Posted

Assuming a Rutten payout is within the soft cap it's really hard to sack a contracted coach. I assume he has a contract for 2023 as he was only appointed at the start of the 2021 season.

Noble at North had a rolling 6 month contract so they only had to pay 6 months when he left. By covering with a "relief coach" for the last two or so months of the season the impact for North was not too bad

Posted
29 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Assuming a Rutten payout is within the soft cap it's really hard to sack a contracted coach. I assume he has a contract for 2023 as he was only appointed at the start of the 2021 season.

Noble at North had a rolling 6 month contract so they only had to pay 6 months when he left. By covering with a "relief coach" for the last two or so months of the season the impact for North was not too bad

I believe the AFL now have a rule that no coach can be paid out more that 6 months of ther contract. Stops clubs having to do a Clarko and fork out $1mill or more just to change coach

Posted
1 hour ago, Demon Disciple said:

Surely not, Neil never gets anything wrong 🤪

The man who said the LGBT flag was ‘divisive’? It’s colours Neil. I’m sure you’ll cope.

Posted
1 hour ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

You seem to have forgotten that Stephen Dank has promised to tell his story and clear everyone of any wrongdoing. Any day now...

With the soft cap, how can Essendon have more money to offer than North? Surely if Clarkson takes more money himself from Essendon there would be less available for all other football requirements, including assistant coaches.

It all seems very much like Melbourne after the 186 game. Headless chooks not knowing who to sack and the order in which to sack them.   

Very trustworthy club, I'm sure they wouldn't play shenanigans with the soft cap, would they?

Posted
58 minutes ago, Stiff Arm said:

I believe the AFL now have a rule that no coach can be paid out more that 6 months of ther contract. Stops clubs having to do a Clarko and fork out $1mill or more just to change coach

I know this was discussed but I think it only applies to the AFL funded clubs such as GCS and GWS. If it applied league wide it would make a mockery of 3 or 5 year contracts.

This is how players are contracted (minimum term etc) so it's only fair coaches get the same deal.

Would be nice to know for sure

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

I know this was discussed but I think it only applies to the AFL funded clubs such as GCS and GWS. If it applied league wide it would make a mockery of 3 or 5 year contracts.

This is how players are contracted (minimum term etc) so it's only fair coaches get the same deal.

Would be nice to know for sure

You might be right, though it could also be all clubs that signed up to be financially backed by the AFL at the start of the pandemic

Effectively mean any AFL funded club could sign a 5 year coaching deal and give them the flick after 2 with only 6 months of pay

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/afl-insists-on-six-month-payout-clauses-for-coaches-20200918-p55wu1.html

Edited by Stiff Arm
Found link

Posted

You wonder if you will ever see player contracts with club level performance requirements.

Missing out on the UEFA League commonly allows the megastars to walk as does relegation.

Should a player such as Peter Wright have to stay around for a rebuild for example.

Posted

Hoping Rutter stays. Mainly so they don’t get Clarkson but I also think it is harsh on rutten. They have been savaged with injuries all year. 

they have 4-5 quality kids that Clarkson could build a good team with

Posted

I reckon the bombers should try another succession plan.

Get Jobe 'the wordsmith' Watson in as senior assistant, with rutten as the seasoned mentor type.

Watson to take the reins after two more years treading water.

• Haha 7
Posted
2 minutes ago, binman said:

I reckon the bombers should try another succession plan.

Get Jobe 'the wordsmith' Watson in as senior assistant, with rutten as the seasoned mentor type.

Watson to take the reins after two more years treading water.

From a demons and genuine footy fans perspective, I think this has much merit, as I dont think Jobe could coach backpackers to the airport.

• Haha 5
Posted

I really feel for Rutten. It feels like he has barely had time and space to build a list, form relationships with key club personnel etc... Whatever happens I hope he stays in footy. Maybe we take him if Yze departs?

As far s the Bombers being in crisis: -
Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.
... take a breath
Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

May they remain irrelevant and mediocre until the robots rise to kill us all.

• Haha 7

Posted

Feels like there is a divide within the club and they’ve been waiting for a big loss to make a move

and aren’t we all just loving it!

stability is key in the early years of a rebuild 

Posted
1 hour ago, mo64 said:

I'm waiting for Bombers supporters to start calling for the messiah James Hird to return.

People have, so I pointed out you sacked him after he came back 

Posted
4 hours ago, Redleg said:

Sounds like they wanted to have a go at Clarko and if he is already committed, then they are probably keeping Rutten.

Must make Rutten feel really valued 

Maybe he should resign and leave them coachless

2 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

You wonder if you will ever see player contracts with club level performance requirements.

Missing out on the UEFA League commonly allows the megastars to walk as does relegation.

Should a player such as Peter Wright have to stay around for a rebuild for example.

Anyone know Peter Wright’s contract status??

Posted

360 reporting that bombers are all in on Clarkson and just a matter of time until Rutten sacked. 

Posted
14 minutes ago, monoccular said:

Must make Rutten feel really valued 

Maybe he should resign and leave them coachless

Anyone know Peter Wright’s contract status??

YES TO PETER WRIGHT. 

Posted (edited)
8 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

You seem to have forgotten that Stephen Dank has promised to tell his story and clear everyone of any wrongdoing. Any day now...

With the soft cap, how can Essendon have more money to offer than North? Surely if Clarkson takes more money himself from Essendon there would be less available for all other football requirements, including assistant coaches.

It all seems very much like Melbourne after the 186 game. Headless chooks not knowing who to sack and the order in which to sack them.   

Well he can make the choice between turning up to work at a club with state of the art facilities and money falling out've its pockets.
Or to the club with their arzz hangin' out their pants.

If he's going anywhere, it'll be to The Hanger.

https://www.austadiums.com/stadiums/the-hangar

Edited by Fork 'em