Posted

Moments that really [censored] me off today:

1. Spargo spoiling Fritsch on the lead

2. Harmes spoiling a certain JVR mark inside 50 when the momentum was with us

3. Kozzys lazy snap that he ballooned at the City end

4. anytime ANB had the ball - guaranteed turnover

5. JVR marking inside 50, failing to turn around and realise Grundy was alone in the goal square, then going back and blowing the set shot

6. Spargos shot on goal at the City end in the 3rd - useless

that’s just a start..will have plenty more on review 

Posted
3 minutes ago, rufus said:

Possibly very lucky to be up in the year that the GF and big finals were played away from the MCG. We might well have seen an epic pant[censored] if we had have played a huge final on the MCG if there was a hostile crowd involved. Think it suited us very well to be very far away in 21.

After a loss the negative commentary can be amusing or justified (today the latter), but the disrespectful comments that inevitably get thrown at the 2021 campaign are always a bridge too far. 

Posted (edited)

As others have said - I'm quickly realising we are not as good as we all thought and our premiership window is rapidly closing!! Lack of hunger is what baffles me. 

Hibbos fumble and resulting goal was like watching jnr footy. No desire to amend error. 

Edited by Pottsydee
Posted
1 hour ago, Kiss of Death said:

We have turned into the most selfish bunch of individuals around.

No connection between our lines, bugger all communication, linking of plays is non-existent, bomb it to a pack of forwards with no crumbers around because they’re all too high up the ground, and practically no blocking checking defensive work. Nobody is even taking the first option anymore, it’s dump kicks in and out of the 50 almost every time. 

Everybody is playing for theirselves, with very very few exclusions.  

Yes, we are getting some complete rubbish handed at us by the umpires - but stop ranting and sooking at them, Dees - focus on winning the next bloody contest!  If you kick a goal - stop running over to the boundary line and fist pumping at the supporters and just expecting our fellow Dees to run over and celebrate with you - high five each other and the bloke who got the ball to you in the first place! 

FMD what happened to our team football 

Like your second paragraph, particularly. It is a reflection of what we all hoped was a past era prior to the '21 GF.

Posted
Just now, The heart beats true said:

What a joke.

We won that flag in one of the most awe inspiring displays of football brilliance the AFL has ever seen. 

You can be as annoyed as you want to be about today, but don’t use it to rewrite our history. 

Just like the Dogs did in 2016 right place right time, teams figured us out out we have not moved on from our game plan other teams have, we have not tweaked or it changed it.

Posted
1 minute ago, Bang Bang Bang said:

After a loss the negative commentary can be amusing or justified (today the latter), but the disrespectful comments that inevitably get thrown at the 2021 campaign are always a bridge too far. 

Yep. Disrespecting a flag is ten bridges too far. They are never fluked.

Posted

Oscar Baker and Weideman have risen to another level now they are at a new club.

Quite possibly they have renewed belief in their own ability due to the attitudes of their new coaches. 
Instead of being fixtures at VFL level they have been given the opportunity and are repaying that faith.

Perhaps Simon Goodwin could broaden his outlook and consider backing in the likes of J. Smith, D. Turner, Schache, D. Smith, Moniz-Wakefield and Dunstan ( when available ) instead having blind faith in McDonald and Neal-Bullen who are all too often Net liabilites or anybody else who is consistently out of form.

Posted
1 hour ago, layzie said:

Can we re-schedule the King's Birthday game? I don't want it right now.

I've just got off the phone to Gill. He's moving it to the weekend after next. All good.

Posted
1 minute ago, gs77 said:

I've just got off the phone to Gill. He's moving it to the weekend after next. All good.

People do that all the time in my workplace the day before a public holiday.

"You've done so well today you can have tomorrow off"

A real dad joke organisation haha.

Posted

Observing the players today it was interesting. The amount of players that were hunched over, just walking, max banging his hands when he dropped a mark or missed a tackle and there was no positive encouragement. 

It doesn't look like we're having fun or enjoying footy at the moment.

