On 15/07/2022 at 23:56, Winners at last said:

The Age tipsters ... 14-0 Demons.

Incredible. Surely close to an even money match?

That wouldnt surprise me at all. ( i never read that rag anymore). Theyre trying to put the mozza on us . Age will be rapt if dees lose.

As for Melksham...hit some Port players. Its almost a certainty they will  be planning  to target a few dees players. Alot of clubs still think we're soft. Port's one of them. Hurt them in Alice and we'll win. 

In: Melksham 🤞Tomlinson, Rivers🤔

Out: Oliver 👎🏻, Petty😷, Bowey🥶

Melksham. Hmmm. I thought Dunstan would be in to help the clearances issue which really was poor last week. And without Clarry, need another strong body to compete with Wines, Boak and SPP . Maybe we are worried about pace and their run in Rozee, Butters, Amon and Houston. 

Tomlinson  ok.  In obviously with Petty out , he’s needed given Power play 3 talls and we need Lever in intercept role  

Rivers - he’s got the pace and intensity to match some of Ports runners  but hmmmm Hunt might have also been handy  

unlucky - Dunstan Chandler Hunt JVR/Weid

lucky Bedford Sparrow

very lucky Spargo 

THIS IS A FULL STRENGTH PORT POWER TEAM. Only miss Lycett.  It’s still a very very good team.  They were nearly our GF opponents last year   It’s a neutral venue   We have the ruck advantage but also there’s No Oliver   No Tmcd  No Petty  

It’s 50/50 game imv $1.90 each. Absolutely a must win   Lose this game, and our top 4 chances hang on a knife edge. 

I’m not a fan of the post 2018 milkshake but I understand the selection. If he brings his a-game he could really clean up our final kick into the forward arc. He will undoubtedly play the high half forward role freeing up Sparrow and Nibbler to do extra rotations into the midfield.

i can only presume milkshake is being brought in as a) he needs to play a negating role on aliir's intercepting ability and 2) he can actually hit a target going i50

still reckon we're undersized forward, but the coaching dept knows significantly more than me

On 16/07/2022 at 01:23, FlashInThePan said:

I’m not a fan of the post 2018 milkshake but I understand the selection. If he brings his a-game he could really clean up our final kick into the forward arc. He will undoubtedly play the high half forward role freeing up Sparrow and Nibbler to do extra rotations into the midfield.

On 16/07/2022 at 01:27, whatwhat say what said:

i can only presume milkshake is being brought in as a) he needs to play a negating role on aliir's intercepting ability and 2) he can actually hit a target going i50

still reckon we're undersized forward, but the coaching dept knows significantly more than me

You blokes are so blinded by the fact Melksham barely gets the ball himself. 

His last 2 games at AFL level he's had a total of... *checks notes*... 3 kicks. That's right, 3 [censored] kicks for 2 whole games.

If he's not getting the ball, then he's a training cone out on the field. Pure and simple.

On 16/07/2022 at 01:38, dazzledavey36 said:

You blokes are so blinded by the fact Melksham barely gets the ball himself. 

His last 2 games at AFL level he's had a total of... *checks notes*... 3 kicks. That's right, 3 [censored] kicks for 2 whole games.

If he's not getting the ball, then he's a training cone out on the field. Pure and simple.

trust in the footy dept

On 16/07/2022 at 00:56, spirit of norm smith said:

In: Melksham 🤞Tomlinson, Rivers🤔

Out: Oliver 👎🏻, Petty😷, Bowey🥶

Melksham. Hmmm. I thought Dunstan would be in to help the clearances issue which really was poor last week. And without Clarry, need another strong body to compete with Wines, Boak and SPP . Maybe we are worried about pace and their run in Rozee, Butters, Amon and Houston. 

