Smokey 4,391 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 We’ll finish next year top 4 again and with any luck injury wise we’ll be a real chance again. Having no consistent forward structure is always going to be a big ask in September. We win everywhere else. I love following the Dee’s while we finish top 4 year after year, I’ll take this over the neeld era any day. Catch ya next year DL 20 2 Quote
Fork 'em 7,052 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 8 minutes ago, DutchDemons said: I sold my soul to the devil for the 21 premiership. It’s my fault. Sorry guys. We all wanted "Just one." 2 1 Quote
ucanchoose 1,816 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Had a flutter on Carlton. Could see it coming 1 Quote
Superunknown 4,246 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Let’s get behind GWS and the Lions anyone but the CFCs 13 1 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 2 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said: May was massive. Sparrow in the last, very good. A wise man once told me never to email (but I’m going to apply to it posting in this case), when angry, upset or otherwise emotional, so I’m going to leave it at that. I’ll be back. 💯 May and sparrow where massive in the last 10 minutes. 7 Quote
MoonBoot 31 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Grundy should have played. Useless shache sub. Just dumb. 10 1 Quote
old dee 24,083 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 And so ends my AFL following. 2 1 1 1 Quote
ElDiablo14 5,055 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Is Goodwin going to say the score takes care of itself if we do the basics? What about the basic skill of kicking straight between the posts? 3 Quote
Stiff Arm 4,420 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Why select Schache as sub if Goody won't put him on, despite Tmac being a witches hat? 9 1 Quote
ElDiablo14 5,055 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 1 minute ago, old dee said: And so ends my AFL following. For the year or for good? Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Seriously here are some challenged people on this site... The team was undermanned and gave it everything...if you can't see that you know nothing. Signing off for AFL season 2023. 5 1 1 1 Quote
leave it to deever 17,617 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Just now, I think OF Demons said: We were robbed, and we robbed ourselves with poor kicking. Too many Outs and a combined losing margin of 8 points across 2 finals games... we are a great side with bad luck this year. What can you do? Poor kicking isn't bad luck. Letting blues waltz out every centre bounce was a disgrace. Poor coaching with no subbing doesn't help. 1 Quote
dee-tox 4,835 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Wasn't confident coming in and then was calm mid-way through the last quarter. Then we couldn't finish it. Almost predictable they would kick the last goal to win. Our leaders, MAy aside, couldn't show the way. Four finals losses in a row. This year it was simply poor execution. Our best were the unsung heroes. Spargo, Smith, Sparrow, etc 5 Quote
Antioch 235 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 11 minutes ago, Red But Mostly Blue said: This Is why we’re not a big club and we’re not taken seriously and we don’t draw big crowds. We can’t be trusted. Bunch of chokers. Fancy handing a prelim to the blues on a freaking platter. So 96,000 is not a big crowd? 2 1 1 Quote
Boots and all 1,000 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 2 minutes ago, Return to Glory said: Cannot agree. MacDonald wasn't working. Schache should have had a run 30 minutes earlier ...and done what exactly, the bloke [censored] himself at every turn. Absolute bottom of the barrel with those two at TMc stage of his career and Schache, well forever!! 1 Quote
Allen Jakovich 519 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Unfortunately we have a culture of choking when it really matters. Whatever they were drinking in the hub in 2021 created a short term antidote, clearly.... 1 Quote
Graeme Yeats' Mullet 6,792 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 14 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said: Straight Sets Simon has wasted yet another year through poor list management and team selection. Schache the sub and wasn’t even used, while we had ruck contests with no one going up and Grundy in the stands. Gawn totally exposed their backline with his marking when he was forward, we could have had a lot more of that with Grundy in the team. This is the least surprising result, lost at team selection yet again. Yep, I have to agree Wtf were they thinking? 1 Quote
bing181 9,473 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Ridiculous comments re Goodwin, and all the coaches for that matter. The team they put out there had the tools to win ... but the players couldn't execute. 6 Quote
Rocknroll 1,010 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 Undisciplined footy cost us 5 Quote
YearOfTheDees 3,266 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 16 goals 28 behinds from 122 inside 50s. 2 1 2 Quote
leave it to deever 17,617 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 We suck. There I feel better. Sorry. 2 1 Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,388 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 May was massive. Sparrow in the last, very good. A wise man once told me never to email (but I’m going to apply to it posting in this case), when angry, upset or otherwise emotional, so I’m going to leave it at that. I’ll be back. 2 Quote
Fork 'em 7,052 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 3 minutes ago, Dannyz said: How many times is Goodwin going to lose important games at selection. Don't help if ya players are choking in front of goal. 3 Quote
Devil In Disguise 2,284 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 I thought Tommo was good. If he leaves l’ll be [censored] off with Goodwin. Should have been playing more this year. 3 Quote
Bang Bang Bang 5,875 Posted September 15, 2023 Posted September 15, 2023 That's the problem with AFL and most sports in general - the entire 24 round H&A season counts for nothing when you can't execute in big games. 7.11 (+7 total misses) and 9.17 just won't it. That's the dictionary definition of a choke. Twice. We were never beating Geelong last year nor Brisbane this, but it still [censored] sucks not to even get a chance. The wins will be meaningless next year from March-August. Chokers tag well and truly on and we'll be a laughing stock over summer. Time to delete Twitter and stay away from footy talk as much as possible for six months I reckon. Last time I did that was 2017. May was massive and probably has another hurrah or two left in him. But we're running out of time. He's nearly 32 and still our MVP. In hindsight Petty going down injured can't be underestimated. TMac was beyond useless in both finals and Schache wasn't even trusted enough to go on the ground. [censored] [censored] [censored]. 9 1 Quote