Posted (edited)

Spargo

ANB

Harmes

McVee

Salem

Gawn

Lever

Jordan

Chandler

JVR

TMac

That's a lot of passengers for a team to carry.

Schache

Laurie

Woewodin

Turner

They should all play next week, we need the passion of youth

Edited by Roost it far
Posted
3 minutes ago, demon3165 said:

Just like the Dogs did in 2016 right place right time, teams figured us out out we have not moved on from our game plan other teams have, we have not tweaked or it changed it.

This place is nuts today!

Let’s all talk down when we won the Premiership! That is actually insane.

Posted
1 hour ago, wizardinoz said:

Surely Goodwin has to play Brown next week. The forward line is pathetic.

Brown is often pathetic these days, too. I'd think of a mobile, tough, dead-eye Dick for the goals, fit Sparrow as a CHF. Not all key forwards who are prepared to move to advantageous positional spots need to be tall streaks of pelican detritus. 

Posted

My takeaways from today and the last few weeks;

We are not a united club this year. There’s a selfishness that’s crept back in and everyone is playing to protect their spot. Problem is no one is actually pulling it off.

Whilst we won a flag in 2021 on the back of defence, it’s a very, very taxing style of play. Everyone bemoans our lack of front and centre and the struggles of our small forwards but they are being asked to do too much. It’s simply not sustainable for multiple games and seasons. You need 100% commitment to make this work and teams can only do it for so long.

Maybe the generational talent we supposedly hold is not as great as we think. Gawn, Trac and Clarry are all very good but there are flaws in their games that hurt us.

If other teams are bringing huge effort to beat us, it’s a nice feather in the cap but we eventually have to counter it.

Last one to end the rant, our game plan is so bloody ordinary to watch. I can’t imagine how frustrating it is for the players. We have sucked the enjoyment out of the game in the name of percentages.

I really hope the optimists among Demonland are onto something because I am not convinced we have the list to be a threat this year.

Posted

Our key players lack agility . Gawn is useless post contest, May can’t get a ground ball, Lever looks uncoordinated and doesn’t know what he’s doing, Trac fumbly and lacks composure and clean possession. 

We don’t have any weapons off half back, which for our intercept and turnover game is a huge issue. Bowey and Salem just lack speed and composure. 

Also it’s the second week now where we are behind with a few minutes to go and just lack any idea how to take a bit more risk and use the corridor. 

not much we can do about it this year unfortunately - target a few good ball users off half back and take a few kids in the middle to rejuvenate the list.

Game plan needs to be completely overhauled top to bottom. Stoppage footy is all but done. 

Posted

That was an insipid display.

fwd entries were horrible, Lever dropped everything that came to him, we missed at least 5 goals from pretty much directly in front.  and our hand balling needs to be looked at, either handball 2-3 to many times or we put the ball in the air so our team mate get crunched. And my biggest pet peeve was the amount of times we "carelled" a player and the stop and just ran inside unhindered. 

Goodwin has an important month ahead, needs to do some work.

Posted

Yeah I don’t care how bad we ever get, nobody will ever take that flag away from us. We won it and we won it so comprehensively, it’s actually disrespectful to suggest we fluked it. We climbed over a lot of hurdles, including massive Covid restrictions, to get that flag. 
Let’s no rewrite history because we are mad at current events. 

Posted

No wonder the club was [censored] off Bedford left.

He's exactly the sort of guy to bring in now to give Chandler a chop out.

I reckon there's a chance both would have been playing in our forward half this year.

Food for thought for the recruiting period at the end of 2023.

Posted
1 hour ago, wizardinoz said:

Who cares? JVR only contributed 1 goal. Not good enough for a key forward. Time for change.

We could have Hudson at FF and JC at CHF and it would make no difference. JVR is not the problem.                                                                                   

Posted

Spargo has been horrible. Whats happened to his kicking. He can barely kick it 40 metres.

Chandler has dropped off big time.

We need some fresh players in the team. Shake it up