Tomlinson  ok.  In obviously with Petty out , he’s needed given Power play 3 talls and we need Lever in intercept role  

Rivers - he’s got the pace and intensity to match some of Ports runners  but hmmmm Hunt might have also been handy  

unlucky - Dunstan Chandler Hunt JVR/Weid

lucky Bedford Sparrow

very lucky Spargo 

THIS IS A FULL STRENGTH PORT POWER TEAM. Only miss Lycett.  It’s still a very very good team.  They were nearly our GF opponents last year   It’s a neutral venue   We have the ruck advantage but also there’s No Oliver   No Tmcd  No Petty  

It’s 50/50 game imv $1.90 each. Absolutely a must win   Lose this game, and our top 4 chances hang on a knife edge. 

Absolutely its a 50/50 game Norm.

Could also be a watershed game for the season for players and the team.

Win and finals secured and we can be on a roll in last 5 games 9esp then with Oliver and Petty back in).

Lose and Final 8 then under threat and heroics required.

Some players can cement their spot going into end of season on tomorrow's performance, others may be on a last chance.

Having trouble getting my head around selection. We have lost our most prolific contributor and have 4 low possession players - Bedford, Kozzie, Spargo and Melksham. As well we have no physical presence in the forward line from our talls . As always,  happy to be proven wrong.

On 16/07/2022 at 00:26, dazzledavey36 said:

I've wished hard for Jennife Lopez all my life.

I'm still waiting mate..

Not a fair comparison: Jake to have a good game on Sunday is well within the realm of possibility. Ie, it’s not a pitiful, futile figment of some delusional sadsack’s imagination. 🙃

On 16/07/2022 at 01:59, WalkingCivilWar said:

Not a fair comparison: Jake to have a good game on Sunday is well within the realm of possibility. Ie, it’s not a pitiful, futile figment of some delusional sadsack’s imagination. 🙃

Ouch!

(haha and I thought you said you understood boys humour!)

On 16/07/2022 at 01:59, WalkingCivilWar said:

Maybe You and DD can get their own thread to spare us from your pointless bickering and now moving to put downs masquerading as banter

i usually like your posting but this is tiresome

On 16/07/2022 at 02:45, DubDee said:

Maybe You and DD can get their own thread to spare us from your pointless bickering and now moving to put downs masquerading as banter

A number of posters also find constant put downs of our players tiresome. Get over it.

On 16/07/2022 at 02:45, DubDee said:

Yeah coz this is the first time that this has ever happened on DL. There’s simply NEVER been a single instance of pointless bickering, nor put-downs masquerading as banter. Ever. 🙄 

Speaking of pointless (and tiresome), you’re quick to take me to task yet I’ve not seen you address DD’s endless display of nasty, unproductive insults directed specifically at Jake Melksham, you know, that bloke that plays for Melbourne. Oh, that’s right, you wouldn’t say [censored] to DD since you’re almost as malicious in your appraisal of Jake. Maybe an end to this vitriolic attack on him will signal an end to pointless bickering and whatever else. 

On 16/07/2022 at 02:54, Neil Crompton said:

A number of posters also find constant put downs of our players tiresome. Get over it.

❤️💙💕

Port have Dixon and Aliir in this time but without Lycett.   We are missing Oliver and Petty.  Compared to the round 4 game they are stronger.  Drew was quite successful in tagging Petracca last time so they might try that again.  Big implication for our clearances without Oliver there.

Personnel aside there is one tactic that has been successful against us.  Adelaide started it last year.  While it doesn't always work it has in our four losses this year and probably a significant reason why we lost those games. 

The tactic?  To rush our defence and attack through the corridor.  Our mids and high forwards don't have time to get back and help the defence.

I'm sure Hinkley will have trained for it tomorrow. 

Our coaches have seen it often enough.  If we don't have a strategy to beat this tactic by now we do not deserve to win. 

