mark 2. 2 1 Quote