Edited by Lucifers Hero

On 16/07/2022 at 03:04, WalkingCivilWar said:

Yeah coz this is the first time that this has ever happened on DL. There’s simply NEVER been a single instance of pointless bickering, nor put-downs masquerading as banter. Ever. 🙄 

Speaking of pointless (and tiresome), you’re quick to take me to task yet I’ve not seen you address DD’s endless display of nasty, unproductive insults directed specifically at Jake Melksham, you know, that bloke that plays for Melbourne. Oh, that’s right, you wouldn’t say [censored] to DD since you’re almost as malicious in your appraisal of Jake. Maybe an end to this vitriolic attack on him will signal an end to pointless bickering and whatever else. 

I guess I can put up with negative comments on players weather I agree or not. But why insult posters because you don’t agree with them? Anyway I think I am adding to the nonsense on this thread so I won’t post again

On 16/07/2022 at 03:24, DubDee said:

I guess I can put up with negative comments on players weather I agree or not. But why insult posters because you don’t agree with them? Anyway I think I am adding to the nonsense on this thread so I won’t post again

I also can put up with negative comments. Here’s the thing…

THESE ARE NOT JUST NEGATIVE COMMENTS!!! THESE ARE MEAN AND HEARTLESS BARBS DIRECTED AT ONE OF OUR OWN PLAYERS!!!

To refer to Jake as “Goody’s peptide mate” ???? Really? REALLY??!!!!

I realise you didn’t make that comment. However, you did say you acknowledge only 86 of his 200 games, the other 114 mean nothing. Didn’t hear you say that about BBB. 🤔But, whatevs.  

Anyways, go ahead and refrain from posting in this thread again, that’s your prerogative. Just as it is mine to call out each and every nasty personal attack on one of our players. And I’m sure if Andy has an issue with that HE’LL let me know. 

On 15/07/2022 at 07:15, loges said:

So who replaces Oliver? Harmes must be having some on ball time.

In my view, it's time Sparrow was given more midfield responsibility. Perhaps he'll be given more midfield minutes tomorrow.  

Initially I was surprised by Melksham's selection. Having thought about it a bit more, another marking target is what we need in the forward line, and I suspect Melksham is currently seen as a better and perhaps more flexible option than either Weideman or M Brown. It also may be to allow us not to have to push Petracca (and maybe Harmes) forward as much.  

On 16/07/2022 at 03:24, DubDee said:

How’s the double standards. Ok to insult players,  but not ok to insult posters. 

I care more about the players that demonland posters, and would also prefer the insults stop. 

Again, we are no longer a battler team/club. Taking some people a long time to adjust. 

Tis fiery in here today. I hope the team can show the same intensity tomorrow

Edited by BDA

Our best mids are already in the team. Chandler is too small to play half forward and Harmes and sparrow are better quality players than Dunstan. 

Therefore, Melk to half forward. Harmes and sparrow with more midfield minutes.

On 15/07/2022 at 07:15, loges said:

So who replaces Oliver? Harmes must be having some on ball time.

As goody said, there is nobody who can replace Clayton Oliver.

Our best mids will share the load between each other to compensate.

On 15/07/2022 at 23:24, titan_uranus said:

But is this the right move? Without picking another tall forward, can we afford to not play Trac predominantly forward?

Yes there's a good reason Tracc has been playing more time forward of late.  A much trickier match up for the oppo up forward vs Melk i would imagine.

The alternative is Melk does actually play a fair chunk of mid field minutes allowing Tracc to play mostly as a forward.

A bit of a win for the opp regardless IMV.

Just on a lighter side of the coin I ran into Adem Yze earlier today I was coming back from the laundry and Adem opened the door for me.  My wife came scorching down the stairs and said hello and wished him and the team all the best. Then whilst walking into Alice we passed Ed Langdon and Adam Tomlinson on the Todd River bridge and Ed gave us a big hello and we responded and wished them all the best for tomorrow, how nice was that.!!!

On 16/07/2022 at 01:38, dazzledavey36 said:

Good story bro.

Jake Melksham, Kangaroos + Dockers: 9 kicks.

For comparison, Chandler (one of your faves I believe) for his last two AFL games managed  ... *checks notes* ... 2 kicks. Total.

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pg-melbourne-demons--jake-melksham